Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 24 Feb 2018, 21:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
How to dual-boot Legacy Puppy and Windows XP? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 02:46    Post subject:  How to dual-boot Legacy Puppy and Windows XP? (Solved)  

john biles:
I m using Linux Puppy from last couple of months, used your teen pup mini, loved it wat a gr8 work u have DONE Congr8s Dear. Now want to use Lagacy OS2 (aka Teen Pup).

A problem which is I m facing now is that I downloaded Lagacy OS 2 (My Pc Spec. is Pentium-III 1Ghz, 512 MB RAM, 20 HDD), I have Windows XP on C Drive thn I boot Lagacy OS2 with live CD, ran GPARTED and make a EXT2 Partition round about 3 GB (sda5) and also make a SWAP Partition of 500 MB. Everything goes right but have 02 main issues:

1. How to install GRUB to boot Lagacy OS 2 as my boot partition (C drive) is FAT32, not ext2 as I mentioned earlier that I have XP installed. Is there is any to to install GRUB on FAT32 so I have dual OS option i.e. Windows XP with Lagacy OS 2 (Personally dont like windows but my 8 years relatives wants to play games Smile ).

2. Second issue is my SWAP partition always shows 0 MB usage, I have couple of puplets installed using FRUGAL method i.e. Lucid 525, Macpup and Teenpup mini beta (Note: SWAP Partition works fine with Teen pup mini).
Looking for positive and earlier response.

Regards
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 07:51    Post subject:  

umair,
Can you refrain from using abbreviations which aren't understood by other non-English posters.

Are you speaking about OS 2 from IBM?
If not be more precise.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1651
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 08:04    Post subject:  

Beem, "Legacy OS 2" is what John is calling Teenpup now.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68397

It's based on 2.14 or 2.17
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 08:09    Post subject:  

runtt21,
Thanks for the update.
I wonder why people chooses names which can lead to confusion.
Legacy OS2 isn't really meaning-full.
Could also be some version of Mac OS.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 09:16    Post subject:  

Hi Beem,
I m talking about Linux Puppy, Teen Pup also know is Lagacy OS which is based on Linux Puppy 4.2.1 (I think but Not sure about that).

Any idea of my previous post runtt21?


Regards
Umair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12772
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 10:22    Post subject:  

Umair, regarding your question about Puppy not using swap memory: with 512 MB of RAM in your computer, Puppy would almost never need to use swap memory unless you started downloading large videos or working with lots of very large files.

Sorry I can't help you with Grub configuration. I've never installed Puppy on a hard disk drive. If I want to run Puppy in a computer that has Windows installed, I boot from a CD or multisession DVD. I find that much simpler than trying to figure out how to get Windows to play nice with Puppy. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4315
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 10:44    Post subject:  

1. My 1st thought was why not just boot it from an optical disk, and make a pupsave+SFS filepair in a suitably named folder in a [dedicated?] partition [ext3?] on an internal HDD?

2. That's how I run all my puppies. [See the screenshot below]

3. Doing things in the above manner avoids un-necessary complications. [KISS]
(a) You don't mess with the Windows boot arrangements [MBR], so no risk of problems being introduced.

(b) People often have problems setting up GRUB.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.68 KB
 Viewed   1696 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 10:47    Post subject:  

Flash:
Thanks for the info, as far as GRUB issue, I m sure thr will be some trick, anyhow I m searching for that if i found that trick, will post or if any ones found thn please post for new Linux users (like me Wink).

Once again thnx for all Puppy expert users for cooperation.

Umair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 218

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 12:21    Post subject:  

Very simple.

There's a menu choice for installing GRUB.

Choose the MBR option. It will install grub to the MBR and set up a boot menu for all the OS it finds.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1651
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 13:22    Post subject:  

You might also look into grub4dos. It is very good at setting up with different operating system and can boot both windows and linux. Most newer pups have it. It's easy I use it on usb drives.

As far as your swap goes Flash is right about puppy using it. Remember that legacy is much ,much bigger than other pups that is why it uses it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 14:18    Post subject:  

Hi Roger Hunter:
I did the same as u mentioned, but it fails with the msg that "hdc1 is not an ext2 partition" Sad any idea??

Hi runtt21:
I never heard about GRUB4DOS, will give it a try then will post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 218

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 16:29    Post subject:  

That's very strange.

I've done that a hundred times and never encountered that message.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 17:55    Post subject:  

I avoid all issues with MBR and use the Lin'N'Win method.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul 2011, 04:40    Post subject:  

Roger Hunter

Ok, I will try once again to install GRUB on FAT32 File. Also download Teen Pup Lagacy OS 2009, will do the similar taks on both LAgacy os 1 and 2 Wink


Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 218

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul 2011, 10:16    Post subject:  

I see the problem.

When I'm installing a dual boot system I have a Linux partition and a Windows partition.

The grub files go in the Linux partition and the boot section goes to the MBR of the disk.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0637s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0226s) ][ GZIP on ]