Page 6 of 118

check media fixed

Posted: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 10:58
by gray
zigbert,

The change to readlink works a treat. :D

Posted: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 12:15
by zigbert
Version 0.9.3 is uploaded. See main post.

At this moment, my todo-list for stable version 1.0.0 is empty. If you know about issues that should have been worked through, PLEASE scream load.

Sigmund

Posted: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 12:23
by MU
Hi Sigmund,
I always must laugh, if I see the size: 24 kb :P
I just want to express you my congratulations for this great program.
It meanwhile is the main burning application in Muppy.
It is so great to see, how very easy to use programs with a lot of functionality can be written in a very efficient way using Puppys tools.

This is so great :)
Keep up your good work :)

Best wishes, Mark

Posted: Wed 23 Jan 2008, 12:48
by zigbert
I always must laugh, if I see the size: 24 kb :P
Lets choir :P :P

Posted: Sat 09 Feb 2008, 14:00
by mikeb
Hi there

found a tiny bug in the add playlist function -add_list

IMPORT_LIST="$CHOOSER"
needs to be
IMPORT_LIST="$DIR$CHOOSER"

regards

Mike

Posted: Sat 09 Feb 2008, 16:30
by zigbert
Thanks for your bugfix.
Will be added for upcoming version 1.0.0.

Sigmund

Pburn - window size

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 03:34
by Tui
Hi Sigmund, What a great little prog and lots of functions! - Thanks!

My problem is how do I reduce the height of the opening window? I am using the
800x600 res and the opening height is outside the main (viewable inc taskbar) window, I can't pull the window up to action the functions along the bottom.
The bottom would be seen if the taskbar was not there. -It fits within the total screen, but
hidden. I think maybe the opening window was developed on a screen res set at 1024x768.
It would be nice if the opening window could scale according to the window res settings. What do you think?

Help please,
Cheers Tui

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 03:41
by MU
workaround:
In JWM:
right-click the entry in the taskbar. That opens a menu to move the window.

In Icewm, right-click a border and drag it to move.
Or hold down the ALT-key, then drag the window with the mouse.
Mark

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 03:54
by mikeb
workaround 2...

open /usr/local/pburn/pburn in geany,
look for this around line 340 and alter the height/width to suit

<height>300</height><width>200</width>

mike

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 07:41
by zigbert
It has always been the meaning to support 800x600, so I'll reduce the default height with 20 pixels. The width is harder to control, as it depends on what language you use, but english shouldn't be any trouble.

BUT. How could I easily pick the screen-height. Is xorg.conf the only place when running Xorg? what about xvesa? Does Puppy store information about screen resolution (in a smart file - a smart place)?

Sigmund

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 07:54
by MU
On systems with Puppybasic (currently not in Dingo) you can do:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

width=`puppybasic -e 'a=xwin_screensize():print a[0]; '`
height=`puppybasic -e 'a=xwin_screensize():print a[1]; '`

echo $width
echo $height
Mark

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 08:20
by MU
I attach a program, the binary is just 3.3 kb.
You can include it with your program.
It depends only on xlib, so should run almost on every system.
C source and makefile is included, too, but usually not needed.

Run it like this:

Code: Select all

# ./xscreensize 
1680 1050
or as script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
 x=`./xscreensize|sed "s/ .*//"`
echo $x
y=`./xscreensize|sed "s/.* //"`
echo $y

Mark

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 10:42
by zigbert
Thank you Mark.

Sigmund

Re: Pburn 0.9.3

Posted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 13:55
by ttuuxxx
Hi Zigbert

What you've done with Pburn has been truely excellent, I've been using and also including in all my latest releases :)
I came across this other application called, ProZilla and Prozilla Gui, one is the program via command line and of course the other one is a Gui, you can see the website here http://prozilla.genesys.ro/
Its basically a multi-thread downloader, Which really does work! I have done test on downloading linux 700mb iso images, the regular single thread is around 80/kb sec and with Prozilla I've managed to have 1600/kb sec average.When I look around about whats
going on with puppy and who's doing what, I see that you are the man who can GUI, you do such excellent work, And when I use proZilla Gui, the Gui is lacking, basically you have too -
1st Copy the url
2nd click prozilla icon
3rd click file
4th click new url
5th press "shift+V" to paste the url
6th hit enter
and thats just to download a file, then you have to delete the used url,
open the folder etc

Most mutilthread download managers in windows, automatically take over/replace the browsers main downloader or you have a option of having it monitoring the clipboard.
or a right click menu thing where it would say "download with download-manager"
Since prozilla is the only multi-thread downloader for linux, (well thats what I read) the GUI is very primitive and not really user friendly, what I propose is that maybe you could have a look at it and maybe see if you do better, I know you probably could, You could even call the new GUI "PuPzilla" Thats if you have time and want to try a new project. I just look at it and it screams your name. lol you can download it for puppy here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 116&t=5886
or if you want to try it on a puppy i included it in my "Living Water 2.17"
which you can gete here and read about it: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 090#173090
if anything thanks for your time, and keep up the most excellent work.
ttuuxxx

Posted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 15:05
by zigbert
ttuuxxx
It is nice to hear that you like my guis. I do my best.
If Prozilla is as good as you tell it is, we should have a working gui for it. Now and then, I get answers like yours to make apps/scripts/guis. Most of them I never do.... :? It doesn't mean that I don't like the idea, but my priority is different and/or my todo-list is too long. This combined with the normal time-issue makes many good ideas unreachable. Right now I'm working trough the guis already in Puppy to make them better and more streamline. So truely...If I shall write Pdownload, It won't be the first weeks.

Sigmund

Posted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 15:27
by ttuuxxx
zigbert wrote:ttuuxxx
It is nice to hear that you like my guis. I do my best.
If Prozilla is as good as you tell it is, we should have a working gui for it. Now and then, I get answers like yours to make apps/scripts/guis. Most of them I never do.... :? It doesn't mean that I don't like the idea, but my priority is different and/or my todo-list is too long. This combined with the normal time-issue makes many good ideas unreachable. Right now I'm working trough the guis already in Puppy to make them better and more streamline. So truely...If I shall write Pdownload, It won't be the first weeks.

Sigmund
Hi Sigmund

Thats totally understandable, I was just looking for new applications for the next puppy CE edition that tronkel and I are jointly heading up. And the final release won't be out for a few months so thats also cool. Well if you can do it thats would be great and if not, thats would be ok also. The default gui is usable but just not user friendly:) Thanks for your time.
ttuuxxx

Posted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 19:57
by jcoder24
Just thought I'd mention that I burnt two CDs which were showing about 55% - 66% completed although the burn had already been completed.

Posted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 20:24
by mikeb
Just thought I'd mention that I burnt two CDs which were showing about 55% - 66% completed although the burn had already been completed.
I found the log dialog slow to update on an older machine with the last version but burn was still ok.

mike

Posted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 21:35
by zigbert
Pburn uses the log-viewer in Xdialog. There has been some issues, and Mark (MU) has made an alternative log-viewer. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=167280
This one is already in Puppy 4.00, and it is easy to get Pburn use this. I am just strict to the thought of less dependencies. All my guis uses at this moment ONLY gtkdialog and Xdialog. But in the end we need useful tools, So I'll think about it. By the way, What hardware did you get trouble on jcoder24?

Posted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 21:38
by zigbert
Wouldn't it be possible to write a logviewer in gtkdialog? Just a loop refreshing <edit> every second. I think it would. Let's take a look.