Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Jan 2018, 12:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog (Ubuntu 16.04 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 32-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 57 of 59 [873 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1414

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 04:28    Post subject:  

Hi Fred & all,

On my frugal-installed BionicDog 64-bit, I have a question. Is there any way to prevent my conky---which is started automatically on Startup--from disappearing from the desktop whenever I right- and/or left-click anywhere on the desktop. I have to re-hit the conkytoggle, weirdly twice, just to get it restarted.

Thanks for any advice/hints/tips.
BionicDog-conky-started-on-Startup.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.86 KB
 Viewed   860 Time(s)

BionicDog-conky-started-on-Startup.jpg

BionicDog-conky-disappears-after-left-and-or-right-clicking-on-desktop-anywhere.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.64 KB
 Viewed   866 Time(s)

BionicDog-conky-disappears-after-left-and-or-right-clicking-on-desktop-anywhere.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2688
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 05:51    Post subject:  

Hi belham, try changing "own_window_type" to "normal" in conky config.
(not sure, but probably it's set it to "desktop" for you now)

Hey !, and thanks for testing.
Most important to do is doing a "apt-get upgrade" once in a while and hope and pray that nothing breaks until april next year.

EDIT:
Quote:
I have to re-hit the conkytoggle, weirdly twice, just to get it restarted.

That's because conky display is not visible, but the process is still running, so clicking once conkytoggle will kill the conky process and clicking once more then activates it again.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1414

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 08:08    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi belham, try changing "own_window_type" to "normal" in conky config.
(not sure, but probably it's set it to "desktop" for you now)

Hey !, and thanks for testing.
Most important to do is doing a "apt-get upgrade" once in a while and hope and pray that nothing breaks until april next year.

EDIT:
Quote:
I have to re-hit the conkytoggle, weirdly twice, just to get it restarted.

That's because conky display is not visible, but the process is still running, so clicking once conkytoggle will kill the conky process and clicking once more then activates it again.

Fred


Thanks, Fred!

That got me on the right track. But when I just put "normal" in for "own_window_type", I kept getting conky in an actual window that had its own title bar and borders. Then, looking at "own_window_hints", and Googling a bit, noticed the word "sticky" wasn't in there as an attribute. Once I put that ("sticky") in there along with the "normal" in "own_window_type", all was good & conky now stays on the desktop no matter what I do now Wink Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1392
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 22 Dec 2017, 06:19    Post subject: Ubuntu 17.10 Temporarily Pulled Due To A BIOS Corrupting  

Ubuntu 17.10 Temporarily Pulled Due To A BIOS Corrupting Problem .

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Ubuntu-17.10-BIOS-Corrupter

But seems Bionic Beaver is not affected .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1414

PostPosted: Fri 22 Dec 2017, 06:29    Post subject: Re: Ubuntu 17.10 Temporarily Pulled Due To A BIOS Corrupting  

backi wrote:
Ubuntu 17.10 Temporarily Pulled Due To A BIOS Corrupting Problem .

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Ubuntu-17.10-BIOS-Corrupter

But seems Bionic Beaver is not affected .



Hi Backi! (Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to you!) Wink

Thanks for this info!!

Boy, this is not good....NOT GOOD at all.

Just to be safe, I've deleted my Artful-Aardvark (from Peebee) frugal-install, and I've also deleted Bionic Beaver (from Fred).

I cannot afford to have my laptop's BIOS get corrupted and end up not being recoverable.

Ubuntu should be ashamed no one caught this earlier. They are supposed to test their releases across a wide range of hardware.

Obviously, they are falling down.....again Rolling Eyes

Is it any wonder that Linux Mint, Debian, and Manjaro are all ranked ahead of Ubuntu now? I've got a bad feeling Ubuntu is going to screw up too with the big Gnome Ubuntu 18 launch in April.

Too many of their knowledgeable people have left over the past year.

We can only hope....but for now, I am sticking with Debian-based stuff and distros, and of course some of the Slacko-derivative pups (I'm assuming Phil's Xenial is safe from this 17- madness, but I might delete frugal installs of it too just to be safe).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1392
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 22 Dec 2017, 06:50    Post subject:  

Hi Belham ,Fred and all you guys !

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to you too !

Very Happy Smile Very Happy Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2688
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 22 Dec 2017, 14:46    Post subject: Re: Ubuntu 17.10 Temporarily Pulled Due To A BIOS Corrupting  

backi wrote:
Ubuntu 17.10 Temporarily Pulled Due To A BIOS Corrupting Problem .

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Ubuntu-17.10-BIOS-Corrupter

But seems Bionic Beaver is not affected .


Thanks backi ! and best wishes for you too Smile Very Happy

That's a terrible bug, I guess many Ubuntu users go back to Window$ now...
I knew strange things can happen with test versions (not-LTS) but this bad.. Rolling Eyes
Maybe it's too easy to put the blame only on Ubuntu developers, it probably has to do with many complicated things all together (e.g. secure boot, not clear enough info from hardware manufacturers, etc..)

My first thought was to remove the download links for BionicDog (and never, ever have anything to do with Ubuntu), but then investigated a little and asked question in ArtfulPup thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=978094#978094
(my guess is that there's no danger by using BionicDog (the driver that could cause harm isn't loaded), but who am I ? Wink )
EDIT: Also wanna say that the official Ubuntu Desktop release is really something else than the "Dog" version (the latter has e.g. no support for secure boot, no UEFI, no GRUB2 etc...)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5484
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 22 Dec 2017, 18:47    Post subject:  

It is not about if the spi is loaded but if it is created as loadable kernel module when compiling kernel and included to the build.
You should check from config file if the spi driver is enabled or not:
'CONFIG_SPI_INTEL_SPI=m' and 'CONFIG_SPI_INTEL_SPI_PLATFORM=m'
if they are m or y then there is danger with 4.13 kernel and I would not offer distro with that kernel for people to use it.

