Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 05 Jul 2020, 10:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE (RC-5)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 48 [712 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 08:58    Post subject:  

Beta 3 looks good!
You may want to fold back changes in woof and up the version number.

Going to minor details (...) XKB configuration manager is missing the icon on the "exit" button.
You might also want to use the scroll bar in pupcontrol only in small screens where the app can not be taller. In most tabs scrolling just moves out all the buttons and even a bit of scroll takes out of view the exit/help/conf option.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 783
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 11:56    Post subject:  

radky wrote:

@Terry,

The sysinfobar battery monitor first parses /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0.

However, /proc/acpi/battery is deprecated and may not be available in some notebooks. In that scenario, the sysinfobar battery monitor parses /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/uevent.

For example, assuming the battery ID is BAT0 and /proc/acpi/battery is available, you can check your battery stats as follows:

Code:
# cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/*
design capacity:              4400 mAh
last full capacity:             4312 mAh
battery technology:         rechargeable
design voltage:              10800 mV
design capacity warning: 220 mAh
design capacity low:        132 mAh
model number:               Li_Ion_4000mA
battery type:                  Lion
OEM info:                       PANASONIC
capacity state:               ok
charging state:              charged
present rate:                0 mA
remaining capacity:       4312 mAh
present voltage:           12476 mV


In this example, the current battery charge is calculated as follows:

(remaining capacity / last full capacity) * 100
--
ACPI kernel modules provide the data available in /proc and /sys, including the statistics displayed by battery monitors. In your report, it seems both inxi and the sysinfobar monitor show 121% as the current battery charge when the notebook is plugged to AC. This spurious value is determined by the battery as probed by ACPI modules, and is subsequently read by battery monitors

On the other hand, the battery monitor in the notification area of the tray has additional code that prevents the display of charge greater than 100%. Specifically, if the last full capacity (in error) is greater than the design capacity, the charge is calculated as follows:

(remaining capacity / design capacity) * 100


Thanks for the information. My laptop does still have the /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0 available. As a quick fix I changed line 432 to hard code 100 rather than the value of $RC0calc, so at least the main display only shows 100%, instead of 121%.
Code:

 if [ $RC0calc -ge 100 ]; then #full charge
    echo -n ●100 > /tmp/pfbpanel-bat00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5524
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 19:55    Post subject:  

Samba simple management uses /mnt/home by default.
Be sure to chose a folder that exists when setting up samba.
____________________________________________________
screenshot-stretch.png
 Description   
 Filesize   43.91 KB
 Viewed   1047 Time(s)

screenshot-stretch.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2621

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 21:06    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Samba simple management uses /mnt/home by default.
Be sure to chose a folder that exists when setting up samba.
____________________________________________________


or we could create a symbolic link called /mnt/home/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Fri 15 Dec 2017, 11:41    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Quote:
Have a great and safe holidays!

Thanks belham2 Smile

mavrothal wrote:
Quote:
Going to minor details (...) XKB configuration manager is missing the icon on the "exit" button.
You might also want to use the scroll bar in pupcontrol only in small screens where the app can not be taller. In most tabs scrolling just moves out all the buttons and even a bit of scroll takes out of view the exit/help/conf option.

Fixed for the next release!

Terry H wrote:
Quote:
Thanks for the information. My laptop does still have the /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0 available.

Please check your PM for additional testing. Thanks

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3721
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 15 Dec 2017, 20:51    Post subject: Dpup Stretch CE  

I installed to a 32gb flash drive to use on my Gateway desktop:

System: Host: puppypc4752 Kernel: 4.9.69-pae i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: Dpup Stretch 7.0.0a2
Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Gateway model: FX6860 serial: 109726660000629
BIOS: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 04/19/2011
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-2600 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3401 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM]
Display Server: X.org 1.19.2 driver: nvidia tty size: 134x33 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3032.1GB (0.1% used)
Weather: Conditions: 27 F (-3 C) - light showers snow Time: December 15, 7:50 PM EST
Info: Processes: 225 Uptime: 2:39 Memory: 362.0/16191.6MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5

Installed applications with PPM.
Installed the proprietary Nvidia driver.
It's working well.

Thanks.

