EasyOS version 2.3.2, June 22, 2020

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
Cu Chulinux
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun 28 Jan 2018, 18:49
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

#681 Post by Cu Chulinux »

Have no desire to purchase either Intel or Nvidia in future.
How times change. I remember when nVidia was the graphics card of choice for Linux as AMD (ATI back then pre-merger/buyout) poo-po'ed Linux support. Years ago I had an old laptop with ATI graphics I was battling forever with. I remember swearing I would never buy ATI again.

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#682 Post by rufwoof »

Haven't checked in any detail, but just maybe (could be my largely hacked around version) if Easy 0.9 Pyro is frugally installed to HDD, then two copies with one having just initrd, vmlinuz and q.sfs ... picks up the changes made in the other frugally installed version.

Intend to investigate further, but I'm conscious that Barry might be preparing the next version and thought it better to mention sooner rather than later.

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#683 Post by rufwoof »

Another Pyro query. If in the container configuration PID namespace is true i.e. release it when forming the container, I don't think the current code does i.e. you can still ps and see the actual 1 root level.

I think it needs to create the container along the lines of

Code: Select all

unshare -p -f --mount-proc=/proc     chroot / /bin/bash 
which when I run that and then run ps -ef shows

Code: Select all

UID        PID  PPID  C STIME TTY          TIME CMD
root         1     0  0 16:40 pts/1    00:00:00 /bin/bash
root        82     1  0 16:40 pts/1    00:00:00 ps-FULL -ef
But where obviously in Easy Pyro case the proc would have to be the containers proc.

Editing /usr/local/ec_containers/ec-chroot

around line 78 to comment out the existing line (last line in the following) and instead coding

Code: Select all

mkdir ${CONTAINER}/proc
mkdir ${CONTAINER}/sys
unshare -p -f --mount-proc=${CONTAINER}/proc  --fork ${ENVI} /bin/busybox chroot ${CONTAINER} /ec-run ${EXE} ${ARGS}
#  unshare ${uOPTS} --fork ${ENVI} /bin/busybox chroot ${CONTAINER} /ec-run ${EXE} ${ARGS}
seems to do the trick for me

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#684 Post by rufwoof »

So far I've used a single Easy Pyro container to limit the resources/function of that container ... to basically just run programs such as firefox within a highly restricted environment ... crippled root, running as rover that is restricted ...etc. And its worked very well. Adding PID restriction adds another layer of security around that (as is, rover can't ps -ef or whatever anyway inside my current container, but assuming a elevation of privilege could be achieved then it would only see 1 as being /bin/sh or whatever, not see any of the main (host) PID's.

To take that yet another step further however, I need to add in a cgroup. After all a restricted environment but that is still able to access kernel/memory in a unrestricted manner lets the like of Spectre/Meltdown type vulnerabilities potentially through.

So as part of starting the container, initially running as root ... which chmod's the likes of /sbin to 000 ...etc. prior to that I'm thinking I should be creating a /sys/fs/cgroup/memory folder and then setting limits etc. such as

echo "100000000" > /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/memory.limit_in_bytes

... etc and then join the current process to that group

echo $$ > /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/tasks

Then if a task eats more than 100MB into memory it get killed - without the PC crashing.

But where other conditions/limits are also set in addition to the memory restriction above - such as options of

Code: Select all

cgroup.clone_children               memory.memsw.failcnt
cgroup.event_control                memory.memsw.limit_in_bytes
cgroup.procs                        memory.memsw.max_usage_in_bytes
memory.failcnt                      memory.memsw.usage_in_bytes
memory.force_empty                  memory.move_charge_at_immigrate
memory.kmem.failcnt                 memory.numa_stat
memory.kmem.limit_in_bytes          memory.oom_control
memory.kmem.max_usage_in_bytes      memory.pressure_level
memory.kmem.slabinfo                memory.soft_limit_in_bytes
memory.kmem.tcp.failcnt             memory.stat
memory.kmem.tcp.limit_in_bytes      memory.swappiness
memory.kmem.tcp.max_usage_in_bytes  memory.usage_in_bytes
memory.kmem.tcp.usage_in_bytes      memory.use_hierarchy
memory.kmem.usage_in_bytes          notify_on_release
memory.limit_in_bytes               tasks
memory.max_usage_in_bytes
... selecting appropriate values as deemed appropriate to really clamp down on the chroot environment so that basically just the browser works in a reasonable manner, but in a very highly constrained environment that perhaps not even Spectre/Meltdown type hacks might breach. i.e. pretty close to full virtualisation/isolation.

