Quirky April 7.0 - 7.0.3, 7.0.4, 7.0.4.1

Please post any bugs you have found
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#136 Post by BarryK »

Jasper wrote:Hi guys,

The GetFlash address might have changed or this comment might be rubbish. With Precise 5.6, when GetFlash failed, I installed a later pet version from 666philb and that fixed it for me.

My regards
Yes, Adobe have moved the goal posts. They must have done that recently, coz I also used GetFlash OK in April 7.0.

I got some code out of /usr/sbin/getflash:

# CHECKURL='http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/downlo ... andalone=1'
# curl -s "$CHECKURL" | grep -o 'http://fpdownload.*inux.x86_64.tar.gz'

...fails.

The GetFlash PET I am using was modified by 01micko to work for both 32-bit and 64-bit x86.
So, the 32-bit-only GetFlash PETs are not suitable.

I wonder if FatDog64 has hit this problem?
...um, looking at ibiblio.org, fatDog64 700 doesn't seem to use GetFlash.

So, it might be a matter of creating a new PET.

Has anyone got a PET that does work?
if it is only 32-bit x86, I can merge 01micko's 64-bit changes into that.

Or, does anyone know the new URL, so I can put that into the PET?
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Quirky April 7.0.1 final

#137 Post by Billtoo »

When I go to http://www.adobe.com/ca/ and then click on Flash Player it
goes here https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/?no_redirect and I
then select the version to download.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#138 Post by BarryK »

BarryK wrote:
Jasper wrote:Hi guys,

The GetFlash address might have changed or this comment might be rubbish. With Precise 5.6, when GetFlash failed, I installed a later pet version from 666philb and that fixed it for me.

My regards
Yes, Adobe have moved the goal posts. They must have done that recently, coz I also used GetFlash OK in April 7.0.

I got some code out of /usr/sbin/getflash:

# CHECKURL='http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/downlo ... andalone=1'
# curl -s "$CHECKURL" | grep -o 'http://fpdownload.*inux.x86_64.tar.gz'

...fails.

The GetFlash PET I am using was modified by 01micko to work for both 32-bit and 64-bit x86.
So, the 32-bit-only GetFlash PETs are not suitable.

I wonder if FatDog64 has hit this problem?
...um, looking at ibiblio.org, fatDog64 700 doesn't seem to use GetFlash.

So, it might be a matter of creating a new PET.

Has anyone got a PET that does work?
if it is only 32-bit x86, I can merge 01micko's 64-bit changes into that.

Or, does anyone know the new URL, so I can put that into the PET?
Got it:

Code: Select all

# CHECKURL='https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/download/?installer=Flash_Player_11.2_for_other_Linux_(.tar.gz)_64-bit&standalone=1'
# curl -s "$CHECKURL" | grep -o 'https://fpdownload.*inux.x86_64.tar.gz'
https://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.2.202.442/install_flash_player_11_linux.x86_64.tar.gz
# 
I can fix the PET, however, there is a problem:

Code: Select all

# wget https://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.2.202.442/install_flash_player_11_linux.x86_64.tar.gz
--2015-03-05 20:38:35--  https://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/pdc/11.2.202.442/install_flash_player_11_linux.x86_64.tar.gz
Resolving fpdownload.macromedia.com (fpdownload.macromedia.com)... 23.63.56.131
Connecting to fpdownload.macromedia.com (fpdownload.macromedia.com)|23.63.56.131|:443... connected.
ERROR: cannot verify fpdownload.macromedia.com's certificate, issued by ‘/C=US/O=Symantec Corporation/OU=Symantec Trust Network/CN=Symantec Class 3 Secure Server CA - G4’:
  Unable to locally verify the issuer's authority.
To connect to fpdownload.macromedia.com insecurely, use `--no-check-certificate'.
...ok, have fixed it, will post updated getflash soon.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#139 Post by BarryK »

OK, here is the fixed getflash.

Download, gunzip it, change file attributes to executable, and place at /usr/sbin

Works for me.

The player is downloaded from Adobe site, and registers with the PPM -- I had to fix that too.
Attachments
getflash.gz
(4.79 KiB) Downloaded 647 times
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: Quirky April 7.0.1 final

#140 Post by L18L »

BarryK wrote:
L18L wrote:Upgraded my copy of Quirky7 April64 on partition of usb stick from 7.0

A picture says more then 100...
Just because my pic is not in English language some words are needed.

Upgrade

Step 1 : click install button at desktop

Step 2 : click OK at automatically opened window

Continue as usual: click OK if asked

Note, because using a boot manager the title had to be changed manually from
title Quirky 7.0 (full install on sdc6)
to
title Quirky 7.0.1 (full install on sdc6)
as it have seen it be used somewhere....

