Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Jun 2018, 07:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
BionicDog (updated: 2018-06-04)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 24 [359 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 857
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 06:21    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
...even when underlying system shell is dash

Where is this occurring?

I don't understand. How does changing the code in Fred's version of gtkdialog allow our gtkdialog apps to be run on another OS that uses dash?


As I said, I was referring to:

Quote:
the problem with dash not able to see bash exported functions (export -f).


Put more simply, if you use dpkg-reconfigure dash and accept the system shell as dash, many of our bash/gtkdialog programs will no longer work, despite the bash scripts themselves having heading #!/bin/bash. gtkdialog always uses the system shell when function calls are made from it and system shell dash can't see bash exported functions.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12095
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 08:19    Post subject:  

So this change is to accommodate people who are using one of Fred's projects, but want to switch from bash to dash?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 857
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 09:45    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
So this change is to accommodate people who are using one of Fred's projects, but want to switch from bash to dash?


No, there is no change required by anyone. If I had managed to modify gtkdialog it would certainly have been easier to modify existing programs to also work if underlying system shell was dash (but main script still with #!/bin/bash as first line). However, that wouldn't have changed operation of existing scripts at all; I didn't manage to get my desired change to work anyway. The other thing Fred is talking about is workarounds that do work - in particular the programming pattern proposed by step in Programming Thread:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=993139#993139

As things stand, none of your peasy programs, for example, would work on a system that had /bin/sh as a link to dash (for example typical Debian system) despite your main script first line being #!/bin/bash. Same with most of my own bash/gtkdialog programs, which I would like to change since I would like my own programs to be more portable (so can use on Ubuntu and Debian systems without dpkg-reconfigure dash first).

None of this effects or would effect anyone who wished to keep bash as their system shell. Nor was I asking Fred to modify anything in the Dogs (that's up to him if he would like it to all work with dash, which would be a lot of effort).

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12095
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 10:09    Post subject:  

I understand the issue. I was involved in the discussion when it arose several years ago.

But gtkdialog is a mission-critical piece of software. Before people start tinkering with it, I would like to understand the rationale.

Quote:
I didn't manage to get my desired change to work anyway.

So patching the gtkdialog binary is now off the table?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 857
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2018, 11:59    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I understand the issue. I was involved in the discussion when it arose several years ago.

But gtkdialog is a mission-critical piece of software. Before people start tinkering with it, I would like to understand the rationale.

Quote:
I didn't manage to get my desired change to work anyway.

So patching the gtkdialog binary is now off the table?


I doubt if it was ever on the table for most people. I was just wanting a patched version for my own interest really and still do, if only to understand why gtkdialog doesn't accept bash -c "commandstring" (in <action> tags) as way of 'seeing' the export -f bash functions, when /bin/sh is dash, whereas YAD does use bash -c in that way for its --button commands, which seems a lot better to me. Of course, were an improvement possible to gtkdialog without upsetting the apple cart more generally that would surely be good. I remember BarryK didn't seem to trust Thunor's first attempts to mod gtkdialog, but that is all water under the bridge now.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 857
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2018, 06:10    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
So this change is to accommodate people who are using one of Fred's projects, but want to switch from bash to dash?
...
But gtkdialog is a mission-critical piece of software. Before people start tinkering with it, I would like to understand the rationale.


I have now forked the project with new project name, on my github site, in order to avoid any confusion since the mods I am making do significantly change core process handling within the program (albeit hopefully keeping the main programming functionality the same or better). I am in the process of organising that new repository but I will wait till I push/publish my new code there until I am satisfied, simply for my own specific programming purposes, with its operation and functionality.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2210
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 05:46    Post subject:  

It's ok now ... there must have been something wrong with my changes directory.

Tray icons need to be size 48x48 it seems....no auto-scaling!

How to change alsa mixer gui to show controls for card 1 instead of card 0 which is hdmi?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12095
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 06:01    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
How to change alsa mixer gui to show controls for card 1 instead of card 0 which is hdmi?

Get sound-card-selector from Fred's repo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2210
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 06:46    Post subject:  

Thanks!

What eventually worked was writing this to ~/.asoundrc
Code:
pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card 1
        device 0
}
ctl.!default {
        type hw
        card 1
        device 0
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2210
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 06:52    Post subject:    

sound-card-selector is very good, but I would not have found it otherwise ... may I suggest including it as default, as I just spent three hours getting sound up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12095
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 07:02    Post subject:  

You may also want to use sound-card-selector's "kernel modules" feature.

I have found that the HDMI and internal cards may randomly switch numbers at bootup.

[Edit] But I never figured out what to do if both cards use the same kernel module.

[Edit-Edit] Actually, the switching problem may occur when the machine has two different physical sound cards, not with HDMI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2210
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 07:23    Post subject:  

And now that I have sound working, alsamixer wont start. 'Invalid argument'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12095
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 07:46    Post subject:  

I just set up BionicDog on a machine with HDMI.

Using sound-card-selector, my .asoundrc becomes
Code:
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1

This appears to be equivalent to your setup.

When I run alsamixer, it works correctly.

[Edit] Your version should be
Code:
pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card 1
        device 0
}
ctl.!default {
        type hw
        card 1
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zaivala

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2018, 22:02    Post subject: BionicDog64 messed me over  

I saw your distro @sneekylinux on YouTube. I installed in a partition previously containing XenialPup64. The install completely overwrote my current GRUB (I have 3 other distros on separate partitions) & didn't even create a boot to Bionic. So I booted from the CD again, and BD64 won't find my Wi-Fi so, for now, I can't use my computer at all. Totally screwed. I'm not savvy enough to know how to restore my boot without reinstalling one of the other distros.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 336
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Tue 29 May 2018, 01:33    Post subject:  

hi stemsee,

do install retrovol or pulseaudio...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 24 [359 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1307s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0275s) ][ GZIP on ]