Page 10 of 13

ffconvert-1.3.3

Posted: Mon 29 Jul 2013, 05:23
by shinobar
ffconvert-1.3.3.pet
# v1.3.2s - 27 Jul 2013, SFR: further modifications for better compability with Slacko-5.5/5.6
# v1.3.3 - 29 Jul 2013 shinobar: fix was failed 2-pass, fix was failed save preset. fix was not read preset.d, fix X264_FFPRESET, codec name aliases, backward compatibility for older versions of ffmpeg
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/

SFR did a great job. See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... &start=166.
I have merged his code and applied other fixes.
Tested on slacko-5.6.71 + ffmpeg-2.0, Precise Puppy 550JP, 431JP2012.

ffconvert-1.4

Posted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 10:10
by shinobar
ffconvert-1.4.pet (2013-10-25)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/ or
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/
Upgrading is recommended especially for Precise puppies.

It was a question for a long time why the FFconvert on Precise puppies fail to encode WAV for CD.

The FFconvert makes query to the ffmpeg.
The ffmpeg responds that it does not support the encoding 'pcm_s16le'.
But actually, the ffmpeg can encode 'pcm_s16le'.

The ffconvert-1.4 has a fix against these conditions.

ffinfo, mkplaylist

Posted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 10:40
by shinobar
ffconvert-1.4 new feature:

ffinfo
Right-click on the ROX-Filer icon of multimedia files, and select ffinfo.
You can get the property of the multimedia file.

mkplaylist
Right-click on the ROX-Filer icon of a directory which contains multimedia files, and select mkplaylist.
The mkplaylist makes playlists in 3 formats, .asx, .m3u, and .pls.

Re: ffconvert-1.4

Posted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 02:47
by ASRI éducation
shinobar wrote:ffconvert-1.4.pet (2013-10-25)
Thank you shinobar.
Cordialement,

Posted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 12:26
by Flash
Shinobar, do you mean that FFConvert 1.4 can make some audio file into a WAV file that, if burned onto a CD, will play in an old-fashioned CD player?

Audio CD

Posted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 13:46
by shinobar
Flash wrote:Shinobar, do you mean that FFConvert 1.4 can make some audio file into a WAV file that, if burned onto a CD, will play in an old-fashioned CD player?
You are better to use zigbert's pBurn to make audio CDs.
pBurn does not require FFConvert.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23881

'WAV for CD' means its format is compatible with the audio CD, can play with many applications like wavplay, can play in the secondlife, and etc..

Posted: Wed 13 Nov 2013, 09:01
by HoerMirAuf
... since the last time i allways get a error message if i want t o open ffconvert. It tells me to check my ffmpeg installation, but ffmpeg is installed.

I comment out the vcodec check in ffconvert:
if [ -z "$VODOECS" ]; then
LC_ALL=$LC_ALL_ORG
errmsg "$ (gettext "Somewhat ........
exit 1
fi
ffconvertis working ... is this a bug or what is wrong?

allways get a error message

Posted: Wed 13 Nov 2013, 10:49
by shinobar
@HoerMirAuf
What is your Puppy?
What is your FFConvert version?
What is your ffmpeg version?
Type 'ffmpeg' on a terminal to see the ffmpeg version.

Posted: Wed 13 Nov 2013, 11:59
by HoerMirAuf
hi shinobar
My Puppy is slacko 5.5
ffconvert is now 1.4 but the same error was with 1.3
ffmpeg is 0.11.1

ffconvert-1.4-1.pet

Posted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 14:23
by shinobar
ffconvert-1.4-1.pet (2014-01-07)
fix was wrong owner/permission
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/ or
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

Posted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 19:45
by vicmz
Thank you Shinobar :D

FFconvert new 2014 screenshot video

Posted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 16:26
by Pelo
x11grab.mpg: 50 M for fullscreen format 852x480. 7500 frames. 25f/s.
It's a little bit expensive but it does the job.
Second hand of xvidcap. Puprecord can be used too.

Posted: Wed 14 May 2014, 15:11
by SFR
Hey Shinobar

I've been doing some converting lately and found that there are still problems with some paths/filenames (with characters like: ' $ and also if there's more that 1 space in a row).

