MintPup (Trusty LTS)

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#41 Post by fredx181 »

otoshan wrote:Can i change wallpaper from console? I use openbox
Yes, with hsetroot, apt-get install hsetroot
for example:

Code: Select all

hsetroot -fill /path/to/image
See here for more options:
http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/dap ... oot.1.html

Fred

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#42 Post by mcewanw »

Hi Toni,

When a special repository is required to download something I've always done it manually and then used apt-key as well. I just wondered what the reason was to not include the command add-apt-repository, which would apparently fetch the key automatically too. I presume that application is a large addition to include in default installation? It's no problem since manual adding works fine though.

William
github mcewanw

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

Re: MintPup (Trusty LTS)

#43 Post by saintless »

Hi William.
The answer is too many dependencies. But add-apt-repository is included in the DEVX module.
saintless wrote:Start sfs-get-MintPup from the menu and you will see all available modules.
The DEVX module includes also add-apt-repository packages: Loading the module only for adding new PPA repo and unloading the module keeping the PPA repo active works from limited testing.
Load the DEVX module -> use add-apt-repository -> unload the DEVX module -> run apt-get update.
This is what I did to add ppa repository and test variety.

Toni

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#44 Post by mcewanw »

Hi Toni,

Good to hear its in the DEVX; could be useful sometimes. I thought you had just added the variety repository manually, which I note you could do from details here:

https://launchpad.net/~peterlevi/+archive/ubuntu/ppa

William
github mcewanw

otoshan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 10 Jun 2015, 18:36

#45 Post by otoshan »

Thanks Toni, fredx181
fredx181 wrote:Yes, with hsetroot, apt-get install hsetroot
for example:

Code: Select all

hsetroot -fill /path/to/image
See here for more options:
http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/dap ... oot.1.html
Fred
I have success with hsetroot, i add line in ~/config/puppy/.config/variety/scripts/set_wallpaper

Code: Select all

hsetroot -fill "$WP" 2> /dev/null
saintless wrote:I can't answer how to change wallpapers from command line in OpenBox but since you like to install 100Mb extra just to have variety for setting wallpaper I see no reason to keep Jwm and IceWm.
No problem my squashfs now is 1.1gb :D

This command i need write manually after every login. I tried to add it in startup fille but not works. Any idea?

Code: Select all

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#46 Post by saintless »

otoshan wrote:This command i need write manually after every login. I tried to add it in startup fille but not works. Any idea?

Code: Select all

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
Try to add it in /home/puppy/Startup/localhost-fix
I'm not sure about this $PREFIX variable. I guess it is part of variety script and should be executed from variety script.
But if it works as separate command after login it should work in script inside /home/puppy/Startup
Or as user puppy copy /etc/skel/.profile in /home/puppy and try to add the line in /home/puppy/.profile
If nothing above works try inside /etc/environment (I think you don't need export inside /etc/environment).

Toni

otoshan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 10 Jun 2015, 18:36

#47 Post by otoshan »

I tried all variants, it doesn't works.
Here have small script.
https://www.mail-archive.com/glade-deve ... 01942.html
I tried to add in /etc/environment is this the right place? Because again no result. Also i don't have path /lib/pkgconfig

Code: Select all

PREFIX="$( cd "$( dirname "${BASH_SOURCE[0]}" )" && pwd )"

export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/pkgconfig/
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
export PATH=$PREFIX/bin:$PATH

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#48 Post by saintless »

Sorry otoshan.

I don't feel competent enough to help you in this situation.
You have already 1,1Gb remastered module and you are trying to use some script suggested for compiling glade to change wallpapers with variety.
Don't add it in /etc/environment or anywhere else because most probably you will break the system and other programs will stop work.

If you need this script to start changing wallpapers with variety it should be included in some variety script and started from variety script. Maybe inside /home/puppy/.config/variety/scripts/set_wallpaper before hsetroot (but I'm not sure about this also).

Read my previous post about variety how I made it start without exporting anything with symlink iinside variety folder. If the path to the variety folder is changed and it is not inside /opt anymore - find the new location and create the symlink there. Then you shouldn't need to export any commands.
Also read in the same post the quote from variety author about using feh with OpenBox and other small WM:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 9bd#859434

Experimenting the way you do it now to make variety work could break other progams and scripts in your system.

Toni

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#49 Post by fredx181 »

Hi otoshan,

I didn't follow everything and have no knowledge about variety, but noticed this from variety output:

Code: Select all

GError: Error when getting information for file ‘/home/puppy/Pictures': No such file or directory
Sorry, if this is just to simple, but did you try to create ‘/home/puppy/Pictures' and see what happens?

