Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Sep 2018, 09:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.6 (August 22), Beaver 0.9.4 (Sept. 21), 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 24 of 69 [1027 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2017, 07:40    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Review: Easy Linux 0.6.4, released Dec. 18, 2017

-pschedule worked however pclock wasn't installed

-I noticed that there is a window --- BootManager:Manage system services
I click on 'OK' button at bottom of window and the window doesn't close???

- ethernet and samba is running ---> I checked by running 'top'

Code:
dhcpcd  -I '' eth0
is running
But I can't make a samba server???
A connection can't be made by a second machine,
even though a second machine sees the pupshare.
I am using a firewall which I normally don't have on.

I am using
user:root
password:woofwoof

But it doesn't say that I have added this user when I type
Code:
smbpasswd -a root


__________________________________________

On the subject of firewall...

There is a confusing instruction on the quick samba window
which says that two boxes should be clicked but the
two names aren't mentioned. I assumed samba and smb-client???

_________________________________________


I don't see why there is confusion. There are only two Samba checkboxes, tick both.

QuickSamba executes "smbpasswd -a root", you don't have to do that. If you do type that in a terminal, it doesn't tell you that it has already been done.

You should be able to just click the "share" icon on desktop, tick those two checkboxes in the firewall, accept the defaults for Samba Setup (user root and password woofwoof) and it will just work.

EDIT:
I just checked QuickSamba. There is no ambiguity, QuickSamba insists on both checkboxes being ticked, and won't go to next stage until that is done.

There are no other checkboxes identified as Samba-related.

I want to keep the verbosity at a minimum on the main window, so don't know how to explain it better, while using a minimum of words.

EDIT2:
Maybe if I change the text to:

"The firewall is blocking Samba, you must click the "Firewall Setup" button, and tick the two Samba checkboxes"

...yeah, will do that, that's less words than before, and clearer.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2017, 08:16    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
-I noticed that there is a window --- BootManager:Manage system services
I click on 'OK' button at bottom of window and the window doesn't close???


That's odd. I tested, menu "Filesystem -> Easy BootManager -> Manage system services"

And OK button works.

One thing, if you are using a non-English locale, and the language-pack is installed, the translation could be faulty and that can wreck a script, make it do something undesirable.

But, I take it that is not your case, so I don't know why the OK button does not close the window. Very odd indeed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5147
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2017, 11:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
That's odd. I tested, menu "Filesystem -> Easy BootManager -> Manage system services"

And OK button works.

I think i got confused which button to press, the left or right.
Blender 3d program uses the right button to click on object,
which confuses me.
________________________________________________

A right click and select 'Move' menu item in Rox filer
causes crash. However middle mouse drag will move a Rox window by the title bar.

____________________________________________

Start Menu > RestartX
allows me to login as root but then I can't get a desktop, so I must
reboot.

_________________________________________

Pcurlftp filesharing app seems to need more software running to work.
Does ftp need to running?

_____________________________________________________

pclock can be installed , but because pmusic isn't installed there needs to be a line changed to use 'aplay'

...change line 452 to...
Code:
 pschedule -s -e "aplay '$ALARM'" "pClock Alarm" &


_________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2017, 20:42    Post subject:  

There were two problems with xorgwizard.

Firstly, edit this file, /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONSTRAINED so that the last two lines have "no", as shown:

Code:
BOOT_ATIME='noatime'
BOOT_DIRTYWRITE='1500'
BOOT_SCHEDULER='deadline'
BOOT_UDEVDCHILDREN='1'
BOOT_BOARD='pc'
BOOT_DISABLEXORGWIZARD='no'
BOOT_DISABLEALSACONF='no'


That will allow xorgwizard to run, however, I found another bug if there is nvidia graphics. The wizard gets confused with the two drivers, 'nouveau' and 'nv' -- the latter is unaccelerated, a fallback if the nouveau driver doesn't work.

I fixed, see attached. Remove the fake ".gz" extension, make sure it is executable, and place at /usr/sbin. Exit to the commandline and run:

Code:
# xorgwizard


...which actually runs xorgwizard-cli.
xorgwizard-cli.gz
Description  Has fake .gz, need to set executable flags, place at /usr/sbin
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard-cli.gz 
Filesize  48.81 KB 
Downloaded  104 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Dec 2017, 20:45    Post subject:  

Have a great Christmas guys! I posted a picture to my blog:

http://bkhome.org/news/201712/merry-xmas-2017.html

I will be slowing down a bit, but still intend to keep the ball rolling, so if you discover any more bugs/issues with Easy, please post them.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Dec 2017, 19:27    Post subject:  

Easy crashes after 15 seconds, reported here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112379

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Dec 2017, 20:24    Post subject:  

There is a desktop icon labeled "sfsget", which offers to download SFS files, then select for loading at bootup.

Works, but a progress message "Please wait, downloading SFS file" does not go away, which it is supposed to do after the file is downloaded.

I have fixed it. Attached, with a fake ".gz". Rename to "sfsget", move to /usr/sbin, make sure executable flags are set.
sfsget.gz
Description  fake .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  sfsget.gz 
Filesize  7.61 KB 
Downloaded  101 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Dec 2017, 18:50    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
A right click and select 'Move' menu item in Rox filer
causes crash. However middle mouse drag will move a Rox window by the title bar.


