Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 19:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Wifi-beta dot pup released for testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
keenerd
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 07:53    Post subject:  

Peppyy, You say you've had trouble with your 600e? I haven't had too much trouble, and I've been keeping notes of my installation. (I will have to do it all over again at some point.) Sound works, but the audio crackles during USB transfers. Video works, most of the time.

Bladehunter, I had a thought about option 2 upgrading. Wouldn't we have to step the version number of Puppy back a notch? Barry had us do that once, to upgrade from 1.0.2 beta (?) to 1.0.2. The existing install was renamed 1.0.1, or somehing like that.
Back to top
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 10:51    Post subject:  

Quote:
Peppyy, You say you've had trouble with your 600e? I haven't had too much trouble, and I've been keeping notes of my installation. (I will have to do it all over again at some point.) Sound works, but the audio crackles during USB transfers. Video works, most of the time.


Mostly sound problems I may have an answer to the video but I still need to do a few more tests. I would be really interested in what you have done to make yours all happy.
______________________________________

I am still having a problem with wifi that I don't quite understand. If I am within range of my neighbors router the computer wont continue to boot after it detects his, possibly because it is encripted. I am going to try changing a few of the settings and see what happens.

What would happen if I left the essid and channel blank? My orinoco gold card automatically detects these on boot and connects as long as the encription is off.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 18:42    Post subject:  

Are you trying to get your IP via dhcp ?
Back to top
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 00:13    Post subject:  

Yes, well sort of. Here is what I have.

My gateway automatacally hands out network addresses as machines come and go so I need to use auto dhcp. My essid is "Home" and the default channel is "8", not worring about encription fot the moment.

Lets say I walk next door with my laptop and want to connect to that wireless network. The essid is "linksys" and the default channel is "5".

Not only do I need to change my wireless config but I also need to dhcp again for a new address. If I have a set address, the router will ignore the connection since it is set to hand the addresses out.

Is there an easy way to say, probe for the essid and channel and then ask for an address with dhcpcd wlan0 ? I may be way off base here but this is what my orinoco seems to do when it is eth0 and I run iwconfig. Although I still have to ask for an address, (DHCP) it finds network id's and channels automatically.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
keenerd
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 22:27    Post subject:  

This is self promotional, but....

Have you tried complimenting Wifi-Beta with Wireless Access Gadget? If you card supports scanning, it will scan for networks and give each one its own button. Click to connect to anything that isn't password protected.

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?p=10027#10027
Back to top
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug 2005, 20:57    Post subject: download trouble  

http://www.edgarbrits.net/puppy/dotpups/wifi-beta.pup

Gives me http authentication dialog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug 2005, 22:41    Post subject:  

Yep it will for the time being......I got a message the other day saying that I'd reached my limit of 20GB for the month....should be up again ok in the next day or so
Back to top
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug 2005, 23:27    Post subject:  

bladehunter wrote:
Yep it will for the time being......I got a message the other day saying that I'd reached my limit of 20GB for the month....should be up again ok in the next day or so


Ok. I'm going at it from scratch right now anyway. Figuring it all out from the bottom up will make me a more valuable asset to the group anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2005, 05:31    Post subject:  

John Doe wrote:
Ok. I'm going at it from scratch right now anyway...


Like it matters, lol. I got f'ed by the Broadcom BCM4301 card. I have 5 matches in the list. The best two don't work and I'm depressed about the other three because of what I read all over the internet:

http://www.petitiononline.com/BCM4301/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Noobler

Joined: 31 Aug 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2005, 15:58    Post subject: wifi-beta  

Any other links to get the wifi-beta file, it's still asking for credetials. I am a total linux newbie and I am trying to get my internal wireless card in my dell 700m (intel pro 2200). I am using puppy 1.0.5 and I ran the hardware prob and it looks like it found it, but doesn't have the driver for it. Thanks in advance. Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 01 Sep 2005, 18:50    Post subject:  

Still a few days till it will be back up
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 00:10    Post subject:  

Hey bladehunter, my tough luck. I was ready to start testing with your wifi dotpup but apparently it's going to be off the air for some time.

I've had no problems on my laptop with the orinoco drivers that come with puppy, but the desktop has an RT2500 chipset. I had not had the need to use puppy on that other computer until now that I am braving the dangerous waters of slapt-get for puppy (Currently only Initial investigation).

Having Wifi on that computer will help me with that.

khrevolucionist has offered to host packages that don't fit in the forum. Have you asked him to host it meanwhile?

just an idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 03:17    Post subject:  

Not for sometime.....forever, as with the iso's
Back to top
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2005, 07:03    Post subject:  

Rarsa, If you want to pm me with an addy I can e-mail it to you. I have it hosted on my webspace but I too have a bandwidth issue.I have the wifi-1.0.4-beta-2
_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
reallynewby

Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 15 Sep 2005, 21:51    Post subject: Trying to get Wireless on laptop  

I have Puppy installed on a Comapq Presario 1270 Laptop using Live CD version 1.04 using Cisco Aironet 350 PCMCIA card. All works well except wireless. I have Ubuntu installed as the regular OS and wireless works ok.
I am new to Linux and have searched through the forum and WIKI looking for advice to help but am stuck. I am not sure how to determine next steps to get wireless running.

Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0774s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]