Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Aug 2018, 17:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog (Ubuntu 16.04 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 32-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 65 of 65 [972 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 63, 64, 65
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1531

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2018, 09:02    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi Belham, this script works for me on Bionicdog (to run as user puppy):
Code:
#!/bin/sh

xhost +local:puppy

su puppy -c "/usr/bin/chromium-browser "$@" --user-data-dir=/home/puppy/chromium/user --disk-cache-dir=/home/puppy/chromium/cache --disk-cache-size=10000000 --media-cache-size=10000000"


EDIT:

For info: To install google-chrome, it needs to be added to sources (64 bit only):
Code:
# Add google-chrome repo to sources
echo "deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list
# Get the signed key
wget -q -O - https://dl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub | apt-key add -
apt-get update   # required because repo sources has been changed
# Install
apt-get install google-chrome-stable


To run google-chrome as user puppy:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

xhost +local:puppy

su puppy -c "/usr/bin/google-chrome-stable "$@" --user-data-dir=/home/puppy/chrome/user --disk-cache-dir=/home/puppy/chrome/cache --disk-cache-size=10000000 --media-cache-size=10000000"


Fred



Thanks, Fred! Chromium now running great----I had the "user-data" stuff right, but messed up the "su puppy -c..." part. I wrote it down on a 3x5 index card so I don't forget next time...I'm getting too old to fool myself in thinking I can remember everything Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2018, 07:02    Post subject:  

Although weX is working perfectly OK as a screen recorder, here's how to install Simple Screen Recorder on XenialDog (takes much more space):
First you need to add the "maarten-baert" ppa to the repo sources, so in terminal:
Code:
add-apt-repository ppa:maarten-baert/simplescreenrecorder
apt-get update  # update package lists
apt-get install simplescreenrecorder

That's it !

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 934
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 26 Apr 2018, 07:15    Post subject:  

Yes, that's exactly the installation method I always use when wanting to compare SSR capture quality, GUI interface, and functionality to weX. There are some advantages to SSR and other advantages to weX...

wiak Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2018, 06:23    Post subject: Synaptic for Wex  

wex:
Depends: ffmpeg but it is not going to be installed
Depends: weav but it is not installable
Depends: scrox but it is not installable
It is just feedbac.. I will not screen cast with XenialDog.. StretchDog has it available and SSR too
pAVrecord 9.0.5 provided by synaptic needs avconv.. Load it (synaptic will join stuff needed). Settings : choose x264 ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2018, 07:05    Post subject: Re: Synaptic for Wex  

hamoudoudou wrote:
wex:
Depends: ffmpeg but it is not going to be installed
Depends: weav but it is not installable
Depends: scrox but it is not installable
It is just feedbac.. I will not screen cast with XenialDog.. StretchDog has it available and SSR too
pAVrecord 9.0.5 provided by synaptic needs avconv.. Load it (synaptic will join stuff needed). Settings : choose x264 ..


Yes, my mistake, fixed now (forgot earlier to include weav in repo)
Need to update package lists first before installing weX, "Reload" from synaptic, or with apt-get:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install wex


Thanks for reporting !

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2018, 05:35    Post subject:  

*** Set system shell to dash ***

In Ubuntu and Debian official, the system shell is /bin/dash, it means that /bin/sh is a symlink to /bin/dash.
In XenialDog (and other 'Dogs') the system-shell is bash (sh > bash).
This because we wanted to include scripts using "gtkdialog" for a graphical interface.
Some of these scripts didn't work properly with sh > dash. Without going in technical details, that was the reason that we made sh symlink to bash, to overcome that problem.

Now, thanks to wiak, there's gtkwialog that will make it possible to have sh > dash without having to change much in the scripts (several needed shebang change to #!/bin/bash, therefore some packages need to be upgraded, see below 3) )

To transform your XenialDog system for to use dash as system-shell, follow these simple steps:

1)
Type in terminal:
Code:
dpkg-reconfigure dash

Quote:

│ Using dash as the system shell will improve the system's overall performance. │
│ It does not alter the shell presented to interactive users. │
│ │
│ Use dash as the default system shell (/bin/sh)?