Edit: The 4.9.69 kernel has been updated earlier today so I changed kernels to the 4.1.48 kernel, uninstalled and
then re-installed the proprietary Nvidia driver.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 16 Dec 2017 on Dpup Stretch 7.0.0a2 Linux 4.1.48 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM] (rev a1)

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.19.2
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (524x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 387.34

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 4: @1600 5: @1600 6: @1600 7: @1600 MHz

The 4.1.48 kernel is working well on an install I did to my Macmini as well (intel graphics).
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   38.4 KB
 Viewed   814 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   79.78 KB
 Viewed   877 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Sat 16 Dec 2017, 17:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3721
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 12:28    Post subject: Dpup Stretch CE  

I installed to a 32gb flash drive to use with my HP stream mini
desktop:

System: Host: puppypc28330 Kernel: 4.1.48 i686 (32 bit gcc: 6.3.0) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 dm: N/A
Distro: Dpup Stretch 7.0.0a2
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: 200-009 serial: 3CR51504YY Chassis: type: 3
Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 2B38 v: 1.02 serial: 138922010004188
UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: 80.03 date: 12/15/2014
CPU: Dual core Intel Celeron 2957U (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 5588
clock speeds: min/max: 800/1400 MHz 1: 1100 MHz 2: 800 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0a06
Display Server: X.org 1.19.2 driver: intel tty size: 185x39 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio: Card-1 Intel 8 Series HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:9c20
Card-2 Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0 chip-ID: 8086:0a0c
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.1.48
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: d8:97:ba:4f:09:a7
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43142 802.11b/g/n
driver: bcma-pci-bridge bus-ID: 04:00.0 chip-ID: 14e4:4365
IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives: HDD Total Size: 63.1GB (4.1% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: SanDisk_SDSA6MM size: 32.0GB serial: N/A
ID-2: /dev/sdb model: DataTraveler_3.0 size: 31.0GB serial: N/A
Partition: ID-1: swap-1 size: 1.07GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb2
RAID: System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Unused Devices: none
Sensors: None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Weather: Conditions: 23 F (-5 C) - Mostly Cloudy Wind: From the NNW at 9 MPH Humidity: 43%
Pressure: 29.97 in (1015 mb) Time: December 16, 11:18 AM EST (America/Rainy_River)
Info: Processes: 129 Uptime: 1 min Memory: 99.3/1927.0MB Init: SysVinit v: N/A runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121 running in lxterminal) inxi: 2.3.5

Installed applications with PPM
It's working well.

Thanks
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   95.29 KB
 Viewed   831 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1743

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 17:38    Post subject:  

Just curious if anybody tried to get any version of the new Firefox Quantums working in either kernel version, and if you got apulse sound video working? I've got FF57.01 Quantum installed and running in kernel 4.1.# version, but no matter what I've tried via installing 32-bit apulse, and making the same similar mods (that work) for 64-bit pups but using all 32-bit compiled apulse libs, I cannot get sound working on any site with Quantum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2198
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Dec 2017, 23:51    Post subject:  

Hi Belham,
Just tested Firefox Quantum 57.0.2 in Radky's latest k4.1.47 DpupStretch and it does appear to work including sound. I put the apulse libs inside the firefox directory because firefox finds them there but they don't clash with anything else. The sandbox setting in about:config needs to be turned down to 0 or you can reduce it to 2 or 1 and do the whitelist settings to /dev/snd/ and 53
Code:
security.sandbox.content.level;2
security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist;/dev/snd/
security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist;53
security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist;/dev/snd/
Posting this from it now.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1743

PostPosted: Sun 17 Dec 2017, 07:43    Post subject:  

Hi Oscar,

Much thanks. Not putting the apulse libs inside firefox's /usr/lib/firefox/ folder was my problem. Once I did that, sound worked like a charm.

Thank you again Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2017, 08:10    Post subject:  

I'm posting these things whilst fresh in the mind: Nice pup Radky.

1. "If you are having problems with Xorg, then you might want to set the options below". Can this dialogue be removed? All the puppies always just come on to the desktop without impedence for years now.
One could always fix an esoteric video card at the desktop I would have thought. It just looks bad when it's pausing at startup.

2. Right click make pet reminder.

3.Launcher top bar off as default? Everything seems to be in the tray anyways.
And I don't think it is going to compete with those wbar type bouncy apps gimmicks.

AND GENERALLY TO JWM.
Will it ever do semi/transparency on the tray, menu and windows borders?

