Page 10 of 13

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 11:48
by abushcrafter
...No there was a post earlier in the thread by some one else.

/ect/X11/xorg.conf

Code: Select all

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
	Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
	Option      "XkbLayout" "gb" #xkeymap0
	Option 		"XkbOptions"   "altwin:menu"
	Option 		"XkbOptions"   "altwin:super_win"
EndSection
now the:

Code: Select all

	Option 		"XkbOptions"   "altwin:menu"
	Option 		"XkbOptions"   "altwin:super_win
Options get lost when you go to another computer where xorg generates a new xorg.confg. So what file do I need to edit to keep those options?

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 12:46
by disciple
I haven't had a proper look at how it works, but I suspect you could either add them to this part of /usr/sbin/xorgwizard (in which case they'd have to be properly quoted)

Code: Select all

    if [ "$XSECTION" = "InputDevice" -a "$IDENTIFIER" = "Keyboard0" ] ; then
     TEMPSECTION="$TEMPSECTION
	Option      \"XkbRules\" \"xorg\"
	Option      \"XkbModel\" \"pc102\"
	Option      \"XkbLayout\" \"$XKEYMAP\" #xkeymap0"
Or maybe you could add an InputDevice section to /etc/X11/xorg.conf0

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 13:12
by abushcrafter
disciple wrote:I haven't had a proper look at how it works, but I suspect you could either add them to this part of /usr/sbin/xorgwizard (in which case they'd have to be properly quoted)

Code: Select all

    if [ "$XSECTION" = "InputDevice" -a "$IDENTIFIER" = "Keyboard0" ] ; then
     TEMPSECTION="$TEMPSECTION
	Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
	Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
	Option      "XkbLayout" "$XKEYMAP" #xkeymap0"
Or maybe you could add an InputDevice section to /etc/X11/xorg.conf0
Arr so that's what I did wrong. I will try this!
disciple wrote: Or maybe you could add an InputDevice section to /etc/X11/xorg.conf0
tried that all ready and it failed :(.

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 18:07
by joel
I know it seems simple, but as a work around you could just create a base xorg.conf with the options you want and then copy it over when switching to a different computer.

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 18:12
by abushcrafter
sorry got it working. (there was a lot of yee, yee, yee, yee, yee, yee and :D )

To joel: no that is not practical for me as I switch between a lot of computers!

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 18:20
by joel
yea if its more than a few it'd be a hassle, how'd you fix it?

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 18:23
by abushcrafter
Look at disciple's post.

Posted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 23:39
by abushcrafter
I have found that I can only have one option enabled at a time . How do I enable both the win and menu keys?

Posted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 18:16
by abushcrafter
This is being a right pain. I can't find any documentation on how I can have the windows and menu keys enabled at the same time! In-fact the Xorg website is awful to browse! Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Btw how do I set/(does one already exist?) a hotkey for the right click menu?

Posted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 20:53
by disciple
Btw how do I set/(does one already exist?) a hotkey for the right click menu?
That's what the menu key is.

Posted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 21:37
by abushcrafter
I know but If I can only have the menu key or the windows keys then I would like the windows keys with a hotkey for the right click menu function, But I prefer to get both working.

Posted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 21:55
by disciple
I think even if your keyboard didn't physically have a menu key you could use xmodmap to use another key for one.

Posted: Thu 07 Jan 2010, 22:06
by abushcrafter
Thanks for your opinion. So could you help me with that? I have tried reading up but have not had much success.

Posted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 07:24
by disciple
Say you want to use the Print Scrn key:
- open a terminal
- run

Code: Select all

xev
(Not in many recent puppies - get it at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 431#244431)
- press the Print Scrn key and see what keycode it says is assigned to that key. For me it is 111.
- put a line in ~/.Xmodmap like this and save the file

Code: Select all

keycode 111 = Menu
- reboot the computer (or probably just restart X, but I'm not certain), or run (IIRC)

Code: Select all

xmodmap ~/.Xmodmap

Posted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 15:47
by abushcrafter
Thanks very muchly. I'm happy :D.

Btw does puppy use the print screen key by default for something?

Suggest Supporting Desktop Specific Startup Commands

Posted: Mon 11 Jan 2010, 02:59
by sazeile
I'm in the process of converting the in-laws from Windows to Puppy Linux. After getting over the "it's different" learning curve they really like it, especially the virtual desktops. "It's like having multiple computers". They also like the quick boot time and I'm looking forward to not spending my holidays chasing viruses. One of the things that they asked for was to be able to have the system auto start different applications on each desktop. AOL email on one desktop and Yahoo email on another.

Disciple helped me to achieve this effect by using xte in a startup script to switch between the desktops and start the apps. See:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 493#380493

It works well but the screen flashes and I had to add sleep statements to allow the apps to get started before switching desktops. Otherwise the app will land on whichever desktop is active when the app completes launch.

My suggestion would be to allow the StartupCommand to be included within the Desktop tag. At startup the user would immediately see desktop one while the apps on the other desktops are launching in the background.

Regards,

Steve Z.

Localise right click windows and taskbar pop-up menu?

Posted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 12:33
by Argolance
Hello!
Working on a French version of Puppy, I was wondering how the pop-up menu (right click on windows titlebar or taskbar: Send to, Layer, Stick [....] Kill, Close) could be converted to French? Where are the system files that could be changed?
Thank you a lot!

Re: Localise right click windows and taskbar pop-up menu?

Posted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 12:56
by ttuuxxx
Argolance wrote:Hello!
Working on a French version of Puppy, I was wondering how the pop-up menu (right click on windows titlebar or taskbar: Send to, Layer, Stick [....] Kill, Close) could be converted to French? Where are the system files that could be changed?
Thank you a lot!
download and extract the latest sources
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/snapsho ... 64.tar.bz2
and go to /jwm-464/src/root.c <--- right "Open as Text"
and also jwm-464/src/winmenu.c <--- right "Open as Text"
just search for the names you want changed and change them, then compile it and then replace your current one, If I was you I would search each file in /jwm-464/src/ for a common word like Kill each time just change it to the same word,


Or I would PM http://murga-linux.com/puppy/privmsg.ph ... ost&u=4477 that is our most active french user, and if it has been done, he's done it already :)
ttuuxxx

Posted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:03
by ttuuxxx
Also there is a french version of puppy linux by that same user http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=toutou
if his JWM is in french, you could simply copy and replace your jwm with that one, I'm not sure if he converted it or not.
ttuuxxx

Posted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 15:27
by Argolance
Hello!
Thanks for your reply, I'll take a look at the source files you mentioned and try. The French version I am modestly working on is... Toutou LINUX... and the pop up menu is actually... in English !
Regards.