Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 May 2019, 15:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Create Debian 9 (Stretch) minimal ISO similar to DebianDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 51 of 97 [1452 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, ..., 95, 96, 97 Next
Author Message
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 15:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Leave your equalizer lines so they define the equalizer device but don't make it a default - ie. these lines should stay commented:
Code:
#pcm.!default pcm.equal
#ctl.!default ctl.equal


That doesn't work for me, i.e. equalizer shows as expected, but adjusting the sliders make no sound change, only uncommenting the first line works OK though:
Code:
pcm.!default pcm.equal
#ctl.!default ctl.equal


And having now separate working menu entries for equalizer and sound adjust, so all fine for me with "plughw:0,0"
I still wonder how it works for anyone using "defaults.pcm.card 1"

@jd7654, can you test if your soundcard + equalizer with this ~/.asoundrc works for you according to your earlier post and rcrsn51's recommendation ?:
Code:
### these three lines enable the regular sound card ###

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1

##################

ctl.equal {
 type equal;
}

pcm.plugequal {
  type equal;
  slave.pcm "plughw:1,0";
}

pcm.equal{
  type plug;
  slave.pcm plugequal;
}

### these two lines enable the equalizer ###
# fredx181 test, only uncomment first

pcm.!default pcm.equal
#ctl.!default ctl.equal


@dancytron Thanks, would be nice if a combination of your code and equalizer code works, didn't experiment yet.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 15:53    Post subject:  

@Fred: Here is what finally worked for me using the PeasyMP3 .asoundrc:

At the top, I have
Code:
#defaults.pcm.card x
#defaults.pcm.device y
defaults.ctl.card x

At the bottom, I have
Code:
pcm.!default pcm.equal
#ctl.!default ctl.equal

In the middle, I have
Code:
slave.pcm "plughw:x,y";

This makes the equalizer the default pcm device, so you can change its levels on-the-fly using "alsamixer -D equal".

However, the default control is still the "main" device so you can change the volume with "alsamixer" or the tray applet.

Regarding the tray applet's slider: it appears to only use the card 0 device as seen at bootup. So if you want to set another card as default, you must use the kernel module technique. Then everything goes back to 0:0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 16:06    Post subject:  

New package from rcrsn51: "broadcom-wifi" providing the broadcom wl driver, install from Synaptic or from terminal:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install broadcom-wifi


This replaces the package broadcom-wl-driver-k4.9.0-3-.... which was earlier included in custom repos.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 16:21    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
At the top, I have
Code:
#defaults.pcm.card x
#defaults.pcm.device y
defaults.ctl.card x

At the bottom, I have
Code:
pcm.!default pcm.equal
#ctl.!default ctl.equal

In the middle, I have
Code:
slave.pcm "plughw:x,y";


Yes, can confirm commented first two lines works OK for me also, I'm a bit wiser now about how these things should be, thanks!

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Fri 27 Oct 2017, 21:32    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
@jd7654, can you test if your soundcard + equalizer with this ~/.asoundrc works for you according to your earlier post and rcrsn51's recommendation ?:
Code:
### these three lines enable the regular sound card ###

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1

##################

ctl.equal {
 type equal;
}

pcm.plugequal {
  type equal;
  slave.pcm "plughw:1,0";
}

pcm.equal{
  type plug;
  slave.pcm plugequal;
}

### these two lines enable the equalizer ###
# fredx181 test, only uncomment first

pcm.!default pcm.equal
#ctl.!default ctl.equal



Wasn't using the equalizer before. Tried the above and it does work for sound w/EQ on my hardware.(HP dm1, ATI audio)

BUT, strange problem uncovered while trying it on my ChromeDog, had to go back and forth on a bunch of DebLive spins to verify:
EQ enabled causes intermittent problem with Chrome/Chromium video fails to start in Youtube. Firefox works fine, as does root user video/audio play.. But Chrome/Chromium as user puppy has same problem with video starts, and additionally the equalizer does not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3918
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 28 Oct 2017, 12:50    Post subject:  

Thanks for testing JD !

Didn't test with Chrome. Pity it doesn't work, also I found that the equalizer doesn't work when using apulse.

On another subject: Workaround or alternative for installing abiword:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=972532#972532

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 29 Oct 2017, 21:54    Post subject:  

CPUtemp is a front-end for lm-sensors and cpufrequtils. It provides information about your processor and lets you change the CPU frequency scaling governor.

CPUtemp uses a tray applet for quick access. The icon does NOT show the current temperature.

Update: V3.1 can produce a basic system hardware report.

------------------------
cputemp_3.1-3_i386.deb.gz
Description  Updated 2019-02-26
gz

 Download 
Filename  cputemp_3.1-3_i386.deb.gz 
Filesize  6.01 KB 
Downloaded  21 Time(s) 
cputemp_3.1-3_amd64.deb.gz
Description  Updated 2019-02-26
gz

 Download 
Filename  cputemp_3.1-3_amd64.deb.gz 
Filesize  6.15 KB 
Downloaded  18 Time(s) 
snappie.png
 Description   
 Filesize   8.51 KB
 Viewed   753 Time(s)

snappie.png


Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 02 Mar 2019, 09:42; edited 11 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1274

PostPosted: Mon 30 Oct 2017, 20:08    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
CPUtemp is a front-end for lm-sensors and cpufrequtils. It provides information about your processor and lets you change the CPU frequency scaling governor.

CPUtemp uses a tray applet for quick access. The icon does NOT show the current temperature.


I installed this. Seems to work fine (didn't try to change my governor, just look at temperature then double it and add 30).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 30 Oct 2017, 21:00    Post subject:  

Thanks for reporting. Are you talking about converting Celsius to Fahrenheit?

Open /usr/local/bin/CPUtemp. Change line 81 to
Code:
sensors -A -f ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1274

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 01:43    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Thanks for reporting. Are you talking about converting Celsius to Fahrenheit?

Open /usr/local/bin/CPUtemp. Change line 81 to
Code:
sensors -A -f ....


That worked great, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3048

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 01:49    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
CPUtemp is a front-end for lm-sensors and cpufrequtils.


Apologies if this is dog/debian-only app (or derailing from the subject of this thread), but on XenialPup64 "sensors -A" output can be long and cryptic (depending on the hardware).
You might want to provide a "basic" (with something like "sensors -A | grep -i core" or "grep -v ^T" or..) and a "full" info output
CPUtemp.png
 Description   
 Filesize   27.49 KB
 Viewed   660 Time(s)

CPUtemp.png


_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 05:28    Post subject:  

Try this: modify line 81 to
Code:
sensors -A coretemp-isa-0000 ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3048

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 06:33    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Try this: modify line 81 to
Code:
sensors -A coretemp-isa-0000 ...


This would work too. Is it generic?
(as my point was not about my specific case)

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 08:56    Post subject:  

Different machines have different chipsets. It's impossible to know in advance which ones a user might want to filter out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3048

PostPosted: Tue 31 Oct 2017, 09:30    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Different machines have different chipsets. It's impossible to know in advance which ones a user might want to filter out.

Thus the suggested grep commands.
Or if you want to know the chipset driver instead, you may try
Code:
ISA=$(sensors | grep -B 4 Core| grep 'isa-') # add more as needed
sensors -A $ISA

But these may be beyond the goals of this application.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 51 of 97 [1452 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, ..., 95, 96, 97 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0611s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0167s) ][ GZIP on ]