Another thing I just noticed is that in x11-grab mode, that little window with record & stop buttons won't get displayed on the bottom right corner (technically, it's there but has 0x0 size).
IIRC it used to work when I tried it last time, but it was more than 1.5 ago, I guess...
Perhaps it's a matter of different Gtkdialog versions (gtkdialog version 0.8.4 r514M here)..?
Anyway, replacing:
PG="0x0+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"
with just:
PG="+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"
fixed the problem for me.

I also would like to suggest expanding 'Framerate' and 'Sampling' presets with 23.98 and 22050 values respectively.

Here's the diff of the above changes (+ a couple of other small fixes):

Code: Select all

--- old/ffconvert	2013-10-25 09:28:33.000000000 +0200
+++ new/ffconvert	2014-05-19 11:33:37.689973376 +0200
@@ -493,10 +493,10 @@
     </checkbox>
 
   <hbox>
-	<text><label>$(gettext 'Souce file')</label><variable>SOURCE_FILE</variable></text>
+	<text><label>$(gettext 'Source file')</label><variable>SOURCE_FILE</variable></text>
     <entry tooltip-text="$TOOLTIP_TEXT" editable="true" accept="filename">
         <variable>FILE1</variable>
-        $(make_default "$SOURCEFILE")
+        $(make_default ""$SOURCEFILE"")
         <action>enable:INFO_BUTTON</action>
         <action>enable:PLAY_BUTTON</action>
         <action>enable:CONVERT_BUTTON</action>
@@ -543,7 +543,7 @@
 	<text><label>$(gettext 'Souce 2nd')</label><variable>SOURCE_FILE2</variable></text>
     <entry tooltip-text="$TOOLTIP_TEXT2" editable="true" accept="filename">
         <variable>FILE2</variable>
-        $(make_default "$SOURCEFILE2")
+        $(make_default ""$SOURCEFILE2"")
         <action>enable:INFO_BUTTON2</action>
         <action>enable:PLAY_BUTTON2</action>
         <action>enable:CONVERT_BUTTON</action>
@@ -773,7 +773,7 @@
 <text><label>$(gettext 'Frame rate')(fps)</label></text>
 <combobox>
 <variable>FRAMERATE1</variable>
-$(make_combo - $DEFFRAMERATE $SAME 15 24 25 29.97 30 59.94)
+$(make_combo - $DEFFRAMERATE $SAME 15 23.98 24 25 29.97 30 59.94)
 </combobox>
 </hbox>
 <hbox>
@@ -809,7 +809,7 @@
 <text><label>$(gettext 'Sampling')(Hz)</label></text>
 <combobox>
 <variable>SAMPLING1</variable>
-$(make_combo $DEFSAMPLING $SAME 44100 48000)
+$(make_combo $DEFSAMPLING $SAME 22050 44100 48000)
 </combobox>
 </hbox>
 <hbox>
@@ -1406,7 +1406,7 @@
  # record button
  PW=300 #80
  PH=60
- PG="0x0+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"
+ PG="+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"
  debug "$PG"
  STEP=$(($CAPTURE_SECONDS / 20))
  debug "STEP=$STEP"
@@ -1628,7 +1628,7 @@
   waitsplash stop
   DIRSAVE="$(pwd)"
   cd "$SOURCEDIR"
-  eval $($GTKDIALOG)
+  eval "$($GTKDIALOG)"
   cd "$DIRSAVE"
   [ "$VDISABLE"  = "" ] || VCODEC1="$NONE"
   [ "$ADISABLE"  = "" ] || ACODEC1="$NONE"
@@ -1785,7 +1785,7 @@
   else
     if [ -z "$FILE1" -a "$FILE2" ]; then
       # swap
-      FILE1=FILE2
+      FILE1=$FILE2
       FILE2=""
     fi
     if [ ! -f "$FILE1" ]; then
@@ -1880,7 +1880,7 @@
 NFILES=$(echo "$SOURCES"| wc -l)
 REST=$NFILES
 NCONV=0
-MYROOT=$(basename "$FILE1"| cut -d'.' -f1|tr ' ()&' '_')	# SFR: trim also ()&
+MYROOT=$(basename "$FILE1"| cut -d'.' -f1|tr ' ()[]&$' '_' | tr "'" "_") # SFR: trim also ()[]&$ and '
 export COUNTFILE="$APPTMPDIR/$MYROOT-count"
 export NCONVFILE="$APPTMPDIR/$MYROOT-nconv"
 export DESTFNFILE="$APPTMPDIR/$MYROOT-destfile"
@@ -1925,8 +1925,8 @@
 # convert loop
 rm -f "$DESTFNLIST"
 echo "$SOURCES" | while read ITEM; do
- BASE1=$(echo $ITEM)   # remove blank for precaution
- SRCEXT=$(echo $BASE1| rev | cut -s -f1 -d'.'| rev)
+ BASE1=$(echo "$ITEM")   # remove blank for precaution
+ SRCEXT=$(echo "$BASE1" | rev | cut -s -f1 -d'.'| rev)
  SRCFILE="$ITEM"
  [ "$SRCDIR" ] && SRCFILE="$SRCDIR/$BASE1"
  FILE1="$SRCFILE"
@@ -1986,7 +1986,7 @@
  debug "# make options"
  #var2opt  # already done before loop
  # prepair work space
- ROOT2=$(echo "$ROOT1"|tr ' ()&' '_')		# SFR: trim also ()&
+ ROOT2=$(echo "$ROOT1"|tr ' ()[]&$' '_' | tr "'" "_") # SFR: trim also ()[]&$ and '
  WORKDIR="$DESTDIR/ffconvert_tmp_$ROOT2"
  CMDFILE="$APPTMPDIR/$ROOT2.sh"
  TMPFILE="$APPTMPDIR/$ROOT2.tmp"
EDIT: added also [ ] to exclusions.

