Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Jul 2018, 21:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
How to use wifi on hp stream11?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
alistera

Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2018, 17:32    Post subject:  How to use wifi on hp stream11?
Subject description: Intel wireless 7265 network controller
 

hi i am trying to get xenial pup running on my son's hp stream11
It has a pci Intel wireless 7265 network controller
i found a linux driver on intel's website but not sure how to install it.
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2018, 18:00    Post subject:  

What exact version of Xenialpup????
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 396
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2018, 21:05    Post subject:  

I have an intel 7265 wii card in my laptop.

The firmware versions in most modern puppies is old and not found. The firmware version I am presently using with xenial and bionic puppies & dpup stretch 7.5 with kernels 4.9.x is iwlwifi-7265D-22.ucode.

The firmware is contained in the directory /lib/firmware. You will probably see in this directory iwlwifi-7265D-10.ucode. This version is too old for newer kernels and won't be found at boot.

If you run in a terminal
dmesg | grep wifi you will se something like this:
Code:

# dmesg|grep wifi
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-26.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-25.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-24.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-7265D-23.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: loaded firmware version 22.391740.0 op_mode iwlmvm


The kernel is initially trying to load firmware version 26. As its not found, it cycles backward up to about 10 times. If it doesn't find a valid firmware version. it doesn't load any firmware. In my case it finds and loads version 22 on the fifth attempt.

As this kernel is starting to look for version 26, there are newer firmware versions 27 & 29 available, but won't be found at boot either, as they are above the version that the kernel is searching for.

Edit: Using LXPupSC64 with 4.15.x kernel the newer firmware version 29 is successfully loaded. You will need to load this firmware yourself also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alistera

Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 15:22    Post subject:  

Sorry its xenialpup 7.5 32bit
Thanks for the replies
i will try that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4287
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 18:52    Post subject:  

Others say it is Broadcom.

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2319153

Also >> Jeremy:
Broadcom BCM43142 [14e4:4365] (rev 01), Ubuntu 15.04 No Wifi

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2278235&page=3

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alistera

Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 03:38    Post subject:  

thanks fpr the help
I was thinking was too complicated.
how I got it to work was downloading the linux driver from intel then unpacking it and copying it into lib /firmware then it finds the wifi when I opened network set up.
I now havrle another problem though I can't. Install xenialpup 7.5 tried bot 64 and 32
I tried the installer, it opened gparted
I then deleted the partions and made a new ext 3 partion and set flag to boot
but the installer keeps telling me there is no partion to install to (tried ext 2 and 4).
what am I doing wrong?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 08:25    Post subject:  

Sorry about your installer problem.

I will assume you are talking about the Puppy Universal Installer.
I will assume you only want Xenialpup on the computer.
No Windows 10

Am I correct?

Could you post a link to exactly where you got the driver.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alistera

Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 14:12    Post subject:  

Yes you are correct i dont want windows on the hp stream and i was using the universal installer.

The link to where i got the wifi driver is https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/uk/en/support/articles/000005511/network-and-i-o/wireless-networking.html

the driver i used was https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/_media/en/users/drivers/iwlwifi-7265-ucode-25.30.14.0.tgz

I dont know if the problem is to do with the hp stream having a internal sd card onstead of a proper hard drive maybe?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 488
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 14:49    Post subject:  

What partitions do you have now?
Look in gparted or type
Code:
parted -l
in console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 17:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
I then deleted the partions and made a new ext 3 partion and set flag to boot

So, you have only one partition.

Suggest you use ext 3 or 4 for format.

If this had Windows 10 on it.
The internal sd card may be using a GPT partition table and it had a small first partition formatted fat 32 to work as a boot partition to hold only the boot loader.
Had another partition to actually install the Windows 10 OPS on.

Puppy is best to setup on a storage device using a msdos type partition table.
I suggest you run Gparted.
Make a msdos partition table.
Gparted>Device>Create partition table>msdos
Make partition
Format it.
Close Gparted.

You did not say anything about having trouble booting Xenialpup, so I will assume the bios is happy booting something that is not Windows.

About the Universal Installer Problem.
Make sure to mount the partition before running the installer. It may not see an unmounted partition.

After the install completes run Grub4dos Bootloader Config to install a boot loader. Just select the SD card as the device to install to. Select search only within this device.
All other default settings are good to use as is.
OK.
OK.
OK.
done.


Strongly suggest you do a frugal install of Xenialpup.
Some features only work on frugal installs.
It is still the complete OPS. The name frugal is about how little space the install uses.

Also, this info:

Frugal installs:

Can be put on any partition any format, any type storage device.

They load more of Puppy into RAM.

Easier to backup, because all changes, settings are in the save. The core Puppy files never change. Only what is in the save changes. All you have to do is copy the save to have a backup.
If Puppy really gets messed up. Just delete the save and replace it with the backup save.

You can easily load or unload SFS program packages.
This lets you use a program without actually installing it to Puppy. You will have to use this option to fully understand it.

All of Puppy is placed in a directory (folder).
You can have many Puppies on one partition.
All completely separate from the other.
All in different directories (Linux term for folder).

Full installs:
Must be installed to a Linux formatted partition.
Uses the entire partition.
Main advantage is it uses less memory to boot to desktop.
Does not use layered file system.
Works best for compiling.
Does not run into size limit that a save file has on a fat32 format.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alistera

Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 18:33    Post subject:  

hi still not having any luck
capture5384.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  capture5384.png 
Filesize  116.99 KB 
Downloaded  45 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2018, 09:16    Post subject:  

mmop1 is not a normal name Puppy would use for a partition.

Normally it would be each storage device as sda, sdb, sdc, etc....
The partitions would be identified as example:
sda1, sda2, sda3 for partitions on sda.

Normally one internal drive would be identified first as sda.
One external drive as sdb.

The external drive is being seen as sda.

So, need to figure out why it is giving the mmop1 name to the internal SD card.
Could just be how it hooks up to the computer and how it identifies it.

The big problem seems to be getting the installer to see a partition on it.

In Gparted it shows the SD card by this name?
Did you do as I suggested to make new partition table, partition, and format?

We only know what you tell us.
So you must give use info.
You do what?
You see what?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2018, 09:37    Post subject:  

Could try using this installer program.
YaPI
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Download the Yapi pet.
Left click on it to install.
Run from menu>Setup>YaPI

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alistera

Joined: 04 May 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 25 Mar 2018, 16:47    Post subject:  

Thanks for your help
Unfortunately Yapi sees the partion but fails when trying to install grub.
I have noticed ther is another drive that i can access, i never saw at first because when i format the other card with gparted they symbols disapper until i restart.
I think it has a flash drive and uefi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Mar 2018, 17:16    Post subject:  

Quote:
Unfortunately Yapi sees the partion but fails when trying to install grub.

Explain??????

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1089s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0221s) ][ GZIP on ]