Trouble is I'm out of my depth with such tuning/options/configuration. Strikes me however that if such a container could be set up primarily for browser usage, then Puppy style running as root for most local things, but running a browser in a highly constrained manner would be a great combination.

EDIT:

Notes:

... groups have 1024 shares, so setting a cpu.shares values of 307 limits the group to 30% of the CPU.

echo 307 > /sys/fs/cgroup/cpu/memory/cpu.shares

rameshiyer

Full Install

#685 Post by rameshiyer »

How to install EasyOs on Hard disk along with other Puppy derivatives. I have already installed 4 derivatives in my hard disk ( Full Install) Grub4dos also installed. Please provide simple solution. I would like to test Easyos in PC.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#686 Post by don570 »

To rameshiyer

There is an explanation here.....
http://bkhome.org/easy/how-to-install-e ... drive.html

The important thing is the editing of the boot specs file.

_______________________________________________

rameshiyer

Full Install

#687 Post by rameshiyer »

I didn't able to install. May be due to lack of knowledge. P

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#688 Post by don570 »

Read carefully the section of the page named 'Fixing initrd.q'

Note how you find the the hard disk ID

Code: Select all

fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0
Barry has a new Windows PC (without a mechanical hard drive) so that is why the partition is called
/dev/mmcblk0

______________________________________________________

Note in boot specs file...

that the same ID number is used for BOOT_DISKID and WKG_DISKID.

Barry made the following change after obtaining ID number...


BOOT_DISKID='5D7ACA74-4E2C-4584-B8AE-60AFE5C6C0DA'

WKG_DISKID='5D7ACA74-4E2C-4584-B8AE-60AFE5C6C0DA'

BOOT_FS remains vfat

EDIT
There is different installation instruction depending on whether old BIOS machine
is used or new UEFI machine is used.
Correct info is here...
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 048#991048

________________________________________________________
Attachments
boot-specs-fixed.png
final boot specs file
(4.35 KiB) Downloaded 362 times
Last edited by don570 on Mon 07 May 2018, 18:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#689 Post by rufwoof »

BOOT_FS remains vfat
I changed mine to ext3 and it seems to work fine.

I'm using a mechanical HDD. I have grub4dos installed to the first partition (sda1) which is ext3 format. I copied initrd.q, vmlinuz and q.sfs to a folder on my second ext3 partition (sda2). I opened up the initrd.q and edited the BOOT_SPECS accordingly, using blkid and fdisk -l /dev/sda commands. Opening and editing initrd.q is easy if you already have a version of Easy OS working/running on a flashstick as you can just locate the file using Rox and click on the file. Once you finish making the BOOT_SPECS edits you just click on the initrd.q file to rebuild/close it.
Attachments
capture7783.png
(149.32 KiB) Downloaded 311 times

foxpup
Posts: 1132
Joined: Fri 29 Jul 2016, 21:08

testing 0.9 small report

#690 Post by foxpup »

I am testing 0.9 on my newish i5 laptop now.

No troubles with X on this machine. (I gave up Easy for the older dualcore with nvidia gc at the moment. Radky's dpupStretch is very nice for that machine and I can compile the nvidia304 driver easily in that Puppy.)

I don't run in containers, I just look for what I usually need. Only minor issues found so far.
In "wizard wizard" Pupcontrol 'Desktop Wallpaper' does not open.
I'm also looking for some media app to record webcam or screencast video and audio, something like weX. 'Desktop Recorder' on EasyApps should open pavrecord, but it doesn't. Pavrecord is not in the menu either, so not installed. I prefer weX, it has better quality.
Also in EasyApps 'Book Reader' and 'PDF Reader' (evince) do not work.

rameshiyer

EasyOs

#691 Post by rameshiyer »

Dear Don Sir
As suggested by you Sir when fdisk command run in the command line, I got following result. No disk identifier

fdisk -l /dev/sda9
Disk /dev/sda9: 19.5 GiB, 20971520000 bytes, 40960000 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

