Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 02:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
IBM 600E no sound (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 18:03    Post subject:  IBM 600E no sound (Solved)  

I have been around the horn with this laptop trying to get the sound working.

I think I may finally have exhausted my options, or at least everything short of compiling a new kernel.
xproc reports the following.
Code:
Bus  0, device   6, function  0:
    Multimedia audio controller: Cirrus Logic CS 4610/11 [CrystalClear SoundFusion Audio Accelerator] (rev 1).


dmesg reports this
Code:
ad1848/cs4248 codec driver Copyright (C) by Hannu Savolainen 1993-1996
ad1848: No ISAPnP cards found, trying standard ones...
cs4232: set synthio and synthirq to use the wavefront facilities.
cs4232: Must set io, irq and dma.


I tried all 3 of the possible fixes that have worked for others to no avail. he closest I have come was with this.



I have read that it may be neither of the reported chipsets and may be a generic SB of some sort that is recognised incorrectly.
Code:
#load the modules
/sbin/modprobe cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=0 dma2=1
/sbin/modprobe uart401 io=0x330 irq=9
/sbin/modprobe opl3 io=0x388

#set the volume
/usr/bin/setvol 0 90 90

when I added that to /etc/rc.d/rc.local I had some mixer controls but still no sound.
If anyone has had any success with this, please let me know what you did.
Could it be that I have tried to many things that didn't work and they are all confused Wink
Thanks

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google

Last edited by peppyy on Tue 16 Aug 2005, 09:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 18:38    Post subject:  

Your best bet maybe to google and see what others have done in other distros..


Of course disregarding any references to ALSA for the time being

Have you opened xtmix and adjusted the volume level with that ?
Back to top
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 19:27    Post subject:  

I can't get the mixer to open anymore. I am thinking that it must be the CS 4610/11chipset and I am not sure that there is an oss module I can load to make it work. I have found a few references to oss but they always prefaced by either alsa or kernel 2.6
_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
keenerd
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 20:29    Post subject:  

I can dig up my modprobe line. I think I got it off of www.thinkwiki.org
Best resource for thinkpads ever.
Back to top
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 21:27    Post subject:  

Thanks for the link. I am beginning to think it could be the kernel.

What puppy are you running. I am on 1.0.4 on this machine which I think is 2.4x.

My 770 is running 2.0.3 which i think is 2.6x

Could that be all the difference?

I could try your modprobe line but if it is the one from thinkwiki it dosn't seem to do it for me.

Code:
/sbin/modprobe snd-cs4236 index=0 port=0x530 cport=0x538 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0 isapnp=0


I have also tried.

Code:
modprobe cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0 mpuio=0x330 mpuirq=9 synthirq=5 synthio=0x388

which works on the 770z with 1.0.3

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 22:32    Post subject:  

Your sound chip is certainly Crystal (Cirrus Logic), not a generic SB.
The OSS driver for the CS42xx series (ISA) is cs4232, and for the CS46xx series (PCI) is cs46xx.
"snd-cs4236" is an ALSA driver. Puppy doesn't have ALSA ... yet.

Your system reports CS 4610/11 so at face value it appears you just need to manually load the cs46xx driver - "modprobe cs46xx" Hardware settings cannot be specified with this driver. Run "modinfo cs46xx" to see what parameters can be specified.
Go ahead and try it. But this may not be the answer, the situation is sometimes messy with Crystal chipsets.

At the Thinkpad website you mentioned - www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/CS4610 they say that the 600E has a CS4610 chip paired with a CS4239 audio controller.
So the correct driver may well be the cs4232. Try this -

modprobe cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0

Until you get the audio working, don't worry about the midi stuff - mpuio, mpuirq, synthio, synthirq.
Also, the cs4232 driver may fail to load properly unless the various modules it depends on are loaded in a particular order. So you could also try this -

modprobe sound
insmod ad1848
insmod uart401
insmod cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0

In fact, this multi-stage approach may work best in Puppy because I see that modprobe is a symlink to insmod.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2005, 23:01    Post subject:  

Well, I got a different error that time.
Code:
# modprobe cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0
Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/cs4232.o.gz: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
      You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/cs4232.o.gz: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/cs4232.o.gz failed
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/cs4232.o.gz: insmod cs4232 failed

and the resulting from the later.
Code:
# modprobe sound
Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.29/modules.dep
# insmod ad1848
Using /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/ad1848.o.gz
# insmod uart401
Using /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/uart401.o.gz
# insmod cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0
Using /lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/cs4232.o.gz
/lib/modules/2.4.29/sound/oss/cs4232.o.gz: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
      You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg


Looks like I may not actually have the module.

dmesg now reports
Code:
ad1848/cs4248 codec driver Copyright (C) by Hannu Savolainen 1993-1996
ad1848: No ISAPnP cards found, trying standard ones...
cs4232: set synthio and synthirq to use the wavefront facilities.
ad1848/cs4248 codec driver Copyright (C) by Hannu Savolainen 1993-1996
ad1848: No ISAPnP cards found, trying standard ones...
cs4232: set synthio and synthirq to use the wavefront facilities.

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 01:01    Post subject:  

Yes, you definitely have the cs4232 module. It's telling you that the module function "init_module" is failing.
I was just about to suggest you should check that your bios has "PnP OS = NO" (important for all Linux distributions) ... then I remembered that this issue was discussed on the DamnSmallLinux forum - here it is - http://damnsmalllinux.org/cgi-bin/forums/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=8;t=6961
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 02:55    Post subject:  

It has not been confirmed but we now have the means to install ALSA in Puppy so it may be available in "Krazy Puppy" (Puppy 1.0.5)

More details to be added here (if you come across any)
http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/KrazyPuppy

Note: the 1.0.5 Alpha is a developers edition and does not reflect the new Puppy

If it it is a 2.6 kernel problem then you might try Puppy 1.0.2 temporarily as this used the 2.6 kernel

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2005, 09:41    Post subject:  

I am listening to my weather with a big smile on my face.
Thanks everyone It was the settings in the bios.

Add this line to rc.local

Code:
# sound config for 600e disable quick boot in the bios first...
modprobe sound
insmod ad1848
insmod uart401
insmod cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0


Let's see if I can get the video up to watching a dvd next Twisted Evil

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0666s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]