Upstream the spi bug has been fixed from some 4.14 rc upwards and 4.15 should be bug free.

Oops. I edited the post a little. I thought to post to the Artful pup thread, but I mixed the threads, cause fredx181 had posted to the two threads about same thing.
I suppose it would be safest not to offer compromised 4.13 kernel for people to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2688
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 23 Dec 2017, 05:36    Post subject:  

Thanks Pemasu

Quote:
You should check from config file if the spi driver is enabled or not:
'CONFIG_SPI_INTEL_SPI=m' and 'CONFIG_SPI_INTEL_SPI_PLATFORM=m'

They are both set to 'm' and also these .ko files are present, so indeed better be on the safe side, thanks again.

@ALL
BionicDog ISO's are removed, edited my BionicDog alpha announcement post, see here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975892#975892

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2688
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 24 Dec 2017, 06:29    Post subject:  

(removed ISO's from Here, but just couldn't let go... Smile )
*** BionicDog Preview (Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver development) ***

Hi Everyone,

New Alpha version with kernel 4.14 , "Bionic Beaver" development stage.
Bug fix: This kernel incuded doesn't contain the intel_spi driver (previous ISO's with kernel 4.13 (including intel_spi) could possibly corrupt BIOS, so removed), see bug report here:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/1734147
Only further change is that I upgraded all installed packages to newest version (apt-get upgrade)

Code:
root@live:~# cat /etc/issue
Ubuntu Bionic Beaver (development branch) \n \l


Login details:
root with password root (default automatic login)
puppy with password puppy

Specifications:
Built from an absolute minimal Ubuntu by using debootstrap.
Kernel: 4.14
Choice of Boot Methods: porteus-boot only , see options at the XenialDog Wiki Porteus-Boot
Default WM - OpenBox with lxpanel and pcmanfm providing the desktop
Default File Manager - pcmanfm with option to use rox.
Default Internet Browser - Firefox. (there is launcher for "apulse firefox", so audio works without pulseaudio installed)
Applications included: gnome-mplayer, mpv, abiword, pburn, pfind, gparted, synaptic, leafpad, quick-remaster, dogradio, peasywifi, wex and much more (almost as full featured as XenialDog)
TODO's: Testing.... testing..., upgrade packages (there will be many available during next months), and add more packages to custom repos (e.g. apps that rcrsn51 made for StretchDog (need to test first) )

32-bit ISO: https://github.com/fredx181/bionicdog/releases/download/v1.0/BionicDog32-alpha-2017-12-23.iso Size: 298 MB
Md5sum: https://github.com/fredx181/bionicdog/releases/download/v1.0/BionicDog32-alpha-2017-12-23.md5

64-bit ISO: https://github.com/fredx181/bionicdog/releases/download/v1.0/BionicDog64-alpha-2017-12-23.iso Size: 306 MB
Md5sum: https://github.com/fredx181/bionicdog/releases/download/v1.0/BionicDog64-alpha-2017-12-23.md5

Firmware .squashfs module: https://github.com/fredx181/bionicdog/releases/download/v1.1/99-bionic_linux-firmware.squashfs

Screenshot:


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1392
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sun 24 Dec 2017, 08:47    Post subject:  

Hi Fred !
I am going to test !

Merry Christmas !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1392
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 11:01    Post subject:  

Greetings Fred !
Posting from Bionic now.......running fine so far .....could not find any issues.
......except suspend is not working (on my Machine )
installed acpitool ......made a small script :

#!/bin/sh
acpitool -s

made it executable ......in case i want to suspend.....click it .

Happy new Year !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Null_ID

Joined: 19 Dec 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 14:25    Post subject:  

Hi fredx181. New guy here, loving these ***dog-projects that you're doing, and especially the fact that I can access Ubuntu's repos with apt-get, which is the main selling point for me, it makes installing new software trivial. I hope you keep them coming for as long as you can.

Here's a question, though: I have some old Puppy saves from old Puppy installations. Is there something that I can do to mount them for read/write under Xenialdog? The usual double-clicking of the file didn't seem to work here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 14:59    Post subject:  

@Null_ID: You should be able to loop-mount these old save files. For example:
Code:
mkdir /media/savefile
mount -o loop pupsave.2fs /media/savefile
ls /media/savefile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2688
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 18:27    Post subject:  

@backi, thanks ! strange that suspend doesn't work for you, it works for me with 'pm-suspend'
If you have time can you do in terminal (and what's the message?):
Code:
pm-suspend


@Null_ID, indeed what rcrsn51 suggested works , but you can also use filemnt, it just needs association (supports also .2fs, .3fs .4fs, besides iso, squashfs and sfs) just right-click on the pupsave file > open with, and type filemnt as custom command line, see pic below (for pcmanfm)

Fred
filemnt-custom-commanline.png
 Description   Open with filemnt
 Filesize   43.74 KB
 Viewed   206 Time(s)

filemnt-custom-commanline.png


_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 57 of 59 [873 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 55, 56, 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0725s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0157s) ][ GZIP on ]