Page 2 of 5

Posted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 18:46
by jpeps
RSH..I'm in a rush to get out here, so probably aren't addressing what you're asking. A gui frontend would just create to list from the checkbox. Here's the batch script, which makes multiple pets in /tmp

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
 
while read line; do
  newpet "$line"
 done </tmp/newpet-list

Posted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 20:28
by RSH
This is what i need.

Instead of COMBO using LIST :lol:

I've wrote it all the time --> List :lol:

I thought just about an option to extend those listed entries (add checkbox to each one as attribut or similar?)

Is that possible?

Posted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 22:02
by jpeps
RSH wrote:
I thought just about an option to extend those listed entries (add checkbox to each one as attribut or similar?)

Is that possible?
A combobox-checkbox widget. I don't know of any. A workaround would be an editable list where you add marks to entries that you want included. I did something like that in PetCheck.

Posted: Fri 13 Jan 2012, 22:08
by RSH
jpeps wrote:I did something like that in PetCheck.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 75&t=71341
Downloaded.

I will have look into it.

Thank you.

Posted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 21:10
by jpeps
Here's gnewpet with batch mode include. In batch mode, the file list button brings up an editable pet list. Remove the initial "?" for pets that you want included.

menu fix: Thanks pemasu

Posted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 21:27
by vovchik
Dear jpeps,

Good work. I like it....:)

With kind regards,
vovchik

Posted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 23:13
by jpeps
Thanks vovchik :)

Posted: Sat 14 Jan 2012, 23:43
by pemasu
Thanks jpeps. Your script and menu entry will be in the next exprimo. I remade the menu entry to be as Gnewpet so that it would upper in the utility menu :)
I hope you dont mind.

Also I noticed that existing gnewpet.desktop file had couple of empty spaces at the end of the file, so that it didnt appear in my utility menu. Maybe it is just me....?
Anyway deleting the file with delete button after last character fixed my menu entry non-appearance.

Posted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 00:42
by jpeps
Thanks pemasu. fixed! I was wondering why the menu never worked..I have it on my tray, so forgot about it :)

Posted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 10:53
by RSH
Hi jpeps,

thank you for adding my suggestions. Now it is the ultimate tool. The GUI code isn't exactly what i'd suggest, but it is as close as possible. It seems to be impossible to realize my exact suggestion of a GUI List using checkboxes to just click on item to enable or disable it - using gtkdialog.

RSH

Posted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 11:20
by jpeps
RSH wrote: It seems to be impossible to realize my exact suggestion of a GUI List using checkboxes to just click on item to enable or disable it - using gtkdialog.
Maybe we can spark some interest?

Posted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 17:13
by amigo
The greq (that'a a 'queue') GUI tool lets you put a check box under any of its' limited number of widgets.

Posted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 18:09
by jpeps
amigo wrote:The greq (that'a a 'queue') GUI tool lets you put a check box under any of its' limited number of widgets.
Great! Maybe a link? I couldn't find anything. Thanks

Posted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 20:14
by Keef
Google got me here....
http://greq.berlios.de/

Posted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 00:25
by seaside

Posted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 09:23
by jpeps
A little tricky, but I found a way to get it working. I don't think it has a scroll bar, which makes it kind of useless for long lists. Maybe an idea for our own gtkdialog development, though, since I'm sure it would get used a lot.

Posted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 15:26
by Moose On The Loose
jpeps wrote:A little tricky, but I found a way to get it working. I don't think it has a scroll bar, which makes it kind of useless for long lists. Maybe an idea for our own gtkdialog development, though, since I'm sure it would get used a lot.
I just thought of a way to do long lists. Here is the basic idea:

Place a button above and below the space where a subset of the full list is shown.

When someone clicks on the up button, the dialog closes, and a new one opens with the list scrolled down by 1/2 the length of the sub-list you are showing. Te script needs to keep track of the state ON/OFF of the items in the full list and give the subset back with the right combination of check marks.

I have made a thing that works like a combo-box but allows the user entry to be filtered on a keystroke basis. This used the fact that there is an event for the loss of focus. If the scrolled list is done in its own box, this trick could be used to make the list a stand alone thing.

Posted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 20:35
by seaside
Could this be used-

Code: Select all

<tree selection-mode="3"
It gives you multiple selection capability with a scroll bar.

Cheers,
s

Posted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 21:22
by RSH
Could this be used-

Code:
<tree selection-mode="3"
This works fine. It ( selection-mode="3") gives you the possibility to select several files.

But how to distinguish (sort out) the selected and unselected items?

Posted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 23:25
by seaside
RSH,
But how to distinguish (sort out) the selected and unselected items?
All the selected items are returned separated in this variable-

Code: Select all

<variable>TREECHOICES</variable>
Cheers,
s