Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Oct 2018, 11:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Puppy Power
Puppy is the greatest
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 09:39    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
HP web site is probably not going to have them.
Have to go to a hardware manufactures web site.

Retrovol full window settings are usually preset.
Always need to adjust.
PCM setting has big affect on sound volume.

Right click on tray speaker icon.
Select full window.

I can not guess at the graphics hardware Shocked
So, what is it?????????


Got nothing to do with the volume settings, mine is almost at full blast on PCM and Master. It's a quality/fidelity issue. Having said that, the sound volume in Windows can go much higher than in Puppy. In Tahr the volume is really low even at the highest volume settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11135
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 10:04    Post subject:  

Best to have PCM maxed out.

Could see if in Retrovol config window
volume scaling
Changing this helps any.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4244
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 19:23    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Best to have PCM maxed out.

Could see if in Retrovol config window
volume scaling
Changing this helps any.


^^^ Agreed.

'Logarithmic' gives way better results than 'linear'. I figured that one out years ago..... Mind you, having a powered speaker system with its own amp and sub-woofer helps enormously, too.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 07:17    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Best to have PCM maxed out.

Could see if in Retrovol config window
volume scaling
Changing this helps any.


^^^ Agreed.

'Logarithmic' gives way better results than 'linear'. I figured that one out years ago..... Mind you, having a powered speaker system with its own amp and sub-woofer helps enormously, too.


Mike. Wink


Looks like you have some quality sound equipment there. What you need to do is, is to play your music on a windows machine running the same software (eg. VLC) and you will hear what I'm talking about; better sound production/quality/fidelity overall using windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 08:14    Post subject:  

version2013 wrote:
nic007 wrote:
Unfortunately I will have to burst a few bubbles. I agree that Puppy is a very good allround system, good enough for daily general tasks. However, it seems that Puppy and Linux in general make mostly use of generic drivers. When I installed Windows XP, I had to download system specific audio and video drivers from the manufacturers site. These drivers ultimately renders a far superior audio and video experience. I listen a lot to high quality music and also watch a lot of HD movies. The difference in quality on my Windows machine is very noticeabe compared to Puppy (using the same software, VLC in case of the movies). So, in my case, I tend to use Windows XP most of the time for a superior quality listening and viewing experience.

BTW - I'm still trying to figure out how to disable screen blanking in Tahr 605. Unlike other Puppys, this one refuses to accept anything I've tried so far (and I've tried a lot of things).

My limited testing appears to successfully disable screen blanking in Tahr 6.0.5
Menu > Desktop > JWMDesk Manager > Screen Save > Disable

Thanks that tool worked. I was not aware of it as I normally use older puppys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11135
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 08:23    Post subject:  

VLC does have it's own settings.

Have you checked the setup in VLC in Puppy?
There are a lot of settings you can adjust and change.
capture12338.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.86 KB
 Viewed   452 Time(s)

capture12338.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 11:48    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
VLC does have it's own settings.

Have you checked the setup in VLC in Puppy?
There are a lot of settings you can adjust and change.

Yes, I have done a lot of exploration with VLC settings in both my windows and puppy (same version of VLC too) on the same machine. First of all, the same settings for VLC (eg: setting the same level settings for the equalizer) in windows and puppy just does not give the same results. So setting the equalizer settings as best (for my hearing) for both operating systems individually still results in the sound sounding better in windows. I also have another music player I use in both windows and puppy with the same results. Sound reproduction always better on the windows machine. So what we have here is the same hardware and software with windows giving the better result. The windows sound drivers/architecture for this specific machine must be better (or works better). It's the only logical conclusion I can make.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11135
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 13:18    Post subject:  

This is something I found on the web.

Could try it.

