Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Aug 2018, 14:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Xenial Puppy 7.5 will not boot. "No space left on device"
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 00:48    Post subject:  Xenial Puppy 7.5 will not boot. "No space left on device"
Subject description: Oh no!
 

So, during the boot up process off of a CD, or a flash drive, I get to the point of "puppypc23586 login: root (automatic login)" and then everything after that has the error "No space left on device" and leaves me at the command prompt. I ran the top command and it seems like I'm out of RAM.

This seems odd to me. I've run older versions of Puppy on a Pentium 3 computer with 256mb of RAM. That was at least 3 years ago, though. This laptop has a dual core intel CPU (I think it's a T2050?) and 512mb of RAM.

Have the requirements for Puppy gone up substantially? Is there something else I can do to make this work? Am I going to need to buy more memory?

By the way, I checked the checksum of the image and it is correct.

I'm trying to revive this old laptop mostly for kicks. It was working well with Windows XP when I got it, so I don't think there's anything wrong with the computer itself.

Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 00:50    Post subject:  

Here's an image that should help.

https://i.imgur.com/BrazbaB.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 01:32    Post subject:  

I got it to boot with the "pfix=nocopy" option Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10888
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 02:01    Post subject:  

I was going to suggest using nocopy, but still not sure why you needed to.

The developer of Xenialpup does recommend 1GB or more of RAM, but it should be able to boot normally with 512MB.

It will use about 300MB fully booted to the desktop.
However, the boot process may be using more than that to reach a completed desktop.

Xenialpup is really more about supporting the latest computers and their hardware requirements.

How much ram is being used if booting with the prefix=nocopy?
What does Htop show after getting to the desktop?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 02:09    Post subject:  

I'm ok with not using Xenial if there's a better option. I mostly wanted it for the ability to install Ubuntu packages... unless I misinterpreted that. I realize most packages would be too intensive for this old computer.

I have it booted now, and am (slowly) performing an install. I'm planning to dual boot with Kali since the laptop just barely meets the requirements and I want to do some coffee shop trolling.

I didn't think I'd use all the memory based on past experiences with this distro, but that seems to be the issue. I might upgrade the memory if I run across some on the cheap. Might ask around the local computer shops if they're junking some older laptops.

Thanks for replying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 02:09    Post subject:  

I didn't mean to double post! Oops!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 02:29    Post subject:  

Htop shows about 90mb of RAM being used after booting. I guess the problem is on boot.

Current issue: How do I set the pfix=nocopy for booting off the hard drive? Puppy is installed, but having the same issue I initially had booting off of CD/USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 03:10    Post subject:  

I GOT IT TO BOOT OFF THE HARD DISK!
WOOT

I edited the menu.lst file and added pfix=nocopy to the end of a line that started with kernel... I think.

Now the mouse and keyboard don't work though! LOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 03:46    Post subject:  

Ok, so I'm done for the night. Puppy has decided it doesn't want to load the driver for the touchpad it seems. Not sure why. I plugged in a USB mouse and it worked fine. Also, the wireless card doesn't work yet.

Fun, fun, fun. Always fun with linux Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2018, 00:56    Post subject:  

Does anyone have a solution to the trackpad and wifi module? I'm not sure where to find drivers for the wifi module... or what module it is.

The weird thing about the trackpad is that it /was/ working fine until I rebooted the computer one time. Since then it's kaput and says there's no driver loaded for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2018, 01:28    Post subject:  

I'm going to try to install the "iwlegacy" when I get the chance to connect to the internet wired.

Still need help on the trackpad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10888
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2018, 09:24    Post subject:  

The laptop got a switch that turns touchpad on/off Idea

Is the hard drive install a frugal install?
You got all the files from the iso on the hard drive.

What is the wifi hardware?
Make and model?

If it happens to be Atheros hardware.
Xenialpup 7.5 is missing some firmware for them.

Install this pet and see if that helps.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-xenial/32/atheros_kernel_modules-4.4.95noPAE-xenial32.pet
REBOOT after you install the pet package.

If Xenialpup is a frugal install or a live CD or USB.
Make sure you have made a save file/folder so the pet install is still there after the reboot.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2018, 14:51    Post subject:  

I should have said the make/model before.
Make/Model: Toshiba Satellite A105 S4074

I was looking for a switch on the case for the trackpad. I haven't been able to find one. The F9 key has a little picture that looks like a trackpad to me but pressing Fn and F9 doesn't seem to turn it back on. The touchpad is enabled in the bios.

Wireless module: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)

Thanks for the help. I'll install that PET when I get connected to the internet. I do have a save file. It's a full install since I have a low amount of memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2018, 14:54    Post subject:  

The trackpad also doesn't work if I boot off the CD. I'm really not sure what happened at all :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GreenRicer

Joined: 17 May 2018
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2018, 15:42    Post subject:  

Kind of thinking of giving up on this distro for this laptop. The screen doesn't come back up after I close/open the laptop either. Pretty big bummer for a laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0449s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]