Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 12 Dec 2017, 12:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Quirky Pyro64 version 0.6 (alpha) -- and Pyro32 0.5
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8345
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 06:54    Post subject:  

ethernet still failing at first bootup.

At first bootup, /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit calls /etc/rc.d/rc.network_eth, which tests if an ethernet interface is connected to the Internet and if so, runs 'dhcpcd'.

However, I found that recent linux kernels take an extraordinarily long time to create /sys/class/net/eth0. I had to put "sleep 6" into rc.network_eth, which is ok as the script is backgrounded.

However, I have just discovered that even 6 seconds may not be enough. Today I tested Easy Pyro64, and found that 7 seconds is required! -- that's on my fast midi-tower, with i5 CPU!

I have fixed /etc/rc.d/rc.network_eth, see attached.

I am wondering if there is some way of detecting, hey we have a ethernet interface, even before /sys/class/net/eth0 appears, then wait for however long it takes.

I also found that it takes a bit longer after /sys/class/net/eth0 appears, before "ifconfig -a" returns "eth0" -- don't know exactly how much delay.
rc.network_eth.gz
Description  False .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  rc.network_eth.gz 
Filesize  2.4 KB 
Downloaded  14 Time(s) 

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5313
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 08:29    Post subject:  

Pyro32 0,6.1 is good. Boots with six bracketed [...] Error calls invoking cpu0, but ignores them and continues to terminal. Set Radeon & res. -> complete DT with correct DHCP & sound running. For my purposes, this is all I desire, i.e. no wish to loop-the-loop with xyz HDs, USBs, w.h.y. - just need this bog std, fast, compact distro it always was. For teaching pigs to fly and dogs to bark, I use other machines with other FULL installs and all the bells & whistles loaded.
Puppy = K.I.S.S. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1260
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 12:47    Post subject: pyro64 0.6  

With pyro64, didn't we have a bluetooth tool to set it up, I was sure it was there and working with 0.5, but can't find it anywhere with 0.6 and my mouse won't work without it with both a touchpad and mouse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4806
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 18:10    Post subject:  

I used script 4install-quirky-to-drive-mbr.gz to install pyro 0.6.1 32 bit
to a USB stick

I had to use EXT format since f2fs format isn't supported by precise 5.7.1,
however the script didn't warn me about that. Crying or Very sad
_____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4806
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 18:14    Post subject:  

I had the same problems with pyro32 as I had with pyro64.

For instance I couldn't get a samba server to work -->
Apparently because I couldn't create a samba user.

Quote:
# smbpasswd -a don570
New SMB password:
Retype new SMB password:
Failed to add entry for user don570.

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8345
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 20:00    Post subject:  

Right now, looking at fixing wcpufreq (if it needs it):

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=976262#976262

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1007
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 20:03    Post subject: Printing with Pyro32-0.6
Subject description: 'Mixed bag'
 

G'day,

BarryK wrote:
Quote:
Can you test with a local printer?

Note, I don't think that missing "pdf-writer" matters. The print-to-file should still work.


Still "saving the rain-forest trees" with my XP200 printer not wanting to use any paper when installed as a 'Local' printer via its usb socket Sad (screenshot from CUPS).

On the other hand, I could 'print' pdfs by 'Export' from LibreOffice or using the "Print-to-file" in Printer 'Options' (see pdfs in /file in second screenshot) Smile .

The CUPS.desktop file (screenshots) won't run for me if clicked - something about 'failed to execute child process' for a non-existent 'htmlview'?

Still liking Pyro32 as a Full Pup nonetheless.

David S.
printer-localusb-filterfails.jpg
 Description   Epson XP200 installed via USB still 'filter failed'
when trying to print test page
 Filesize   141.51 KB
 Viewed   357 Time(s)

printer-localusb-filterfails.jpg

pdf-export-printtofile-OK.jpg
 Description   Pdf printing OK via Export or 'Print-to-file' but no-go via Cups
 Filesize   39.86 KB
 Viewed   358 Time(s)

pdf-export-printtofile-OK.jpg

CUPS-in-desktop-directory.jpg
 Description   Cups desktop file - clicking not effective - but Wizard in Menu is fine
 Filesize   65.98 KB
 Viewed   356 Time(s)

CUPS-in-desktop-directory.jpg

CUPS.desktop-text.jpg
 Description   Cups desktop file text
 Filesize   79.1 KB
 Viewed   358 Time(s)

CUPS.desktop-text.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8345
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2017, 09:18    Post subject: Re: pyro64 0.6  

scsijon wrote:
With pyro64, didn't we have a bluetooth tool to set it up, I was sure it was there and working with 0.5, but can't find it anywhere with 0.6 and my mouse won't work without it with both a touchpad and mouse?


