Program says installed but where is it?

Booting, installing, newbie
Message
Author
User avatar
Mike Walsh
Posts: 6351
Joined: Sat 28 Jun 2014, 12:42
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

#21 Post by Mike Walsh »

If our man doesn't want to run it from the terminal, I see two options:-

1) Drag the executable (or script, whichever it is) onto the desktop, and use it like that as a 'launcher'. He can dress it up with an icon if he wants. Or:-

2) Make a .desktop entry for it, run 'fixmenus', restart 'X'.....and start it from the menu.

That's what I would do.

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=TCSH
Comment=TCSH shell terminal
Exec=/root/my-applications/bin/tcsh
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/terminal.png
Type=Application
Terminal=false
Categories=Utility
This is the .desktop entry from the attached MenuEntry .pet, below, which points to a 'launcher' script in /root/my-applications/bin. The icon is also as shown below.

The Menu entry will be found under menu->Utility.

@ tcshhead:- Many utilities don't provide Menu entries, so I find it makes sense to learn how to create your own.....it's a very easy process. You install the attached MenuEntry .pet; type fixmenus in the terminal, and hit 'Enter'. Wait for that to come back to the '#' prompt.....then restart 'X'. You should then find the entry in the Menu, under 'Utility'.

You can extract the .pet (if you want), study the structure, then use that as a template for future Menu entries.

-------------------------------------------

When you say tcsh is 'in sbin', is that /sbin or /usr/sbin? The .pet is written for /usr/sbin. If it is in fact in /sbin, then after you've installed the .pet, open /root/my-applications/bin/tcsh, and just change the last line from

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/tcsh
...to...

Code: Select all

/sbin/tcsh
Hope that helps.


Mike. :wink:
Attachments
TCSH-MenuEntry.pet
Menu entry .pet for TCSH shell
(11.38 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
terminal.png
TCSH .pet icon
(10.83 KiB) Downloaded 116 times

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#22 Post by musher0 »

Hi Mike.

If the $PATH in file /etc/profile has not been messed with, it is this:
PATH="/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/root/my-applications/bin:/usr/games"
The above is the "pristine" PATH line, taken from /initrd/pup_ro2/etc/profile.

Which means typing < tcsh > in console should be enough to start this shell.
There is no need to prefix the command with any path. Puppy should find
the command automatically. Especially from a *.desktop file.

If the user needs to prefix the < tcsh > command with any path, (s)he
should double-check the PATH variable in /etc/profile against the above, and
correct the PATH line as necessary.

IHTH.
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
Mike Walsh
Posts: 6351
Joined: Sat 28 Jun 2014, 12:42
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

#23 Post by Mike Walsh »

Hi, musher0.

Yeah, I know all about the $PATH variables, etc.....but with scripts (especially .desktop entries and anything that goes into /root/my-applications/bin), I've just got into the habit of specifying the full, absolute path.....mainly due to the sheer number of Windoze apps I run under WINE. Those don't fit into the standard, system variables, do they??

I'm afraid I'm not such a purist as all that. I know I ought to be.....but I'm not! :lol:


Mike. :wink:

Post Reply