You will get the above dialog, then choose "Yes"

2)
Install new version of "porteusbootscripts":
Code:
apt-get update # is required, several packages need to be upgraded
apt-get install porteusbootscripts


3)
To upgrade, you can do: (will upgrade all packages that have newer version available):
Code:
apt-get upgrade

Or: (to upgrade only the packages from Xenial 'Dog' repository, this is in fact only required)
Code:
origin="xenialdog"
INSTALL=$(
for package in $(dpkg -l | awk '/ii/{print $2}'); do
    if apt-cache policy $package | grep -q "$origin"; then
        echo $package
    fi
done
)
apt-get install $INSTALL

Just copy and paste the above in terminal.
(is a bit slow, needs to filter first before install, note: it will say that a number of packages is already the newest version, this can be ignored, just install the available upgrades)
This will also install a new version of the "gtkdialog" package, which includes "gtkwialog" (gtkdialog is symlink to gtkwialog in /usr/bin)

That's it !

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 361
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2018, 18:21    Post subject:  

G'day Fred & Co, I've just installed this on a HP Pavilion DM1 NetBook, DualCore AMD 1.4 GHz, 3 GB RAMemory, Frugal install on eXt4 FS, When I first installed it, it Booted OK, But at some point after installing a package that I can't recall, it's Slowed down Seriously, I don't want 2 re-install again ( altho I know it's just a matter of a New changes Folder, some of those packages aRe a bit big & I've already done re-created the changes folder 4 or 5 times... )

So I'd Really Appreciate some Help TroubleShooting the issue & Simple Solution(s?). I Need this NetBook w/ the XenialDog OS Running Smoothly 4 a Demo in 3 days time so it's kind of Urgent!

I do know the dmesg command, But I don't know if it's appropriate in this instance? I Guess I'll Need 2 Copy & Paste CLi Output or Capture ScreenShots. I don't know if the solution is editing scripts or conf files? What's idiot-proof? Wink

I'm rather Stressed at the moment, because the LandLady is eXpected in about 40 mins for a Property inspection & Need 2 Make 100 Computers disappear from the Basement & Garage which is whY I Need this NetBook Operating Sweetly at the Demo in 3 days time for an Appeal 4 Storage...

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2018, 03:44    Post subject:  

Max Headroom wrote:
When I first installed it, it Booted OK, But at some point after installing a package that I can't recall, it's Slowed down Seriously


I'd help if I could, but I have no idea what could have happened.
What exactly slowed down ? boot time.. running applications... which applications...
The package you installed was it from Ubuntu or one of the custom packages from 'Dog' repository ?

You can type top in terminal and see if there is some process using extreme memory or cpu.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 361
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2018, 04:59    Post subject:  

Thanx Fred 4 your Reply, it's the Booting time that's the Problem, there was a Lot More Stuff Happening after Call Trace, taking a Long Time, But it's Hard 2 Put my Finger on it, Otherwise once the Desktop is Loaded, it's Fine, as I can easily See from Conky....

Any Other ideas Welcome Please!

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3224
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2018, 06:50    Post subject:  

Hi Max,
Ah, long boot time... you don't have any idea what you did that could have caused it ?
Did you do a kernel upgrade maybe? Anyway please post the output of:
Code:
uname -a


And indeed have look at dmesg, or post the output here (as attachment, with fake .gz), e.g. :
Code:
dmesg > dmesg-out


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 361
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2018, 07:04    Post subject:  

G'day Fred, Apologies 4 not Replying sooner w/ the Results, But Unfortunately my Plans have been Derailed by a Family eMergency & so haven't been able 2 Post yoU the Output, Actually I had Trouble doing so, so ReBooted, But Unfortunately it's Hung, Meaning Now I don't have much choice @ this late time, but 2 ReCreate another change Folder. I Hope this hasn't inconvenienced yoU. Embarassed K
_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
quantumbox

Joined: 03 Feb 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2018, 19:58    Post subject: RemasterDog After Upgrading BionicDog  

Start fresh bionicdog with new save folder then upgrade ubuntu, then RemasterDog. I use this squashfs file for another save folder on another machine, delete old squashfs, but it seems not upgraded. Whats wrong with my configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 65 of 65 [972 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 63, 64, 65
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0662s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0156s) ][ GZIP on ]