Yeah, I can confirm that.

...aargh! Another one. I have lost count how many bugs in JWM since I upgraded to 2.3.7 from 976 (svn revision number, 2.2 series).

I have just now tested 976, and the "Move" operation works.

Someone did mention that 976 does have a bug or two, but nothing that I have encountered. So, why upgrade?

That is a very good question. If 976 works, why not stay with it? Well, the theme PETs have differences -- however, all the jwm theme PETs in my 'noarch' repository have not yet been upgraded, except for two.

Yeah, I just don't want the hassles, maybe I'm rolling back.

EDIT:
Or not. Joe has fixed that "Move" crash bug:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/410

Some other bugs fixed also. So, maybe I will roll forward instead Smile

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Dec 2017, 20:19    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
don570 wrote:
A right click and select 'Move' menu item in Rox filer
causes crash. However middle mouse drag will move a Rox window by the title bar.


Yeah, I can confirm that.

...aargh! Another one. I have lost count how many bugs in JWM since I upgraded to 2.3.7 from 976 (svn revision number, 2.2 series).

I have just now tested 976, and the "Move" operation works.

Someone did mention that 976 does have a bug or two, but nothing that I have encountered. So, why upgrade?

That is a very good question. If 976 works, why not stay with it? Well, the theme PETs have differences -- however, all the jwm theme PETs in my 'noarch' repository have not yet been upgraded, except for two.

Yeah, I just don't want the hassles, maybe I'm rolling back.

EDIT:
Or not. Joe has fixed that "Move" crash bug:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/410

Some other bugs fixed also. So, maybe I will roll forward instead Smile


Unable to compile latest jwm, revision 1670. Someone else has reported it, I added my confirmation:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/435

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Wed 27 Dec 2017, 03:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 03:51    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
BarryK wrote:
don570 wrote:
A right click and select 'Move' menu item in Rox filer
causes crash. However middle mouse drag will move a Rox window by the title bar.


Yeah, I can confirm that.

...aargh! Another one. I have lost count how many bugs in JWM since I upgraded to 2.3.7 from 976 (svn revision number, 2.2 series).

I have just now tested 976, and the "Move" operation works.

Someone did mention that 976 does have a bug or two, but nothing that I have encountered. So, why upgrade?

That is a very good question. If 976 works, why not stay with it? Well, the theme PETs have differences -- however, all the jwm theme PETs in my 'noarch' repository have not yet been upgraded, except for two.

Yeah, I just don't want the hassles, maybe I'm rolling back.

EDIT:
Or not. Joe has fixed that "Move" crash bug:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/410

Some other bugs fixed also. So, maybe I will roll forward instead Smile


Unable to compile latest jwm, revision 1670. Someone else has reported it, I added my confirmation:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/435


Joe responded real quick and fixed it. Now compiling 1675, ha ha, now getting "dead" windows:

https://github.com/joewing/jwm/issues/437

...there are new <Mouse> tags, without which jwm is broken.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5147
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 13:21    Post subject:  

I've noticed that version 0.6.4 is slow to install even small pet packages.
I wonder if the creating and updating of defaults.list is causing this.

I've noticed a standard defaults.list at WOOF-CE
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/blob/testing/woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/usr/share/applications/defaults.list

A long as it listed GIMP and mtpaint as compatible to PNG format it
would work with mypaint.
___________________________________________________

Last edited by don570 on Wed 27 Dec 2017, 13:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5147
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 13:27    Post subject:  

Version 0.6.4 is great for translating scripts to create .mo files.
The new momanager allows changing of the LANG variable from
German to French very easy.

However there is one problem I noticed -->

When I change from German to French or one language to another using the Startup setup app
there is a bizarre wait period of half a minute and then restart X occurs!!!
With other versions of puppy linux I get a warning and then the restarting of X occurs immediately.

I wonder if this problem occurs because I have installed easy 0.6.4 to a USB stick and my hard drives have shut off from non-use.
________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5147
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 27 Dec 2017, 13:43    Post subject:  

I have a similar problem to user HERE
but it has nothing to do with setting time or LANG.

It isn't as bad . Easy 0.6.4 boots up nicely , then after about a minute it
blacks out, but then there is an automatic restartx.

The desktop comes back and the computer is now stable. Laughing

My only explanation is that the bootup process has made the computer memory scrambled
and the 'restartx' has fixed the memory allocation
so the computer is now stable.

Perhaps during bootup you are rushing to the desktop too fast and not
using the right procedure.

I use an IBM thinkcentre with 2.5 gb of memory.
_________________________________________________

You posted some useful suggestions HERE
I'll give them a try.
____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 05:43    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Start Menu > RestartX
allows me to login as root but then I can't get a desktop, so I must
reboot.


I don't understand. If I choose menu "Shutdown -> Restart X server", it restarts X and I am back on the desktop. Login is not required.

So, you must be meaning something else?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8677
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 06:31    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:

Pcurlftp filesharing app seems to need more software running to work.
Does ftp need to running?


Yeah, it has bugs. There is a later version, with fixes by SFR.

However, I have removed it, as perhaps as I am now embracing samba, it causes confusion having /root/File-Sharing

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 69 [1027 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1483s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0373s) ][ GZIP on ]