There are some nice themes I noticed and JWM has moved on quite a lot since I looked at it.
Would be good if it could get away from that soviet block functional but dull look. A bit of optional shiny, a bit of transparency on the tray..

AND GENERALLY TO COPY TO > Dialogue:
Make it more than one item at a time. I grabbed some desktop backgrounds but it will only do one at a time, yes there are many ways to skin a cat, but believe me that copy to needs to be the one way to do it. Can junk the clipboard then. Always looked a bit fudgy imo.

Seems to run very nicely this pup!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1566

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2017, 08:18    Post subject:  

Smithy wrote:
1. "If you are having problems with Xorg, then you might want to set the options below". Can this dialogue be removed? All the puppies always just come on to the desktop without impedence for years now.
One could always fix an esoteric video card at the desktop I would have thought. It just looks bad when it's pausing at startup.

I get this blue xorg terminal menu on the screen at startup now too. I think it started around 7.0.0a2. Wasn't sure if it was just me, or a good or bad thing to have included, so I didn't say anything. The last I seen it pop-up was in an early Puppy 5.x I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3721
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2017, 08:40    Post subject:  

Smithy wrote:

1. "If you are having problems with Xorg, then you might want to set the options below". Can this dialogue be removed? All the puppies always just come on to the desktop without impedence for years now.
One could always fix an esoteric video card at the desktop I would have thought. It just looks bad when it's pausing at startup.


I use this to specify 3840x1080 resolution with my dual monitors setup, works great, no need for arandr or any others.
EDIT: here is my Macmini install:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 18 Dec 2017 on Dpup Stretch 7.0.0a2 Linux 4.1.48 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.19.2
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1015x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Mobile x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 13.0.6

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz
Core 0: @1300 1: @1300 2: @1300 3: @1400 MHz
screenshot3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.6 KB
 Viewed   641 Time(s)

screenshot3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 981

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:28    Post subject:  

@Billtoo,

Thanks for testing in multiple environments. Very helpful!

@OscarTalks,

Following your recommendations, Firefox Quantum is working very nicely in Dpup Stretch. Thanks!

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=977563#977563

Smithy wrote:
Quote:
1. "If you are having problems with Xorg, then you might want to set the options below". Can this dialogue be removed? All the puppies always just come on to the desktop without impedence for years now.

I think the Woof-CE devs provided this dialog to help those who experience failed booting to a functional desktop. And of course, it is also useful to users (Billtoo) who must adjust the screen parameters at boot time. If you want to experiment, the dialog is called in /usr/sbin/xorgwizard. I think you will find the same xorgwizard in current releases of xenialpup and artfulpup.

Quote:
2. Right click make pet reminder?

Good point Smithy. Since the second dialog provides an option to cancel, the first popup dialog is not required. Will adjust in the next release.

Quote:
3.Launcher top bar off as default? Everything seems to be in the tray anyways.

The accessory launchbar is fully optional. Enable/Disable in JWMdesk -> Options -> Accessory Tray.

Quote:
AND GENERALLY TO JWM.
Will it ever do semi/transparency on the tray, menu and windows borders?

JWM supports transparency but requires the addition of a suitable compositor. The Compton compositor is small and integrates nicely with JWM. I could add it (as an option ) to the next release.
Quote:
There are some nice themes I noticed and JWM has moved on quite a lot since I looked at it.
Would be good if it could get away from that soviet block functional but dull look. A bit of optional shiny, a bit of transparency on the tray..

Dpup Stretch provides an optional desktop environment (FbBox) which fully supports panel transparency and does not require an external compositor.

Menu -> Desktop -> WM Switcher -> FbBox

Quote:
AND GENERALLY TO COPY TO > Dialogue:
Make it more than one item at a time. I grabbed some desktop backgrounds but it will only do one at a time...

For flexibility, this distro has three built-in file managers (ROX-Filer, PCManFM and emelFM2). The copy/move dialogs of the patched ROX-Filer provide a 'Force' option to quickly copy/move multiple files without confirmation. For more information, see the second post of the Dpup Stretch thread and go to Alpha-2 changelog: 4/Nov/2017.

Quote:
Seems to run very nicely this pup!

Thanks Smithy!

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 17:14    Post subject:  

Great, thanks for the info on the Xorg and the other bits Radky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 48 [712 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0990s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]