Hope that helps some new bees...
From the photo you posted, I see a bug.

The size of the Service Pack is shown as "0K".

When I did it, I got the correct size.

I am running LANG=en_US.UTF-8

The relevant script is /usr/local/petget/service_pack.sh

I pulled some lines out of it:

Code: Select all

# export LANG="de_DE.UTF-8"
# 
# . /etc/DISTRO_SPECS
# . /root/.packages/DISTRO_PET_REPOS
# DBFILE="Packages\-pet\-${DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME}\-"
# URLSPEC0="$(echo "$PKG_DOCS_PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep "$DBFILE" | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d '|' | rev | cut -f 2-9 -d '/' | rev)"
# wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider -S --recursive --no-parent --no-directories -A 'service_pack*.pet' "$URLSPEC" > /tmp/petget/service_pack_probe 2>&1
# PTN1=" ${URLSPEC}service_pack.*\.pet$"
# FNDPETURLS="$(grep -o "$PTN1" /tmp/petget/service_pack_probe | grep -v '\*' | tr '\n' ' ')"
# PARAS="$(cat /tmp/petget/service_pack_probe | sed -e 's%^$%BLANKLINE%' | tr '\n' ' ' | tr -s ' ' | sed -e 's%BLANKLINE%\n%g')"
# LENB=`echo "$PARAS" | grep -o ' Length: [0-9]* ' | cut -f 3 -d ' '`
# echo "$LENB"
39
1127918
...in other words, it has extracted the length ok, that is "1127918"

So, why is it not working for you?
[/code]
And I did not care about and even not notice that
The size of the Service Pack is shown as "0K".
Thus you see more bugs than I do.

Running the code you sent me, no result, looking closer now:
/tmp/petget/service_pack_probe wrote:Länge: 1127918 (1,1M) [application/octet-stream]

Code: Select all

# grep 1127918 /tmp/petget/service_pack_probe 
  Content-Length: 1127918
Länge: 1127918 (1,1M) [application/octet-stream]
# 
Mightbe

Code: Select all

# grep Content-Length /tmp/petget/service_pack_probe | cut -d':' -f2 | sort | head -n 1
 1127918
#
is better?

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Serbian

#141 Post by L18L »

Serbian does not work in 64 bit. EDIT upgraded

( We had tested before in Precise only )

Code: Select all

zcat srp.gz

EDIT
Does work in installation.
Toggle between de and srp:

[code]
# setxkbmap de
# setxkbmap -option grp:alt_shift_toggle de,srp
# #qwertzuiopü+
# љњертзуиопшпqwertzљњертз[/code]
[/color]
Last edited by L18L on Thu 05 Mar 2015, 16:26, edited 2 times in total.

Jasper

#142 Post by Jasper »

Hi BarryK,

Background:

Quirky unicorn 6.2.1 runs here from an 8 GB flash stick (with an estimated 15 MB/sec read and 6 MB/sec write booting via “plop

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Quirky April 7.0.1 final

#143 Post by Billtoo »

Test driving radky's FbBox-2.0 in Quirky April64-7.0 :)
Attachments
image-1.jpg
(24.09 KiB) Downloaded 1256 times

gcmartin

#144 Post by gcmartin »

Erase and created an 8GB USB using recommended path from your Install webpage.

Code: Select all

xz ...| dd of=...
All seems well. I tested by booting, Firstrun with hostname change, running this system as wired ethernet only.

Next, Plugged in 2nd USB stick that was preformatted as an April and clicked "mount icon" after the desktop was updated with 2nd USB as /dev/sdc1 &2. The mount GUI appears after the loading message.

I did not/Have not hit the USB issue on my 32bit laptop.

I will try the 64bit desktops and report back to this posts.

Edit: Update...My USB problem appears to be related to what happens when you have 2 USBs that have the same PARTUUID. Reason this was NOT noticed before is that in April, the "blkid" does not show this info. It was discovered when plugging the USBs into FATDOG and looking at the output of its "blkid" command which shows the problem.

Hope this is helpful
Last edited by gcmartin on Sat 07 Mar 2015, 03:07, edited 1 time in total.

bobtron
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 20:42
Location: Illinois-_land--USA--

conky anyone?

#145 Post by bobtron »

Greetings from Illinois land! I just upgraded QA to 7.0.1 looking good so far..no bugs to report.
I've noticed some guys posting screen shots have Conky running..can you provide a link or know where i can get a .PET package to install?
tnx in advance!

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#146 Post by BarryK »

For the 64-bit Quirky, I have created an Adobe Flash Player PET:

http://bkhome.org/news/?viewDetailed=00176
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#147 Post by don570 »

Barry wrote:I can start accepting user-contributed PETs.

