Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Apr 2018, 23:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Problems with XORG, Does not load Graphic interface.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
lolo69


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 73
Location: Your heart <3

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 16:05    Post subject:  Problems with XORG, Does not load Graphic interface.  

Hello Everynyan.

Really I do not remeber what I did but X does not works. When I boot the pc it says "Exited from X".

When I use the Xorgwizard I choose resolution and when it's time to test configuration it just did not work, it should have shown a test text then you click ok and there is a Report of the test, but mine just show the report.

As possible solution I've thinked to change the .xinitrc file that could be broken or something through a usb stick load a .xinitrc file fixed.

P.S: Is there Another software than X? If there's something better pleas tell me Smile

Slacko puppy 6.3
XORG-JWM.

If needed ask for more info.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 836

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 22:27    Post subject:  

I'm not sure but one thing you could try doing is:
1. deleting you x configuration files
2. Copy your top layer to some medium that can serve as a bottom "under dog layer". This would probably be done with the dd command.
3. Start with a fresh puppy install (probably the same version as your using and configure) your old pup to run as the bottom layer.

I never tried this but in theory if you delete enough files then it should work. If you suceed then maybe try remastering and try your remastered copy.

I'm not sure if remastering will capture the bottom layer but you could write a script to add any missing files from the bottim kayer that aren't deleted (see white oute file) and aren't already in the upper layers.

The remaster script gives you a chance to add files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10290
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 04:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
When I use the Xorgwizard I choose resolution and when it's time to test configuration it just did not work

You have to select:

The driver to use.
The resolution. (pick one you know will work)
The color depth.

How is Slacko 6.3 installed?
Full, frugal, or a live CD or USB?

If using a save do you know how to boot not using the save?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0485s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0231s) ][ GZIP on ]