Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 06:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
media fullscreen on second display
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
moijdikssekool

Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Thu 09 Nov 2017, 18:51    Post subject:  media fullscreen on second display
Subject description: problem of screen resolution
 

hi
i try to plug a second display which is full HD but i can't activate a full fullscreen with VLC or the installed media player. On the main display, it's fullscreen but not on the second one, it seems that resolution of the mediplsyer is the same of the main display, exept that main display is lower resolution than the second one. I can increase the size of the window dragging the lower corner
I try with the setup application but it doesn' suceed
it seems there is just a problem with a config.ini or something like that, what to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11724
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 09 Nov 2017, 19:45    Post subject:  

Run the command "xrandr" and post the results.

It may provide some clues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9525
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Nov 2017, 00:28    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy?
What graphic hardware and what driver is being used?
What are you using to setup two monitors?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moijdikssekool

Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Fri 10 Nov 2017, 10:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
Run the command "xrandr" and post the results.

here it is
the hardware is an intel 845 or something like that, on a eeepc like
the version of puppy is slacko 6.3

it works fine on windows7 if main screen is switched off, but there is some laggs
on puppy, if i full increase the size of the multimedia window in the second screen which has the full HD resolution, it works fine, but we still see the taskbars.
If i succeed to access to full HD resolution, the main display occupies something like a quarter of the second display
Screenshot.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.png 
Filesize  71.21 KB 
Downloaded  26 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11724
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 10 Nov 2017, 11:15    Post subject:  

So you are plugging the external monitor into the VGA port? Your xrandr output isn't showing anything for VGA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moijdikssekool

Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sat 11 Nov 2017, 06:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
So you are plugging the external monitor into the VGA port?

yes. The second display isn't detected when plugged, i have to setup the graphics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moijdikssekool

Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Mon 13 Nov 2017, 11:32    Post subject:  

in fact it isn't linked only to multimedia applications but any. Is there a way to change full resolution settings manually somewhere?

On zindozs, if i want the full resolution on second screen, i need to switch off the main screen.
On Puppy, is there a way to let the plugged screen as the main screen?
Anyway, if i work on the plugged screen, i see on the main screen only a quarter of what is displayed on the plugged screen. So the main screen isn't independant and so useless

Last edited by moijdikssekool on Tue 14 Nov 2017, 09:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9525
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 Nov 2017, 12:06    Post subject:  

deleted
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0367s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]