Page 2 of 4

Posted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 18:58
by `f00
Every window manager should have its 'own' key-bind file (since they all vary a bit). Oddly that F12 bind (from jwm-personal?) is one that gets offed almost by instinct for me (F12 is reserved for Opera's quickprefs in my case) .. Alt + F1 might be a better choice (unless it conflicts with something else)

Fluxbox config can be a bit more involved but that's part of the charm (little things can interact oddly until you get a 'feel' for how everything meshes)

@bignono1
Wbar makes a nice launcher (or you could look into the 'slit' option, which is kind of like bbdock..)

Posted: Sat 05 Mar 2011, 20:02
by Rupp
bignono1 wrote:Can i get my connection icon on the task bar?
F12 is not working, to get the menu.
None F12 :ToggleCmd {RootMenu} {HideMenus}

Posted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 02:14
by theZoid
Hi...thanks for this! What's the file and entry to start fluxbox at boot every time? I'm using Puppeee last stable release.

Also, where can I change something to show Fluxbox as a window manager option under 'change window manager' menu item? (not necessary of course, but...)

thanks for helping a puppy newb.....

Posted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 07:25
by bignono1
reboot to prompt then type this:
xwin startfluxbox
This will keep fluxbox , to change to other wm type : xwin jwm or
xwin icewm or whatever wm you have.

Posted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 00:21
by trapster
This is what I did to add fluxbox to the "change window manager" window in Puppeee-1.0.


File is /usr/bin/change-wm

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
set -x

WM=`cat /etc/windowmanager`
if [[ $WM == startflwm ]] ; then
	FLWM='<default>true</default>'
else
	FLWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == icewm-session ]] ; then
	ICEWM='<default>true</default>'
else
	ICEWM='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == openbox-session ]] ; then
	OPENB='<default>true</default>'
else
	OPENB='<default>false</default>'
fi
if [[ $WM == startfluxbox ]] ; then
	FLUX='<default>true</default>'
else
	FLUX='<default>false</default>'
fi

export MAIN_DIALOG="
<window title=\"Change Window Manager\">
<vbox>
<frame Choose a Window Manager>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Flwm</label>
	$FLWM
	<action>if true echo startflwm > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>Icewm</label>
	$ICEWM
	<action>if true echo icewm-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>OpenBox</label>
	$OPENB
	<action>if true echo openbox-session > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>
      <radiobutton>
       <label>fluxbox</label>
	$FLUX
	<action>if true echo startfluxbox > /etc/wm</action>
       </radiobutton>  
       
       
</frame>
<text><label>Changes will be applied when you restart Xwindows</label></text>
<hbox>
  <button tooltip-text=\"Exit\">
     <input file stock=\"gtk-quit\"></input>
     <label>Exit</label>
     <action type=\"exit\">Exit-NOW</action>
    </button>
</hbox>
</vbox>
</window>"
gtkdialog3 --program=MAIN_DIALOG --center

Posted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 11:36
by grimoire
I hope this one will work on other versions of puppy. :)

Posted: Thu 10 Mar 2011, 21:30
by Rupp
I guess just opening ~/.xinitrc and adding exec startfluxbox is to complicated for some people here.

Posted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 21:00
by Eyes-Only
Thanks for having done up this package of Fluxbox Aragon thus moving our usual install of Flux lightyears ahead of 1.0.1 in the PPM! And for the record: It's awesome! :shock: Amazingly stable and superb running in my Luci-252.

In fact, this looks and runs so great/fast in just this frugal test install that I'm seriously considering of replacing my Fluxbox installs throughout my 14 other puplets with this as well. :)

@Dejan: I haven't been having any crashes whatsoever with the 130 version compiled by Aragon here on my Luci-252 replicating what you've done. HTH?

Guess I should call it a day. Thanks again Aragon!

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge d'Acadie"

Posted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 21:31
by dejan555
Thanks Eyes-Only, might be my bad build, I still haven't tested 1.3.1 though

Posted: Sat 12 Mar 2011, 22:31
by dejan555
OK, since I booted 5.2 to compile pidgin I installed aragon's 1.3.1 pet this times and had crash on same action. It really is very fast, I think much faster then fbpanel/openbox combo they have in 5.x and I like aragon's green theme mod too.

Posted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 03:24
by Rupp
dejan555 wrote:OK, since I booted 5.2 to compile pidgin I installed aragon's 1.3.1 pet this times and had crash on same action. It really is very fast, I think much faster then fbpanel/openbox combo they have in 5.x and I like aragon's green theme mod too.
Dejan,

Did you enable logging with fluxbox, to see if it showed the error?

Posted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 17:01
by dejan555
No Rupp, I'll check how to do that.

Posted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 08:35
by aragon
can confirm the crash on deiconifiing for 4.31. have reported the issue to the bugtracker.

aragon

Posted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 09:03
by dejan555
Thanks aragon.

