Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 20 Nov 2018, 17:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to print in Xenialpup with only Win10 drivers?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 04:11    Post subject:  How to print in Xenialpup with only Win10 drivers?  

I want to print from linux on a dual boot machine with xenialpup64-7.5 and win 10.
I have libre office in both systems, but no linux driver for printer FX-Docuprint-P10?-w

Can I do it with wine, or CUPS--details pls? My use is infrequent, but I'm sick of transferring files and rebooting in win and back. there has to be a better way?.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12325
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 09:53    Post subject:  

In 2016, you were using a Brother driver with this printer. What changed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 10:02    Post subject:  

brother driver not 64bit. now not working, new file n/a.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12325
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 10:07    Post subject:  

In 2016, you were using a PPD file that used a built-in Ghostscript driver.

That should be independent of 32/64 bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 10:14    Post subject:  

driver old, last update gave continuous paper feed, now not avail afaik bro hl1050-1250.ppd may not have propperly installed it? will try again.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 10:39    Post subject:  

setup>printer>manage printers==cups 2.1.3 home page with links that go nowhere. CAN'T install driver! incomplete OS? Getting bloody tired of this stuff. Make it right before release, pls. I'm tired of being a guinea pig & having my limited brain overworked unnecessarily-I just want it to work! I did an OS update, I can't install new cups--not in repository, which is updated. I'm running out of data and I'm getting very angry. this happens too often. It would really help if the question was answered, rather than fed distractions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12325
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 10:56    Post subject:  

boof wrote:
setup>printer>manage printers==cups 2.1.3 home page

Look under the Administration tab.

Quote:
It would really help if the question was answered, rather than fed distractions.

?????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 10:59    Post subject:  

~Administration ===nothing happened, or my net is painfully slow?
cups.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  cups.png 
Filesize  121.63 KB 
Downloaded  125 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12325
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 11:20    Post subject:  

It looks like you have switched browsers to Firefox.

I tested this in a clean install of Xenial64 with the original Palemoon browser and it worked exactly as advertised.

I did a simulated install of the Brother-HL-1050-hl1250.ppd and it worked exactly as advertised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2018, 11:31    Post subject:  

FIXED!!!! change default html editor from auto to firefox and it all worked!]\even printer is good. I haven't the brain power left to beome a linux expert, learning MSDOS 3.3 was hard enough w all its commands and tricks when I was only 35. I knew it very well. I just guessed the solution from the abiword icon in the screenshot. Sorry I was so upset, but I really had no ideas what to do. thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 20:33    Post subject:  

Update:
pdf files not printing from web, and not stopping at eof? just chews thu blank paper. All else seems ok. will retest to see if downloaded file any different. resolution set 300dpi.

I need to be able to print from Linux, even if it takes wine to do it via Libre Office 5.4 in win 10. I don't know if VM will allow it. There aren't any earlier win drivers(?) & I really don't want to change printers AGAIN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12325
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 20:37    Post subject:  

What application are you using to load and print the PDF?

Are you doing it directly from your browser? What browser?

Give a link to a problematic PDF.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
boof

Joined: 26 Sep 2012
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 21:41    Post subject:  

using firefox to print from. when downloaded, wants to view in Draw. need to test Draw printing to see if that's a fix. The file is an applicaton for a wa seniors card. Hate pdfs-they're too big. BTW, is there an Oz non tracking search engine for puppy? latency on duckduckgo.com is awful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12325
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 22:12    Post subject:  

boof wrote:
when downloaded, wants to view in Draw.

????
What is Draw? Do you mean Inkscape?

A PDF file should open in a PDF viewer program. I checked in Xenial64 and it uses qpdfview.

Quote:
Give a link to a problematic PDF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11286
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2018, 02:53    Post subject:  

Quote:
using firefox to print from. when downloaded, wants to view in Draw.

In Firefox preferences.
See what is set as the application for pdf documents.
Should be able to change what is used.

Do not know what version of Firefox you are using, but the setting is in preferences. Just may be in different place depending on version of Firefox.
Firefox 58.0.2 it is in preferences>General>Applications

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0722s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]