Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Aug 2018, 17:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Basic components of Puppy O.S screen.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
Antipodal

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Location: The other side of the world

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 10:15    Post subject:  Basic components of Puppy O.S screen.
Subject description: An attempt to learn about them and to make this knowledge available to beginners.
 

I'm ashamed because though I began using Puppy distributions on March 2009 and spent 99% of my (approximately) 8 daily computing hours using them since Dec 2010 , there are many basic things I don't know about them

For example:
1) What is the appropriate name for the thin panel that can be seen in the lower part of the screen and that on the old M$ distributions was called "task bar"?

And (most of all)
2)What is the appropriate name for the part of it that is between the clipboard manager and the date and time component and that is highlighted in the attached image ?

Hovering the mouse cursor over it doesn't render a pop-up little window with its name as it does with its neighbors (the volume icon, internet icon, firewall icon , clipboard icon and date-and-time sector).

Please, share your knowledge and thank you for your patience.
6.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.22 KB
 Viewed   269 Time(s)

6.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2532
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 13:49    Post subject:  

Hi Antipodal,

I'll let you in on a little secret. Humans aren't all that innovative when it comes to naming anything. Hence, Main Street, Front Street, Broad Street, Elm Street, and so on.

You actually know the answer to your first question. You just don't know that you know it. You've referred to what under M$ is called a Taskbar as a Panel. Everyone will know what you mean if you use either term.

Running the JWM-Rox combination, it's generally referred to as a Taskbar because for a long time there was only one. As far as I know, under Xfce and Openbox it's usually referred to as a Panel, because xfce always enabled more than one (xfce) while openbox provided a choice of which you wanted (e.g. Lx or Tint2 or Fb, etc.) which choice often enabled you to have more than one. Since you appear to be using the "stock" Xenialpup, it employs JWM Window Manager and Rox File-manager. So, technically it is a Taskbar even though (thanks to Radky) it is now easy to have more than one panel.

The second item is some kind of resource monitor. I'm not sure if it's displaying CPU or RAM usage.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 16:01    Post subject:  

CPU.
_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nosystemdthanks

Joined: 03 May 2018
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 16:46    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
CPU.


now, now.

by the way, running "ps aux" from the term window/console will give you the name of every program running, which you can then google and find pictures of the graphical ones.

it might help if you include other terms like "puppy linux" as well.

not suggesting you should have known this or even that you should have to do it, just that it will work on practically any gnu/linux setup, and then you can get answers to this about other distros in addition to the ones you get here.

_________________
strengthen the public domain, use free culture/free sw licenses and cc0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1630
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 16:50    Post subject:  

I don't think many puppies have a "Tool-Tip" to indicate whats going on with that CPU meter. For example how is 100% indicated and what is the scale of the bars?

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nosystemdthanks

Joined: 03 May 2018
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 18:02    Post subject:  

i thought that part (of the reply) was a joke, hence my response, though having checked the op again i can tell that its a serious reply.

Quote:
how is 100% indicated and what is the scale of the bars?


those bars and similar graphs are usually cpu load, not percentage, which is useful in its own way but also sort of confusing. it will tell you when the cpu is working more, but it probably wont tell you how much in a way that is easy to explain. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/3748136/how-is-cpu-usage-calculated

_________________
strengthen the public domain, use free culture/free sw licenses and cc0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 21:57    Post subject:  

Hi, Antipodal.

Part 1 has had multiple variations on the correct answer.

The correct answer to your second question is this:-

The little 'graph' is called 'XLoad'. What it shows, apparently, is not CPU usage (well, not in the normal sense of the word). It shows the number of threads currently being executed.

The thread that explains this has been in the 'stickies' at the top of the 'Users (For the Regulars)' forum ever since I joined back in June 2014.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28483

Read that, and you'll know as much about it as any of us..! Laughing

--------------------------------------------

A wee bit of research has revealed that you can set xload to show a small, floating window that is a good bit bigger than the tiny little thing in the 'systray' area. Normally, xload updates something in the order of once every 10 or 15 seconds by default. You can set it to update at a more reasonable once every second, by entering the following in the terminal:-

Code:
xload -nolabel -update 1 &


It's still only showing the number of processes/threads, but it's a darned sight easier to see!

