Page 6 of 7

Posted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 23:22
by edoc
Having lived in lightning & tornado alley in Florida for 10 years we were cautious about choosing a location in Georgia.

I researched the historic weather patterns and discovered that SE-Georgia tends to be pretty quiet.

There is a tornado watch until 1AM which includes Bulloch County but those are usually precautionary vs probable ... and besides, we are even in the SE-corner of the County!

Posted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 23:39
by GustavoYz
edoc wrote:Good points re. space (HDD space is no problem), and linking.

As for linking, would you use Link Relative from /opt to the actual location?

Which files in xampp would need to be so linked?

Thanks!
I'd extract it to /mnt/home, or somewhere outside pupfile, and link it "soft way" with this:

Code: Select all

ln -s /mnt/home/lampp /opt/
I think it was a pet package made like two years ago for just this part.

Posted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 01:59
by edoc
OK ... up to the link point ...

So it's LAMPP and not XAMPP that is linked?

Posted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 15:31
by GustavoYz
edoc wrote:OK ... up to the link point ...

So it's LAMPP and not XAMPP that is linked?
I mean the main folder. Once you extract the big file, all goes to a new directory called 'lampp': L is for "Linux" (A = Apache, M = MySQL, P = php and Perl). Do not extract it into a NTFS or FAT* partition, MySQL will fail!
Thats the one you want on /opt. See here, some info about paths.

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 02:30
by edoc
OK ...

Code: Select all

/opt/lampp/lampp start
works.

It says, among other things
"XAMPP: Starting MySql"
But when I try to run

Code: Select all

"mysql - u root -p"
it says
"mysql: command not found"
What am I missing, please? :roll:

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 04:17
by e_mattis
hey edoc,

XAMPP has MySqlAdmin pre-installed. :D try going to 'http://localhost'. There you can read more about xampp and access MySqlAdmin.

One thing you have to do before you can access MySqlAdmin (read in the localhost page) is to run '/opt/lampp/lampp security'. This sets passwords for the server, etc. Once this is done, you can get to admin and the databases.

Hope it helps! :)

E

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 04:41
by edoc
e_mattis wrote:run '/opt/lampp/lampp security'. This sets passwords for the server, etc. Once this is done, you can get to admin and the databases.
Done, thanks!
XAMPP has MySqlAdmin pre-installed. :D try going to 'http://localhost'. There you can read more about xampp and access MySqlAdmin. E
I am in there now. Looks good EXCEPT ...

STATUS says MySQL is DEACTIVATED

Code: Select all

/opt/lampp/lampp start
says it is "already running"

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 04:57
by edoc
This is apparently not an entirely unique problem.

I found this discussion - though it is written for a Microsoft version of windows version:
http://trebleclick.blogspot.com/2009/0 ... d-fix.html

Between the original post and the following posts I'm not sure where to start ...

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 05:13
by e_mattis
Edoc,

I didn't have that problem on the Lucid 5.2.8 - what puppy did you say you are running?

Anyway, I would stop lampp (/opt/lampp/lampp stop). Reboot the system, then run '/opt/lampp/lampp security', then restart lampp.

:!: NOTE - found this out the hard way - make sure you stop lampp before you turn off or re-boot the computer. does nasty things along the way and you will loose the MySql eventually. :!:

if this fails, uninstall xampp, reboot, re-install xampp, do security before starting xamp, and see what that does.

let me know how it turns out. Maybe someone else can do you better if this doesn't fix it.

E

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 15:18
by edoc
Exprimo version 5x15

I stopped lampp.

I rebooted.

I ran security (left passwords as I had previously changed them)

I restarted lampp.

Note: Among other messages XAMPP says it was starting MySQL.

Code: Select all

mysql -u root -p
still returns
"command not found"
error.

XAMPP for Linux still shows MySQL Database DEACTIVATED

I have to run a couple of errands - will uninstall and reinstall a bit later.

Little is ever simple ... sigh.

Thanks!

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 17:19
by GustavoYz
Off course: Neither of the things Xampp installs and run are in the system path. You shuold cd where mysql binary is in your xampp version, and ./mysql.
If just trying to do some security measures, use the security assistant first:

Code: Select all

/opt/lampp/lampp security
and it will prompt you about passwords for the services involved.

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 18:18
by edoc
in what subdirectory is the mysql binary likely to be, please?

/lampp/lib/

lampp//share/

Thanks!

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 21:22
by GustavoYz
If your installation is under /opt or symlinked there, once lampp is up and running, this will make it:

Code: Select all

cd /opt/lampp/bin && ./mysql -u root -p
then enter your password, and you're there.
Yes, it cames with phpmyadmin; once is running, point your browser at:

Code: Select all

http://localhost/phpmyadmin/

Posted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 22:23
by edoc
What am I doing wrong, please?
# cd /mnt/home/savestuff/lampp
# ls
bin error htdocs lampp libexec logs phpmyadmin sbin tmp
cgi-bin etc icons lib licenses modules RELEASENOTES share var
# ln -s /mnt/home/savestuff/lampp /opt/
# /opt/lampp/lampp start
Starting XAMPP for Linux 1.7.3a...
XAMPP: Starting Apache with SSL (and PHP5)...
XAMPP: Starting MySQL...
XAMPP: Starting ProFTPD...
XAMPP for Linux started.
# /opt/lampp/lampp security
XAMPP: Quick security check...
XAMPP: Your XAMPP pages are secured by a password.
XAMPP: Do you want to change the password anyway? [no]
XAMPP: MySQL has a root passwort set. Fine! :)
XAMPP: ProFTPD has a new FTP password. Great!
XAMPP: Do you want to change the password anyway? [no]
XAMPP: Done.
# cd /opt/lampp/bin && mysql -u root -p
sh: mysql: command not found
#

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 01:18
by GustavoYz
You're missing this './':

Code: Select all

./mysql -u root -p

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 03:31
by edoc
Awww, common, really? I missed that? :oops: Can't be all that important, can it? :roll:

Oh, wait, HEY! Lookee at that! When I do it right it works! :lol:

Thanks!

Let's see what I can break next. 8)

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 04:03
by edoc
Odd thing ...

I just entered some CREATE USER strings and then tried to "quit" and it won't quit and return me to the # prompt.

Why would that happen, please?

Thanks!

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 04:05
by e_mattis
@edoc

:D :shock: :D LOL.....reminds me of the Fortran days lol

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 04:33
by edoc
Noooooo! NOT FORTRAN!

When I was in college I wanted to change majors to computer science.

No one warned me that FORTRAN was a math-heavy language - a poor place for a math-challenged student to begin.

Had to drop that course!

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 21:22
by edoc
edoc wrote:Odd thing ...

I just entered some CREATE USER strings and then tried to "quit" and it won't quit and return me to the # prompt.

Why would that happen, please?

Thanks!
I tried "quit", "quit;", "QUIT", "QUIT;", "\h", "help;", and all were ignored.

Ctrl-C got me an "exit!" then
"Aborted" then
#

Does that mean the CREATE USER work I did in MySQL was lost?

Any idea why "quit" fails, please?

This is the latest in several undocumented roadblocks ...