Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 09 Dec 2019, 01:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
tahrpup full install with grub2 previously installed
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
enigma9o7

Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 19:32    Post subject:  tahrpup full install with grub2 previously installed  

I'm in the middle of installing right now on an old P4 and can't decide if I should select yes or no.

I already have GRUB2 installed from previous Lubuntu install. I'm leaving lubuntu (and xp) on for now so created a new partition for tahrpup and hoped to be able to add it to grub2 menu.

Anyways the prompt I'm at is:
You now have the option to install a bootloader named grub4dos......will find all of your previous Widnows and Linnux installations and create a simple boot menu.... would you like to install Grub4dos?

So. When I did a lick install of xenialpup (the first puppy I tried) it added a second boot menu after grub. I don't want that. I just want one boot menu. I also used a grub configuration tool (under lubuntu) to slightly customize my grub2 menu (order, description, background, etc) so would kinda like to stick with it, unless there's a reason I can't get tahrpup on there too...

So does anyone know what will happen if I press yes, or what will happen if I press no? I'm not clicking anything until I know so will leave it at that prompt...

I'm guessing if I say yes it will just replace grub2, but at least have everything in one menu, but maybe not as nice as the grub2 menu. But maybe worse and give me two boot menus again.

If I select no, I dunno what it's going to do... I imagine it isn't magically able to add itself to grub2 menu, so maybe there's a way I can do it if I select no, just want to be sure that's safe too...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enigma9o7

Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 31 May 2018, 20:17    Post subject:  

Got impatient and selected no. Then a text file comes up with how to add it to grub yourself, however that only applies to old version, not grub2.

So I just booted lubuntu and ran the grub customizer and added it there, but puppy won't boot, missing some vmlinuz file... changing the path to /boot/vmlinuz gives :
error: no such device: <lotsa letters here, maybe hex>
error: unknown filesystem
error: you need to load the kernel first

argh seems I can't figure out how to boot this. I guess this is purely a grub2 configuration problem so I'll search about that elsewhere... but still monitoring here if someone happens to know.

edit: I wish I'd saved that text file that popped up, maybe something in it would have been applicable. I actually meant to. First I tried to print it but no printer drivers installed, and since I don't plan to keep using lunbuntu if I'm happy with tarpup I didn't bother even trying cuz it might send me on another 3-day rabbit hole, so I just saved it to /tmp. But then when I shutdown I didn't do whatever that save thing said, because I assumed since I'd just finishing installing that I had actually already really saved the file to my actual hard drive. But can't find it (although I can see the puppy partition from lub).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2018, 00:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
Anyways the prompt I'm at is:
You now have the option to install a bootloader named grub4dos......will find all of your previous Widnows and Linnux installations and create a simple boot menu.... would you like to install Grub4dos?

For Puppy installs, this is best to use for a boot loader.
Grub4dos boot loader is setup to run Puppies and the way Puppy installs.

Installing Grub4dos should only give you one boot menu.
It should have a menu entry to boot Windows.
May or may not have entry to directly boot a Linux OS.
Depends on what the other Linux OS is.
Some Linux OS use some strange entries in boot loaders.
So, Grub4dos may still just have a link to the other boot menu for that specific Linux OS.

When you run Grub4dos Boot loader config to install Grub4dos.
First screen choose where to install it.
If you are installing Puppy to a internal hard drive choose that.
Leave all other options unchecked.
press Ok.
press OK.
press OK.
done.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2018, 00:15    Post subject:  

It sounds like you used the Puppy Universal Installer to do the Puppy install.
That offered menu entry for grub would probably work in Grub2.


We could give you a menu entry for Grub2, but need some specific info.

What Puppy version?????
Installed as frugal or full install?
If frugal install, what is the name of the directory(folder) it is installed in?
Is there only one internal hard drive?
Puppy is installed on that drive?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
enigma9o7

Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2018, 01:15    Post subject:  

Thanks! I'll try anything. I couldn't understand this:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/grub2tut

Tahrpup 6.0.5 32-bit full install, only one drive, puppy is on sda6

several other partitions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12974
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jun 2018, 12:58    Post subject:  

I strongly suggest you install Tahrpup as a frugal install.

The word frugal is all about how little it takes over control of a partition. It is still the complete Tahrpup.

Some of the Puppy features only work in a frugal install.

Formatting the partition in a Linux format is best.
If you did a full install that is already done.

Frugal installs:

Can be put on any partition any format, any type storage device.

They load more of Puppy into RAM.

Easier to backup, because all changes, settings are in the save. The core Puppy files never change. Only what is in the save changes. All you have to do is copy the save to have a backup.
If Puppy really gets messed up. Just delete the save and replace it with the backup save.

You can easily load or unload SFS program packages.
This lets you use a program without actually installing it to Puppy. You will have to use this option to fully understand it.

All of Puppy is placed in a directory (folder).
You can have many Puppies on one partition.
All completely separate from the other.
All in different directories (Linux term for folder).

Full installs:
Must be installed to a Linux formatted partition.
Uses the entire partition.
Main advantage is it uses less memory to boot to desktop.
Does not use layered file system.
Works best for compiling.
Does not run into size limit that a save file has on a fat32 format.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0422s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]