One thing though, the pet.specs file must specify any dependencies that have been compiled for it, and they of course need to be provided as PETs.

I think that you mentioned needing python 2.7?
That is a bit awkward, maybe name the PET as "python7-<version>.pet", to distinguish it from the one already in April.

if the python7 PET can install without conflicting with the existing python, that would be good.
Gimp doesn't need python to run. In fact I don't even think that the
gmic plugins need python. That is why I kept the packages separate.

I found that the native mypaint format (ORA) needs a full version of python.
A version of python that can execute a few commands doesn't work :cry:

The gmic plugins DO need my version of fftw (fast fourier transform)
otherwise the gmic plugins won't load when gimp is launched.

______________________________________________________

bobtron
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 20:42
Location: Illinois-_land--USA--

flash player

#148 Post by bobtron »

I just installed flash player PET..clicked menu/Internet/get flash player and got error msg "unable to connect to server.."
bu ti am still connected to this forum..hmmm? should i un-install and re-try?

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#149 Post by bigpup »

BarryK wrote:OK, here is the fixed getflash.

Download, gunzip it, change file attributes to executable, and place at /usr/sbin

Works for me.

The player is downloaded from Adobe site, and registers with the PPM -- I had to fix that too.
Does this fix also need to be posted in the Getflash topic of the forum?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=74491
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#150 Post by James C »

BarryK wrote:OK, here is the fixed getflash.

Download, gunzip it, change file attributes to executable, and place at /usr/sbin

Works for me.
Works for me too. :)

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

Re: flash player

#151 Post by James C »

bobtron wrote:I just installed flash player PET..clicked menu/Internet/get flash player and got error msg "unable to connect to server.."
bu ti am still connected to this forum..hmmm? should i un-install and re-try?
The Flash player pet just installs the latest 11.2.202.442 version of flash....it doesn't affect the "getflash" script.

Download the getflash.gz file from the above post http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 149#832149 and follow the directions.

Just did that here and getflash is working correctly.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

Re: conky anyone?

#152 Post by James C »

bobtron wrote:Greetings from Illinois land! I just upgraded QA to 7.0.1 looking good so far..no bugs to report.
I've noticed some guys posting screen shots have Conky running..can you provide a link or know where i can get a .PET package to install?
tnx in advance!
I cheated and use a Fatdog64 Conky from here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 583#800583

User avatar
ETP
Posts: 1193
Joined: Tue 19 Oct 2010, 19:55
Location: UK

Quirky April 7.0.1 final

#153 Post by ETP »

More Testing - Quirky April 7.0.1 final

Since my initial report at the top of page 9, it has proven to be rock solid and the quickest Pup to date. It is a great 64 bit base and a remaster was too much of a temptation.
The progress to date is shown below. The image in tar.gz form is copied to an empty 10G f2fs partition (sda8 in the shots) and is simply extracted in situ.
Boot is from a 4 Meg hybrid ISO that contains the kernel. The ISO can be written to any old USB stick/SD card > 4Meg or CDR if preferred.

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/ ... slide=id.p

Thanks Barry for a great release.
Regards ETP
[url=http://tinyurl.com/pxzq8o9][img]https://s17.postimg.cc/tl19y14y7/You_Tube_signature80px.png[/img][/url]
[url=http://tinyurl.com/kennels2/]Kennels[/url]

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Quirky April 7.0.1 final

#154 Post by Billtoo »

I tried 01micko's get_libreoffice-0.29.pet and it downloaded and
created LibreOffice-4.4.1_64_en-US_xz.sfs, is there a sfs2pet utility
for April64?

EDIT: I installed shinobar's sfs load 2.3 and had it load the
libreoffice sfs, it showed nothing loaded so I uninstalled the sfs load
pet, but LO is in the menu and works.

Guess it's loaded forever.
Attachments
menu.jpg
(122.35 KiB) Downloaded 788 times
LO.jpg
(98.81 KiB) Downloaded 835 times
Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 06 Mar 2015, 13:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#155 Post by BarryK »

don570 wrote:
Barry wrote:I can start accepting user-contributed PETs.

One thing though, the pet.specs file must specify any dependencies that have been compiled for it, and they of course need to be provided as PETs.

I think that you mentioned needing python 2.7?
That is a bit awkward, maybe name the PET as "python7-<version>.pet", to distinguish it from the one already in April.

if the python7 PET can install without conflicting with the existing python, that would be good.
Ha ha, it shows how much python is "off my radar", but I have just realised that the python compiled in T2 and used in Quirky, is version 2.7.6 ...and there I was, thinking it was still 2.6.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

Post Reply