Page 2 of 4

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 01:04
by RSH
Screeny is not working in LazY Puppy. :cry:
Image
How can this be fixed?

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 01:25
by 01micko
RSH wrote:Screeny is not working in LazY Puppy. :cry:
Image
How can this be fixed?
Maybe gettext is not installed properly? The gettext.sh script should be in $PATH and eval_gettext is a function in that script. Just check your gettext package and maybe renew it from the lucid repos (Lazy is based on Lupu, yeah?)

If you have at least gtkdialog-0.8 it will work if the executable "gtkdialog" is in $PATH. This can be a symlink, often it's labelled "gtkdialog4". I could put in some gymnastics that find the correct exec but it has been around long enough now that distro maintainers should be aware. I believe wary/racy/precise/dpup all have similar symlinks and so it works fine there.

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 02:05
by RSH
Thanks for you quick reply.

Yes, LazY is based on Lucid 528-4.

Lucid 528-4 dosn't have the gettext.sh also ---> only a binary "gettext" in /usr/bin ---> as is in LazY.

Downloading and installing gettext_0.17 from the lucid repo gives no success.

Changing

Code: Select all

eval $(gtkdialog -p SCREENY -c)
to

Code: Select all

eval $(gtkdialog4 -p SCREENY -c)
in line 183 inside the screeny script doesn't give any success (in lucid 528-4 gtkdialog is a symlink to gtkdialog3, gtkdialog4 is already installed in LazY)

Maybe the gtkdialog error is just a result of the missing gettext.sh script?

Any OS from where i can grab this script?

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 02:26
by RSH
Hi 01micko.

Thanks for the script. Unfortunately no success. Only the error messages have changed. :cry:

Image

BTW: 0.6 seems to work.

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 02:31
by 01micko

Posted: Fri 12 Oct 2012, 03:24
by RSH
Yes, that works. :D

Thanks a lot for the help.

Image

Seems like i had to download and install gettext_base_0.17 instead of gettext_0.17 from the lucid repo. :lol:

Screeny Question

Posted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 21:04
by mistfire
Does the Screeny work by pressing Print Screen button on keyboard?

Re: Screeny Question

Posted: Mon 15 Oct 2012, 22:25
by 01micko
mistfire wrote:Does the Screeny work by pressing Print Screen button on keyboard?
See here and try it.. should work ok, put that code in the bottom of /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal (replace if it has an entry for mtpaint) and restart jwm. It is default in the new slacko (when released).

screeny in dpup-Exprimo

Posted: Wed 17 Oct 2012, 14:52
by charlie6
Hi Mick !
screeny works OOTB in dpup-Exprimo as xwd is already present in it.;
have just installed screeny-0.7-noarch.pet + screeny-0.7-NLS.pet;
have used RSH forum member's Edit-mo-rtc-0.1.pet for po to mo translation (see Localization project screeny 's thread) ==> many thanks to RSH :-)
Cheers, Charlie

Posted: Thu 18 Oct 2012, 23:42
by Tman
I installed screeny and xwd in the Wary 5.1.1-based Solidpup511B_Lite-beta3.1

From the terminal I get an error message similar to what RSH reported:

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/screeny: line 9: gettext.sh: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/screeny: line 182: eval_gettext: command not found

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 16, near token '</label>': syntax error
Solidpup already comes with gtkdialog 0.8.2.
I had to install a newer gettext for it to work. Attached is my compiled gettext for wary.

Thanks, micko..

Posted: Sat 20 Oct 2012, 23:51
by Tman
There's no doubt you are a better coder than me mick, but I noticed that the yaf-splash wasn't saying anything when I captured the fullscreen with a 10 second delay. I examined your script and in line 204 it says:
(edited)

Code: Select all

"$(gettext"Waiting ...")"
I guess gettext couldn't process that properly, so I changed it to:

Code: Select all

"$(gettext "Waiting") ..."
Now the yaf-splash will display the text during the wait time.
-

Screeny - screen capture utility

Posted: Sun 21 Oct 2012, 14:02
by L18L
Tman wrote:...the yaf-splash wasn't saying anything...
"$(gettext"Waiting ...")"
screeny running from console wrote:/usr/sbin/screeny: line 203: gettextWaiting ...: command not found
Thus inserting 1 space between gettext and "Waiting
"$(gettext "Waiting ...")"
makes it splash 8)

Posted: Sun 21 Oct 2012, 20:48
by 01micko
Thanks Tman, L18L

Fixed, 0.8 is out

see main post

Screeny not running if Netpbm installed

Posted: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 02:49
by charlie6
Hi,
running screeny on dpup-exprimo 5X3.6.2
it runs OK
till i installed
netpbm_10.0-12.2+b1_i386.deb and
libnetpbm10_10.0-12.2+b1_i386.deb
i got the following console report:
# screeny
xwdtopnm: symbol lookup error: xwdtopnm: undefined symbol: pm_optParseOptions
pnmtopng: Error reading magic number from Netpbm image stream. Most often, this means your input file is empty.
EXIT="Exit on timeout"
#
then a blank .png file is returned;
Unsinstalling netpbm fixes that.
so might it be that some netpbms binaries were not compatible?
Cheers, Charlie

Posted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 14:45
by rhadon
Hi,
I hope, it's not too late for feedback :oops: .

I often used v0.8 during the last days in Slacko 5.4 and I really like it :D .

The only annoying part for me was capture$$ which adds a (randomly?) process id. Changed it to capture${tmp-`date`} in the script at line #178, which adds the date and time. This gives me a better order.

Thumbs up :D ,

Rolf

Posted: Sat 09 Mar 2013, 12:28
by L18L
rhadon wrote:Hi,
I hope, it's not too late for feedback :oops: .

I often used v0.8 during the last days in Slacko 5.4 and I really like it :D .

The only annoying part for me was capture$$ which adds a (randomly?) process id. Changed it to capture${tmp-`date`} in the script at line #178, which adds the date and time. This gives me a better order.

Thumbs up :D ,

Rolf
You might change
date
to
date +%F-%r

ex:
# date +%F-%r
2013-03-09-01:31:07
#

no spaces and shorter

Posted: Sun 10 Mar 2013, 23:02
by rhadon
You're right L18L,

it's much better :D . Thank you.

Rolf

Screeny won the casting because so easy !

Posted: Thu 24 Dec 2015, 09:02
by Pelo
# screeny
/usr/sbin/screeny: line 9: gettext.sh: No such file or directory
error: install xwd package for your distro
Ok done
Screeny is my snapshot tool in most of my Puppies excepted when screeny does not work (Kinda Puppy )
Here below, screeny snaphot. it would be kind of you trying easyshot by Argolance, because it does not work for me, and i woudn't hurt him on the December 24th :!:
Happy Christmas :)

Xenialpup 2016 I installed a Screeny 0.8

Posted: Mon 13 Jun 2016, 15:23
by Pelo
screeny is garbled in our last Xenialpup 2016 I installed a Screeny 0.8 from my toolcase, and pictures are no more 'distordues'

Re: Xenialpup 2016 I installed a Screeny 0.8

Posted: Mon 13 Jun 2016, 16:43
by Sailor Enceladus
Pelo wrote:screeny is garbled in our last Xenialpup 2016 I installed a Screeny 0.8 from my toolcase, and pictures are no more 'distordues'
I got that too in Xenialpup, but only when certain programs were open. Interesting to know that an older version works ok.