Add to or create ~/.config/pulse/daemon.conf

This goes in the daemon.conf file

Code:
default-sample-format = float32ne
default-sample-rate = 48000
alternate-sample-rate = 44100
default-sample-channels = 2
default-channel-map = front-left,front-right
default-fragments = 2
default-fragment-size-msec = 125
resample-method = soxr-vhq
enable-lfe-remixing = no
high-priority = yes
nice-level = -11
realtime-scheduling = yes
realtime-priority = 9
rlimit-rtprio = 9
daemonize = no


it won't work for all, so you may try out float32le instead or any of default sampling formats:

s16le, s16be, s24le, s24be, s24-32le, s24-32be, s32le, s32be float32le, float32be, ulaw, alaw

Also depending on the endianness of the CPU the
formats s16ne, s16re, s24ne, s24re, s24-32ne, s24-32re, s32ne, s32re,
float32ne, float32re (for native, resp. reverse endian) are available
as aliases.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JFB

Joined: 17 Oct 2017
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2017, 18:55    Post subject:  

Well, Puppy may not be the "greatest", but it is pretty darn awesome... I'm running Tahrpup 6.0.5 on two 32 bit boxes that are 10+ years old, that I pulled out of my pile of defunct laptops... And both are running great... So, my bubble has not burst... If anything, I'm becoming quite a Puppy enthusiast... (though I am a bit intoxicated)... Hurrah Puppy!...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4244
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Dec 2017, 19:35    Post subject:  

@nic007:-

nic007 wrote:
Looks like you have some quality sound equipment there. What you need to do is, is to play your music on a windows machine running the same software (eg. VLC) and you will hear what I'm talking about; better sound production/quality/fidelity overall using windows.


Oh, it's nowt special, really; just a middle of the road Goodmans system. It's actually been designed as a 'booster' system for playback of any personal music-player (CD, mp3, radio, iPlayer, etc.), because its sole input is a built-in 3-foot lead with a 3.5 mm jack plug on the end.....same as any set of headphones/earbuds.

But it's got a 30w RMS amp built-in to the 4 1/2 " sub, along with with a fairly good quality set of 4" 'satellite' speakers (with separate tweeters). PCM is usually on around 90-95% in my Pups. I can turn this thing up loud enough to hurt my eardrums.....and that's without detectable distortion, sharp, clear treble and pretty 'punchy' bass. Makes for way better enjoyment of NetFlix, that's for sure! Smile

--------------------------------------------------------------------

I agree with you about Windows sound reproduction (I think). Back when I was running XP on this same machine, I used to use the genuine RealTek AC'97 drivers with the built in sound 'tweaker' package. Volume would go a hell of a lot higher in Windows, it's true.....and, although I'm no audiophile, sound quality was just indefinably 'better', somehow.

Overall, though, I just like crisp, clear treble, and smooth, rich bass. Which this Goodmans system delivers in spades. I never really get anywhere near its limits....it's getting painful by just over the half-way mark on the amp's volume control!

JFB wrote:
Well, Puppy may not be the "greatest", but it is pretty darn awesome... I'm running Tahrpup 6.0.5 on two 32 bit boxes that are 10+ years old, that I pulled out of my pile of defunct laptops... And both are running great... So, my bubble has not burst... If anything, I'm becoming quite a Puppy enthusiast... (though I am a bit intoxicated)... Hurrah Puppy!...


Good for you, old son. Puppies are downright addictive, y'know...!! Very Happy


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 07 Dec 2017, 22:16    Post subject:  

Discovered another thing where Windows dial-up are vastly superior. Using pupdial for my 3G cellphone modem. Downloading youtube videos with the same mozilla addon-downloader, I get downloads up to 8 times faster with Windows' dialup. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JFB

Joined: 17 Oct 2017
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2018, 19:54    Post subject:    

I have six old laptops sitting around, with debian, and the *buntu distros installed. And I have a Dell XPS with Windows 7 installed. But, more often than not, I find myself using my TahrPup box... I just like it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Puppy Power
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0972s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0133s) ][ GZIP on ]