How to get disk identifier/Id

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#692 Post by bigpup »

Try it as

Code: Select all

fdisk -l /dev/sda
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

rameshiyer

EasyOs Full HD installation

#693 Post by rameshiyer »

# fdisk -l /dev/sda
Disk /dev/sda: 153.4 GiB, 164695473664 bytes, 321670847 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x196ff27b

Device Boot Start End Sectors Size Id Type
/dev/sda1 * 2048 1050623 1048576 512M b W95 FAT32
/dev/sda2 1050624 72730623 71680000 34.2G 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3 72730624 321669119 248938496 118.7G 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 72732672 113692671 40960000 19.5G 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 113694720 154654719 40960000 19.5G 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 154656768 205856767 51200000 24.4G 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 205858816 257058815 51200000 24.4G 83 Linux
/dev/sda9 257060864 298020863 40960000 19.5G 83 Linux
/dev/sda10 298022912 321669119 23646208 11.3G 82 Linux swap / Solaris
#

User avatar
Cu Chulinux
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun 28 Jan 2018, 18:49
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

#694 Post by Cu Chulinux »

rameshiyer, it appears you don't have UEFI which would be why Barry's installation method won't work. Try instead Easy Frugal Installation.

If you just want to test Easy can you boot from USB? It may be worth it to try out from USB to see if you like it before installing to HD. USB also makes changing the BOOT_SPECS much easier.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#695 Post by don570 »

Yes to Cu Chulinux

I think I was giving out the wrong page link. Yours is better for old computer.

http://bkhome.org/easy/easy-frugal-installation.html

___________________________________________________--

Hard disks have two identity numbers. The one that BarryK uses in boot specs file is found with fdisk,


universally unique identifier (UUID) is used by grub4dos. To find it use the 'blkid' command.


Explained here...

https://access.redhat.com/documentation ... tems-blkid

______________________________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#696 Post by don570 »

I was able to get the gmic plugins for GIMP 2.10 to work with a simple fix

Explained here...

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 962#990962
______________________________________________________

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#697 Post by BarryK »

Version 0.9.1 is out:

http://bkhome.org/news/201805/easyos-py ... n-091.html

I think, next, the time has come to bump the Ubuntu build to packages from the latest LTS release, 18.04, Bionic Beaver.

...so, expect an Easy Beaver soon!
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

EasyOS Pyro64 0.9.1 (May 7), Xerus64 0.6.8 (Jan. 4), 2018

#698 Post by Billtoo »

I installed to a 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive, PC is a Compaq Presario
(2009)

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 7 May 2018 on Easy Pyro64 0.9.1 Linux 4.14.39 x86_64
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 10)
oem: Intel(r)Q33/Q35/G33 Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)Q33/Q35/G33 Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.19.1
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) G33
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 17.0.7

Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz
Core 0: @1610 1: @1406 MHz

I installed some pets,
I like the new background, it's easier on the eyes.

It's time for bed here but will explore more in the morning.
Thanks.
Attachments
screenshot.jpg
(71.79 KiB) Downloaded 833 times

halpad
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun 31 May 2015, 12:00

EasyOS

#699 Post by halpad »

Dell Laptop, Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @2.53 2.53
Ram 4.00 GB, Product ID 00326-10000-00000-AA726, 64 Bit
Windows 10 upgrade from Win 7

I downloded EasyOS, latest edition by following instructions on BKhome.org

Installed on USB drive. I booted my main computer, no problems, so I know the install is good.

When trying to boot to my Dell laptop , it starts OK, then gets stalled at "getting files ready" stage.

I've tried a couple times, left it for hours, but it never finishes.

Full disclosure; I have used other puppy/wolf distros a little, but I am a true novice. No coding experience. Simply want to make my old computer a little livelier.
Last edited by halpad on Mon 07 May 2018, 20:31, edited 1 time in total.

foxpup
Posts: 1132
Joined: Fri 29 Jul 2016, 21:08

Re: EasyOS

#700 Post by foxpup »

halpad wrote:When trying to boot to this computer, it starts OK, then gets stalled at "getting files ready" stage.
What means "this computer"? another, older computer?
What do you do? Do you try to boot from usb as well?

Post Reply