Posted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 20:48
by Eyes-Only
Hmm... now that makes me wonder why it is that I'm the only one not experiencing that crash? - now on two systems, my Luci-252 and my ClassicPup-214X?

I guess I'm always the lucky one, eh? :?

@Grimoire: You'd asked if this Fluxbox would work in other builds aside from 4.3.1 I believe? ( See page 2 of this thread. ) By all means, yes! :D And by my account and usage of 3 to 4 hours a day, it works great! This has been the fastest, best, Fluxbox install I've ever used on any distro BAR NONE!

HTH?

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

Posted: Tue 15 Mar 2011, 20:30
by aragon
Eyes-Only wrote:Hmm... now that makes me wonder why it is that I'm the only one not experiencing that crash? - now on two systems, my Luci-252 and my ClassicPup-214X?

I guess I'm always the lucky one, eh? :?
seems so, i've tested it on my arch-install and bingo bug reproducable.

bug-tracker says it's solved, so i'll try to build thi git-version and report back...

aragon

Posted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 02:48
by Rupp
aragon wrote:
seems so, i've tested it on my arch-install and bingo bug reproducable.
I never had that problem on my Arch install.

Posted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 17:52
by Eyes-Only
Hmm... well then, if I'm not experiencing any of the problems on any of my Puppy installs ( from hard drive to frugals to Luci-252 back to ClassPup-214X and everything in between I might add ), then what should I do Aragon? Should I do - as the old saying goes in English, "just let sleeping dogs lie" and leave well enough alone? Or instead, should I go and uninstall my 1.3.0 and upgrade with whatever you are going to come out with next - supposedly solving the problem from bugtracker?

BTW: The system all these Pups/puplets are running upon is an OLD ( approx. 8 or 9 y.o. if not older ) DELL 2400, 2.4gigs "Celery" processor, 512megs of RAM/1gig SWAP with a 160gig HD with 4 partitions.

I hope the specs in some way help?

Cheers/Amicalement,

Eyes-Only
"L'Peau-Rouge"

Posted: Fri 18 Mar 2011, 23:18
by `f00
..my weekend activity is slated (enough fooling around, afterstep 2211 can wait since it needs compile and some real attention to bring it to a meeting place while ede is getting there albeit slowly there are personal targets being ranged).

c'mon dogs, let's see if there's anything to these flux dux …

___addenda (scouting the marsh) `110319/20___
w020 (multisession)
Kind of a bust-out (since I decided to keep fluxbox-1.0.0 'just in case' .. moved and renamed all components of that version). Extracted fluxbox-1.3.1 and the mans (truly don't like dotpet automation) and started from prompt. Not too usable, but not a disaster either. Took a look at some of the readable stuff and made a few adjustments, spent some time with both 1.0.0 and 1.3.1 and for me it's not much gained at this point in time. 100 'just works' while I'd have to sit down with a clear guide to what's new or been changed in the 131 init. For example, window and context menus (such as for client list and toolbar buttons) aren't even showing in 131 for me - root+base menu is functional after a copyover from the 100's root dir (after the initial startup, I didn't have much faith in what the updaters could accomplish). embed'd image as a link to a bigger different image (only 61k) follows:
Image
After a reboot/save, repeated minimizing/restoring from the client menu or by lxpanel (group by wincmd/individual by taskbuttons) results in no issues with dropping out of X (tad clumsy having to use lxpanel for missing window/context menus in flux). Early on it did somewhat erratically drop out (before the reboot/save) but there was no consistent pattern I could see. The 'graphical' rootmenu with icons is fine with an older imlib2-1.4.0 so didn't use the new package (have tried that in other pups and sometimes there are issues with other apps that seem to prefer the older imlib).

___addenda2 (lunch in the field) `110323___
mp520 (ephemeral 1stlook)
Everything seems kopacetic, no real issues with a fresh install (my bad on the above, but there should be a way to have two separate versions .. maybe a 'remote' or somesuch to ensure the proper match at startup of different inits). Without getting too invested in a throwaway install (mp520 and 511 have some minor menu-issues that annoy me when using other wms), it's all good with the window/taskbutton context menus now .. oddly enough there seems to be no context menus for apps in the workspace/client menu now (there was such on fluxbox-1.0.0 link to example here @268k for clarification, on that particular install the menu was a popup) but there could be some interaction with all the various config items.

No crashing at all with repeated deiconifying from the workspace/client menu (but since no context menus for apps in that menu-list, re-iconifying is done by taskbutton or from the window's titlebar button or context menu)

Readily accepts realtime manual menu editing - something I usually do to get icons in and my own base mods (in macpup any wms that use a puppy-standard xdg rootmenu may likely have to be manually edited anyway to take care of an annoying anomaly). Can be slightly balky to get correct as-intended style looks (active/passive text-fgs in menus may not look right until a simple [restart]).

Posted: Sat 19 Mar 2011, 10:44
by aragon
@eyes-only: i will post the same package with the bugfix,so i think there should be no problem in upgrading.

Aragon