Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Oct 2018, 14:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to print with HP 1020 in Tahr64 605?(Solved thanks)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 17:03    Post subject:  How to print with HP 1020 in Tahr64 605?(Solved thanks)  

Hello
I have tahr64 605 frugal installed on a dell vostro 1320, 2.2ghz,2gb ram. I am lost at getting my printer to print. Its a hp 1020, I have tried to install it through cups, although it doesn't list the exact one . I have also installed 67e7b06ec94ad87372c77c86b9003dcf foo2xxx_rcrsn-2016.06.29.pet. It still wont print. Has anyone any ideas please?

xp does print.

Last edited by number77 on Thu 04 Jan 2018, 11:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 362
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 18:38    Post subject: .pet  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 362
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 18:40    Post subject: .pet  

I installed the .pet below (by downloading it & opening it with ROX-Filer). Then the driver should be available via CUPS Printer Wizard (in menu).
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9iMb4UZBeFkeHB0ZjBEUHlrQzQ/view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2017, 15:10    Post subject: Re: .pet  

ozsouth wrote:
I installed the .pet below (by downloading it & opening it with ROX-Filer). Then the driver should be available via CUPS Printer Wizard (in menu).
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9iMb4UZBeFkeHB0ZjBEUHlrQzQ/view

Thanks ozsouth that updated the hp drivers and gave me the choice of two. foomatic/foo2zjs and hcups 3.15.9 which it saqid requires a propietary plugin(en)
Unfortunately neither got the printer to print. I did try another pc too.
It may be the printer has developed a fault although it does print under xp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11143
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2017, 16:03    Post subject:  

How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59015

This talks about all printers.
There is info on HP printers and a driver pet for them.
Just read carefully and pick out the stuff for HP printers.

If nothing here helps you.
Put a post in that topic about the issues you have.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Sun 31 Dec 2017, 05:16    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59015

This talks about all printers.
There is info on HP printers and a driver pet for them.
Just read carefully and pick out the stuff for HP printers.

If nothing here helps you.
Put a post in that topic about the issues you have.

Thanks bigpup I have seen this and read most, problem is again I don't understand most.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5239
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sun 31 Dec 2017, 14:41    Post subject:  

Hi Number77,

Can you detail the procedure you have tried so far to install the printer?

I don't have the HP1020 but here is the procedure I use with CUPS to install the previous model - HP 1015 on Slacko (My Tahr64-605 and Tahr32-605 experiences further below). Is your install procedure similar?

(I would also recommend hiding your savefile during trials so that you do not mess up cups until you have proved the safe procedure on a "live" Tahr boot.)

Adding HP1015 vis usb cable (slacko method):

Plug in printer usb cable and turn it on.
Go to Menu/Setup/"Cups Printer Wizard"
When it asks "Do you need help with adding a printer?" say no
The Cups browser interface should appear and under the section titled "CUPS for Administrators" there should be a heading "Adding Printers and Classes" - click this.
Click on "Find New Printers"

- Does it see your printer?

If it sees your printer then click "Add This Printer"
Click continue

Select the make (scroll down to HP) then continue. (Don't select PPD)
Does your model appear in the list of possible printer choices?
If you see it in the list select it then click "add printer" then set default options

If this seems to have been successful then select "Printers" tab in CUPS.
Select the printer you just added
Click "Maintenance" and choose Print test Page.

Anything happens?

- if your 1022 does not appear as a choice during this printer adding process then you could try a similar model - eg 1015 or 1022 just to see what happens.


Here is my experience when I try the same thing on a fresh CD boot of Tahr64-605:

First plug in printer usb cable

The setup routine is similar but not exactly the same in the initial menus:

Choose Menu/Setup/"Cups printer wizard"

"Puppy Printing"

"Manage Printing tasks"

CUPS for Administrators

Unfortunately when I clicked on "Find new Printers" it saw nothing at all.

I used "dmesg" and "lsusb" to see what info was available in the terminal"

Code:

usb 5-1: new full-speed USB device number 4 using uhci_hcd
udevd[11934]: failed to execute '/etc/udev/mtp-probe' '/etc/udev/mtp-probe /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.0/usb5/5-1 5 4': No such file or directory
root# lsusb
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 8564:1000 
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 002: ID 08ff:1600 AuthenTec, Inc. AES1600
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 004: ID 03f0:0e17 Hewlett-Packard LaserJet 1015
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 04f2:b008 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd USB 2.0 Camera
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 04d9:0499 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. Optical Mouse
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
root#


So the system hardware can see the printer but CUPS cannot.

Possibly a bug in Tahr64-605??

EDIT : I just tried a similar procedure in Tahr 605 (32bit) and it detected and installed the printer without problems. So clearly a significant difference between the 32bit and 64 bit versions of Tahr605.

number77 - what are the chances of you booting Tahr605 32bit and seeing if that lets you access/configure the 1020 successfully?

Last edited by greengeek on Sun 31 Dec 2017, 15:46; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11143
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 31 Dec 2017, 15:28    Post subject:  

I wonder if this is about trying to use a 32bit printer driver in a 64bit version of Puppy.

The driver pets posted here are probably all 32bit.
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59015
Everyone seems to need to get the HP printer driver pet from this topic and install it to get cups print wizard to work.

Could try loading the Puppy version 32bit compatibility sfs so it has the needed stuff to run 32bit programs.
Here is the one for Tahrpup64
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr64/32bit_compatibility_libs_tahr64.sfs

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2018, 04:58    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I wonder if this is about trying to use a 32bit printer driver in a 64bit version of Puppy.

The driver pets posted here are probably all 32bit.
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59015
Everyone seems to need to get the HP printer driver pet from this topic and install it to get cups print wizard to work.

Could try loading the Puppy version 32bit compatibility sfs so it has the needed stuff to run 32bit programs.
Here is the one for Tahrpup64
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr64/32bit_compatibility_libs_tahr64.sfs

I have tried on both 32 and 64 bit tahrs, and two other pcs on 64. I will try a clean install of 32 bit tahr on another hard drive and get back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2018, 06:34    Post subject:  

The clean install of a 32 bit tahr seems to have done the trick, it printed a test page in cups but the printer jammed half way through, but the test page was there.
greengeek your edit was right, 32 bit and 64 bit seem different.
bigpup you were right.
My 32 bit system must be corrupt I will have to reinstall.

I needed to update cups with
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9iMb4UZBeFkeHB0ZjBEUHlrQzQ/view, thanks ozsouth, to get the 1020 to appear, then (67e7b06ec94ad87372c77c86b9003dcf foo2xxx_rcrsn-2016.06.29.pet ) thanks rcrsn.
It did work once but I will now have to repair the printer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2018, 11:06    Post subject:  

Repaired the printer, new fuser sleeve and it is working perfectly in puppy tahr 605 32bit.
Thanks to everyone for the help.
number77
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1391s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]