BTW, while fixing the above issues, I noticed two occurences of '-sameq' option in the code.
It seems that new ffmpeg doesn't support it anymore:
ffmpeg -sameq wrote:ffmpeg version 2.0 Copyright (c) 2000-2013 the FFmpeg developers
[snip]
Option 'sameq' was removed. If you are looking for an option to preserve the quality (which is not what -sameq was for), use -qscale 0 or an equivalent quality factor option.
Thanks again for this great tool &
Greetings!

Posted: Sun 18 May 2014, 13:02
by IlluminatiPL
I will be wait for 1.5 in "VP9+Opus" Support (WebM) [Not "VP9+Vorbis" at a Some Converters)

ffconvert start

Posted: Mon 19 May 2014, 03:37
by wrayc
Sorry, new here

having ffconvert screen capture "start record" button missing

I see the fix is: PG="+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"

which file do we need to edit for this fix?

thanks in advance

Re: ffconvert start

Posted: Mon 19 May 2014, 11:14
by SFR
wrayc wrote:Sorry, new here

having ffconvert screen capture "start record" button missing

I see the fix is: PG="+$(($RW - $PW))+$(($RH - $PH))"

which file do we need to edit for this fix?

thanks in advance
It's /usr/bin/ffconvert, about line 1409.

Greetings!

re:ffconvert video capture

Posted: Mon 19 May 2014, 15:59
by wrayc
Thanks so much

M4V to MP4

Posted: Sun 01 Jun 2014, 05:25
by slavvo67
Does anyone know how to convert M4V to MP4. Which preset(s) work? I'm getting the error below with the latest FFConvert:


[buffer @ 0x807f8e0] Invalid pixel format string '-1'
Error opening filters!

UPDATE: ffconvert-1.4.2

Posted: Mon 23 Jun 2014, 04:48
by shinobar
UPDATE: ffconvert-1.4.2.pet (2014-06-23)
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/ or
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

#v1.4.2 - 19 June 2014: cleanup for multiusers(mcewanw)
# (SFR)fix was missing capture button, filename with special charactors, add framerate and sampling rate, fix typo

flipping upside down video?

Posted: Thu 26 Jun 2014, 07:55
by davids45
G'day shinobar,

I believe, after a quick google, that ffmpeg can rotate video recorded from a phone/pad upside-down or at 90 degrees to normal.

Can ffconvert do this rotation as one of its conversion options or pre-sets? I want to view these on my desktop and the monitor is too heavy to hold upside down for too long :oops: .

Thanks,

David S.