Er, yes.

Two PET packages are missing, 'bluepup' (in noarch repo) and 'bluepup_tray' (was in xerus repo).

These will be in the next release.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8345
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2017, 20:48    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
I had the same problems with pyro32 as I had with pyro64.

For instance I couldn't get a samba server to work -->
Apparently because I couldn't create a samba user.

Quote:
# smbpasswd -a don570
New SMB password:
Retype new SMB password:
Failed to add entry for user don570.

_________________________________________


Looking at the docs on smbpasswd:

https://www.samba.org/samba/docs/man/manpages-3/smbpasswd.8.html

'smbd' needs to be running. By default, this is not running. /etc/init.d/rc.samba starts it at bootup, however the script has its "exec" flags cleared, so doesn't run. This is a security precaution.

Set the exec flags and reboot. Um, no need to reboot, just run "/etc/init.d/rc.samba start"

EDIT:
I have never used samba. Strange, but true.

Anyway, looking at the docs, smbpasswd can only assign a password to an existing user. Trying an experiment:

Code:
# smbpasswd -a don570
New SMB password:
Retype new SMB password:
Failed to add entry for user don570.

# adduser don570
adduser: /home/don570: No such file or directory
Changing password for don570
Enter the new password (minimum of 5, maximum of 8 characters)
Please use a combination of upper and lower case letters and numbers.
New password:
Re-enter new password:
passwd: password changed.
#
# smbpasswd -a don570
New SMB password:
Retype new SMB password:
Added user don570.


...yep, it works.

Asking the question though, as someone who has never used samba, why do you have to create a user "don570"? Aren't we running as root?

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4806
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2017, 21:25    Post subject:  

To BarryK ...

Were you able to make a samba server work by connecting another linux computer using ethernet cable??
because I wasn't Crying or Very sad

________________________________________________

Quote:
why do you have to create a user "don570"

I didn't read the instructions for samba and I was desperate for a connection
after 'root' user wouldn't connect with my other linux computer.


By the way here is the instructions for the new fatdog 720 by kirk

Quote:
# A private directory example, usable only by kirk. Note that kirk must be a valid Linux user and a
# valid Samba user. To make this work open the control panel and click on the System tab. Then
# click on Fatdog64 User Manager. Click on the Add button and add a new user named "kirk". This will
# add kirk as a new user and create a home directory for kirk at /home/kirk. This directory will be
# owned by kirk. If you choose some other folder for kirk to share, make sure kirk owns that folder.
# Then open a terminal and type smbpasswd -a kirk. You'll be prompted for a new password. After that
# un-comment the section below and restart Samba.

[kirkdir]
comment = Kirk's Service
path = /home/kirk
valid users = kirk
public = no
writable = yes
printable = no


_________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1260
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2017, 05:49    Post subject: A pyro64 0.6 Bluetooth problem  

BarryK wrote:
scsijon wrote:
With pyro64, didn't we have a bluetooth tool to set it up, I was sure it was there and working with 0.5, but can't find it anywhere with 0.6 and my mouse won't work without it with both a touchpad and mouse?


Er, yes.

Two PET packages are missing, 'bluepup' (in noarch repo) and 'bluepup_tray' (was in xerus repo).

These will be in the next release.


Thanks for that, found them and they loaded but it seems that "something is not quite there" as they say.

Data from PupSysinfo is:

VendorID=0bda ProductID=0821 Rev=02.00
Manufacturer=Realtek
Product=Blootooth Radio
SerialNumber=00e04c000001
Driver=btusb

and elsewhere
Kernel-Module=btusb

The drivers seem to be there, according to PupSysinfo

But using Bluepup gives "No default controller available", nor does it find any devices, and Bluepup command "discoverable on" says "no default controller available";
and "list" does nothing so I think it's not finding the realtek radio controller for some reason.