I've knocked together a wee MenuEntry .pet.....so you can start it from Menu->System(if you wish). I've attached it below.


Mike. Wink
XLoad-MenuEntry.pet
Description  Menu entry for 'xload'
pet

 Download 
Filename  XLoad-MenuEntry.pet 
Filesize  9.83 KB 
Downloaded  23 Time(s) 

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2018, 00:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
Read that, and you'll know as much about it as any of us..!

Just to mention: in PWidgets there is a widget called CPU Graph and a widget called CPU Bar. Their representation-graphics runs simultaneously to what is called xload in that topic.

Are we running peacock counting here?

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1579
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2018, 00:40    Post subject: Re: Basic components of Puppy O.S screen.
Subject description: An attempt to learn about them and to make this knowledge available to beginners.
 

Antipodal wrote:
For example:
1) What is the appropriate name for the thin panel that can be seen in the lower part of the screen and that on the old M$ distributions was called "task bar"?
JWM calls it Tray.
Within the Tray you may have a TaskList, representing each open window (in your screenshot there is none)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mfb

Joined: 22 Mar 2016
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2018, 07:15    Post subject:  

Xload - as the horizontal scale lines appear the load increases - my experience is that there has always been an irretrievable lock-up when 5 or more lines have appeared.

I have often seen 4 horizontal lines when remastering in RAM and almost always survived without failure and reboot.

During a period of minimal activity - to reduce the load, sometimes even clearing the display completely, try clicking your red Shutdown icon then choose "Restart WM".

On reading this thread I have decided (as per the input and output pictures below) to make my display yellow (for both background and foreground) with dark red (#6B0000) for the horizontal lines - because the graph is never of any interest to me - but the number of lines shown (from 3 and upwards) is, I have found, of considerable interest and importance.

PS MochiMoppel has been a star help to me - so I'm very pleased to thank him publically for his "SpeedDials" and his "ShutAll" (as shown in my "/root/.jwmrc-tray" input picture) and to recommend them without any reservation (though MochiMoppel can advise if there are any necessary dependencies).
input.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.66 KB
 Viewed   152 Time(s)

input.jpg

output.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   3.35 KB
 Viewed   153 Time(s)

output.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Antipodal

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Location: The other side of the world

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2018, 13:35    Post subject:  Basic components of Puppy O.S's screen.
Subject description: Thanks to you all !!
 

Surprised I never expected such highly enlightening replies. !! Very Happy
A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2018, 19:21    Post subject:  

@ mfb:-

mfb wrote:
Xload - as the horizontal scale lines appear the load increases - my experience is that there has always been an irretrievable lock-up when 5 or more lines have appeared.


Hm. Can't say as that's been my personal experience (often had 8 or more lines showing, especially if/when performing intensive video transcoding, for instance).....but I would guess this must be one of those 'relative' things; very much dependent on the hardware involved (CPU, amount of RAM, whether 'frugal' or 'full', etc.).

That's not to say that I don't believe you, mind..!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1630
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jul 2018, 19:29    Post subject:  

On certain start-ups (especially the first-run) I get 6 or 7 bars, no harm or foul using Atom n270 CPU/2Gb mem. HTOP is a more-or-less written indicator of the environment. Just open the terminal and type htop.

Thanks for the answers... wasn't quite sure 'what' I was seeing in that little box. But I knew that when things got busy, more bars appear.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 08:53    Post subject:  

Here's my 'xload', as it now appears in Tahr 606 (uefi):-





I use the Dark-Grey theme. Tahr's xload, as standard, is set to grey background, black foreground, and black lines.....and 10 second 'update'.

So; this has been modified to black background, bright green foreground, and I've left the black lines as they were. (I tried white lines, but they sort of get 'lost' in the green of the graph...)

Using the GColor2 color chooser utility to obtain the colour codes (Menu->Graphics), the relevant bit of /root/.jwmrc-tray now looks like this:-

Code:
<Swallow name="xload" width="32">xload -nolabel -bg "#0C0505" -fg "#07FE18" -hl "#0C0505" -update 1 &</Swallow>


And the 10-second 'update' interval has been reduced to 1 second, instead.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1494s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0265s) ][ GZIP on ]