Page 78 of 117

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:52
by Flash
Pmusic plays files with spaces in their names for me. What format are the songs that won't play for you? (What are the filename extensions?) Are they CAPITALIZED?

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:37
by bark_bark_bark
they're .mp3 format. I am running Slacko 5.4 (firefox-4g) with this version of pmusic.

EDIT: I do have the listed requirements. Like I said the music works on GNOME-Mplayer, but not in pmusic.

EDIT2: No they're not CAPITALIZED

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:52
by sheldonisaac
bark_bark_bark wrote:they're .mp3 format. I am running Slacko 5.4 (firefox-4g) with this version of pmusic.

EDIT: I do have the listed requirements. Like I said the music works on GNOME-Mplayer, but not in pmusic.
When I do a ls -l in rxvt teminal, the tab key makes the command line something like
ls -l 07\ -\ Jason\ Vieaux\ -\ Sor\ -\ 07\ -\ Op.\ 44\ -\ Andante.mp3
Maybe the software does something with the spaces so that they can be handled by pmusic etc

When I click on it in rox filer, pmusic plays it.

Lucid Puppy 5.2.8-005

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 16:46
by bark_bark_bark
same error when clicking on it in rox.

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 21:05
by zigbert
bark_bark_bark
Will you please give us the terminal output when executing:

Code: Select all

pmusic --debug "/path/Name of file.mp3"

Thank you
Sigmund

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 21:11
by bark_bark_bark
will the debug option modify the .mp3 file?

here is what I got from typing the command and hitting enter:

Code: Select all

# pmusic --debug "/root/Music/Smosh/Ultimate Assassin's Creed 3 Song [Explicit]/01 - Ultimate Assassin's Creed 3 Song [Explicit].mp3"
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
find: `/root/.pmusic/pmu/': No such file or directory
/root/.pmusic/tmp/tmp_exec: line 4:  {print: command not found
/root/.pmusic/tmp/tmp_exec: line 8: __: command not found
/root/.pmusic/tmp/tmp_exec: line 6: __: command not found
#

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 23:00
by zigbert
bark_bark_bark
Ok, got it - Filename containing ] or [ fails.


Thank you
Sigmund

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 23:14
by bark_bark_bark
is there a work around?

Re: play midi files

Posted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 23:22
by zigbert
charlie6

Playing midi now works.
But to officially support midi, it has to be fully included to the pMusic workflow. That means (in addition to actually play the file)
- update stream status (moving slider)
- export with convert options
- detect track info
- burn file to audio cd
- supported by the native playlist format (*.pmu)
- Error checking
- ...

Let's see what future brings..... Don't expect too much.
Youtube is also unofficially supported if movgrab is installed. You can add a URL like http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWA2pjMjpBs and pMusic connects and starts playing.

Image

Posted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 12:42
by zigbert
Version 3.1.1
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: Title in Now Playing mode (thanks to Billtoo)
- Bugfix: Filename can't contain ] (thanks to bark_bark_bark)


Note to Charlie: This release will play midi files if timidity is present

Posted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 14:37
by vicmz
Hello Zigbert :D
I couldn't find any gtkdialog 0.8.3 pets in the forum or elsewhere, how can I get it for Pmusic to run in Precise?

gtkdialog

Posted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 14:50
by sheldonisaac
vicmz wrote:Hello Zigbert :D
I couldn't find any gtkdialog 0.8.3 pets in the forum or elsewhere, how can I get it for Pmusic to run in Precise?
Maybe http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... start=2265

Posted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 15:22
by charlie6
Hi Sigmund ...et encore merci !!! :)
zigbert wrote:Version 3.1.1
...Note to Charlie: This release will play midi files if timidity is present
btw: i have Timidity running ...but can't get pMusic playing a midi file ---> are there specific settings to do to get pMusic playing midi files (for instance set Timidity as external program to start, or as plugin, or something else) ??
thanks for any answer !


This could be usefull for musicians who have to handle midi files among other mp3 ...etc.. files
charlie

Re: gtkdialog

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 04:08
by vicmz
sheldonisaac wrote:
vicmz wrote:Hello Zigbert :D
I couldn't find any gtkdialog 0.8.3 pets in the forum or elsewhere, how can I get it for Pmusic to run in Precise?
Maybe http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... start=2265
Thank you, it works :D

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 10:30
by zigbert
charlie6 wrote:btw: i have Timidity running ...but can't get pMusic playing a midi file ---> are there specific settings to do to get pMusic playing midi files (for instance set Timidity as external program to start, or as plugin, or something else) ??
thanks for any answer !
Interesting :)
The playing command is stored in /root/.pmusic/tmp/exec. Mine looks like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
LANG=C timidity -Ow -o - '/root/pMusic midi test file.mid' | ffmpeg -i pipe:0 -f au - 2>> /root/.pmusic/tmp/ffmpeg_output | aplay  2> /root/.pmusic/tmp/aplay_error
If you instead point errors to stdout and execute command in terminal you will hopefully get some errors. Something like this:

Code: Select all

LANG=C timidity -Ow -o - '/path/file.mid' | ffmpeg -i pipe:0 -f au - | aplay

Thank you
Sigmund

Posted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 13:32
by charlie6
Hi Sigmund
thanks for your post !
looking and seeking around, have found this:
pMusic seems playing midi files at the conditions that another non-midi (i.e. .mp3 file) file is present in the right-hand window; if only a .mid file present then no play.
/root/.pmusic/tmp/exec looks like:
#!/bin/sh
LANG=C timidity -Ow -o - '/mnt/sda6/273.mid' | ffmpeg -i pipe:0 -f au - 2>> /root/.pmusic/tmp/ffmpeg_output | aplay 2> /root/.pmusic/tmp/aplay_error

Posted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 14:09
by zigbert
charlie6 wrote:pMusic seems playing midi files at the conditions that another non-midi (i.e. .mp3 file) file is present in the right-hand window; if only a .mid file present then no play.
Got it.


Thank you Charlie
Sigmund

Posted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 09:49
by zigbert
Version 3.1.2
See main post

Changelog
- Option to fix database if trying to add a not-found file.
- Opened support of midi playback for *.kar files.
- Possible to add additional widgets inside the svg-heading.
. . . .- Radio-Hits: gui is not too tall anymore - info in heading.
. . . .- Masstagger: Moved information to heading button
. . . .- Ok-box will place big icon in heading if present.
- Text in Ok-box and Yes/No-box is set selectable.
- Bugfix: Plugin: Reopen correct CD-audio gui if backgrounded with trayapp. (thanks to 01micko)
- Bugfix: Play midi works only if another track is already in playlist. (thanks to charlie6)
- Bugfix: No play-icon if playing filename contains `.
- Bugfix: Splashbox shows still 2012.
- Bugfix: Wrong albumart height in CD-audio frontend.
- Bugfix: Lyrics text field doesn't take color setting in gtkrc.

Posted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 10:12
by zigbert
This release has focus on bugfixing, but it also includes 2 major fixed issues.

What happens when you move your collection to another location?
In fact nothing if you browse for your files, but if you searches or in any other way takes advantage of the pMusic database, it has to be updated, and you loose your most-played info of these files. With 3.1.2, pMusic offers a smoother solution.
At once you try to add a file to playlist that does not exist, this message pops up.
Image


I have used pMusic on a netbook, and I saw that some of the windows are too tall.
To do something with this, I have rewritten the code that generates the heading. Now it allows additional widgets inside the heading which has spacesaving effect on some windows
Image

Posted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 20:39
by zigbert
Version 3.1.3
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: Using flock (file locking) to avoid mymusic db corruption during update.