Could I have some help please from someone who knows about this "stuff" on where to go from here, as I know almost nothing about bluetooth being as most of my 'stuff' connects via ethernet.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3103
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2017, 07:43    Post subject:  

@scsijon: Try "hciconfig" and report what you see.
A properly working bluetooth report this:
[code]hci0: Type: BR/EDR Bus: USB
BD Address: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX ACL MTU: 1021:5 SCO MTU: 96:6
UP RUNNING PSCAN
RX bytes:1247 acl:0 sco:0 events:74 errors:0
TX bytes:1109 acl:0 sco:0 commands:74 errors:0
[/quote]

If you don't see "UP", try "hciconfig hci0 up". Perhaps you should also have another terminal open, running "dmesg -w" so you can see the error that the kernel spits out when you try to bring the interface up.

The report the rest to Barry, heh heh heh Twisted Evil

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1260
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2017, 10:49    Post subject:  

thank you jamesbond for your guidance
replies are>

for hciconfig>
hci0: Type: Primary Bus: usb
BD Address: 00:00:00:00:00:00 ACL MTU: 0:0 SCO MTU: 0:0
DOWN
RX Bytes:14 acl:0 sco:0 events:1 errors:0
TX bytes:3 acl:0 sco:0 events:1 errors:0

for hciconfig hci0 up>
Can't init device hc0: no such file or directory (2)

>and it's right there is no /dev/hci0, i wonder if I need to add it, but what should it's device settings be?

dmesg -w errors out as invalid option however dmesg results in>
[267.329010] Bluetooth: hci0: rtl: examining hci_ver=06 hci_rev=000a lmp_ver=06 lmp_subver=8821
[267.329026] Bluetooth: hci0: rtl: loading rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin
[267.329101] Bluetooth hcl0: Direct Firmware Load for rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin failed with error -2
[267.329113] Bluetooth: hci0: rtl: loading rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin
[267.329158] Bluetooth hcl0: Direct Firmware Load for rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin failed with error -2
[267.329167] Bluetooth: hcl0: Failed to load rtl_bt/rtl8821a_fw.bin

>So that explains a lot, it looks like it doesn't like that bin file

> and starting bluepup states (in the error log) Waiting to connect to bluetoothd... so maybe I have loaded the wrong pet, but I could only see one of them?
and nearly the same dmesg output (different line numbers) but three new ones first (from bluepup I take it)>

[1891.819142] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emmulation) ver 1.3
[1891.819147] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[1891.819158] Bluetooth: BNEP socket layer initialized
[2000.680108] Bluetooth: hci0: rtl: examining hci_ver=06 hci_rev=000a lmp_ver=06 lmp_subver=8821
[2000.680124] Bluetooth: hci0: rtl: loading rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin
[2000.680201] Bluetooth hcl0: Direct Firmware Load for rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin failed with error -2
[2000.680214] Bluetooth: hci0: rtl: loading rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin
[2000.680259] Bluetooth hcl0: Direct Firmware Load for rtl_bt/rtl8221a_config.bin failed with error -2
[2000.680268] Bluetooth: hcl0: Failed to load rtl_bt/rtl8821a_fw.bin

> over to you, it's time for sleep as it's 0145 in the morning here and i'm due up in five hours Smile

regards to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5313
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2017, 11:50    Post subject:  

Pyro32 0.6.1 FULL
[Preamble : found a little old 30Gb 1.8" HD, fittted printed-wiring adapter, scrubbed all the NTFS cr*p and formatted ext3/swap]
Did a FULL install. OK, but couple of points - no GRUB4DOS files available, even in PPM/refreshed, had to boot it off an old LUPU CD. Works - sound, DHCP, iPlayer/Flash - all ootb - fantastic. Little tray item claims cpu temp=79C - pure BS! I've done all this cpu temp thing at least a couple of times on the Forum. I know the laptop folks think they need it, (1) best advice is bin the laptop (2) ignore any claims about the cpu temp because no-one is clear where/what that relates to,(these days it's probably interpolated from an internal diode). An external thermocouple on one of those cheap digital voltmeters is probably what you need to know, ie it isn't going to catch fire/the fan is working (because you cleaned out the ducting last week!)/ because it's changes in T^oC between loaded & idle that provide more info about cpu health(and mode in multiple core devices). If there is overheating internally, chances are there's nothing you can do about it, subject to the usual precautions. Maybe ask about the precision of interconnect line-width on the fabricator's website, MTBF, warranty, etc?
Long & short : good deal, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4806
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2017, 14:01    Post subject:  

I tried to get the samba server to be recognized by a second computer and
it still fails to connect. Has anybody succeeded ?
__________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]