Fred

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#50 Post by saintless »

otoshan wrote:

Code: Select all

PREFIX="$( cd "$( dirname "${BASH_SOURCE[0]}" )" && pwd )"

export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/pkgconfig/
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$PREFIX/lib/

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
export PATH=$PREFIX/bin:$PATH
In any case this script does nothing useful for you.
The PREFIX= determines the current directory. In your case it is /home/puppy when you open terminal:

Code: Select all

PREFIX="$( cd "$( dirname "${BASH_SOURCE[0]}" )" && pwd )"
$PREFIX
bash: /home/puppy: Is a directory
Then export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/ will export /home/puppy/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/ and you don't have such directory with sure.
The real gsettings schemas are inside /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

Toni

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#51 Post by fredx181 »

Hi otoshan, Toni,
otoshan wrote:
This command i need write manually after every login. I tried to add it in startup fille but not works. Any idea?
Code:
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/

Try to add it in /home/puppy/Startup/localhost-fix
I'm not sure about this $PREFIX variable. I guess it is part of variety script and should be executed from variety script.
But if it works as separate command after login it should work in script inside /home/puppy/Startup
As Toni wrote, I think also that if running from command line and it works:

Code: Select all

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=$PREFIX/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
It should work also at login if you put this command in a script from ~/Startup

But better forget about $PREFIX, it will be ignored because there is no such general environment variable PREFIX, so maybe just try to put in a script in ~/Startup,(untested):

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
And make sure it's executable, btw.

Also, this could be required:

Code: Select all

sudo glib-compile-schemas /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas
Hope it helps.

Fred

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#52 Post by saintless »

Thanks Fred.

Using the information from otoshan and you here is how to install variety in MintPup.
Tested step by step and works in fresh MintPup install with Jwm. Should work with OpenBox and IceWm too.

1. Boot as user puppy (the example is for the included user account but works the same for root).
2. Start Wallpapers GUI from the desktop icon and click Stop Wallpapers button.
3. Comment out the line for rox pinboard in ~/startup and save (from IceWm you must repeat this step because startup is symlink to different WM file):

Code: Select all

#/usr/bin/rox -p ${HOME}/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/pinbd &
4. Download 06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs:
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/Mi ... o.squashfs
5. Load 06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs.
6. Add ppa repo for variety:

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:peterlevi/ppa
7. Unload 06-DEVX-Python-add-PPA-repo.squashfs.
8. Update the repository list:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
9. Install variety and hsetroot:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install variety hsetroot
10. Start variety by typing (copy/paste):

Code: Select all

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
/usr/bin/variety
11. Set variety as you like and close the program.
12. Add hsetroot line in /home/puppy/.config/variety/scripts/set_wallpaper (at the end is OK but leave one more empty line and save):

Code: Select all

hsetroot -fill "$WP" 2> /dev/null

13. Download the attached archive and extract variety-start script in ~/Startup (/home/puppy/Startup in this example).
Just in case make sure the extracted script has the correct owner. For user puppy type (copy/paste):

Code: Select all

sudo chown -R puppy:puppy /home/puppy/Startup
The script has this content:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

export GSETTINGS_SCHEMA_DIR=/usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/
/usr/bin/variety

14. Exit X and startx.

Now variety will change the wallpapers according to the settings you made and you will see taskbar icon to change the settings.

I hope in the future this will answer the question how to install and use variety in MintPup.

Toni
Attachments
variety-start.tar.gz
Extract in $HOME/Startup and change the correct owner.
(212 Bytes) Downloaded 350 times

otoshan
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed 10 Jun 2015, 18:36

#53 Post by otoshan »

Yes, i confirm it works! Thanks Toni, Fred.

When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
http://i.imgur.com/iqAJZ3y.png

Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
http://i.imgur.com/xCt2gDt.jpg

Edit: Would be great Toni if in RemasterDog has skip prompt or ask before copying for "Create module" and "Delete squash folder". I mean, these questions is need confirmation. In large operating system copying requires more time and until i saw that copying is complete passed unnecessary time.
Last edited by otoshan on Sat 08 Aug 2015, 23:04, edited 4 times in total.

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#54 Post by mcewanw »

otoshan wrote: When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
http://i.imgur.com/iqAJZ3y.png

Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
http://i.imgur.com/xCt2gDt.jpg
Yes, I've played around with different window managers too, and had similar problems with conky and wallpapers. Trouble is, distribution builders have no option but to limit themselves to one or a few window manager possibilities in terms of getting everything stable and tested. As soon as you change window manager or wallpaper changing mechanisms a whole slew of new issues do, it seems to me, always tend to need to be addressed - which is a big job sometimes. Even icewm gave a lot of problems during original development of DebianDog, because of small but critical timing issues, which caused background wallpapers not not show through or for other windows to show through to the foreground when we don't want them to. Hopefully someone has time to figure it all out, but I think any major change like wm and so on does tend to need to be dealt with on a case by case basis.

So I guess we need various specialists, who are familiar with their preferred wm/wallpaper-changer combinations to sort out the issues best they can and report back their findings/solutions. I doubt Toni can sort out all such extras himself, though I must say he does a good job trying!

I haven't been using Chromium so haven't encountered the issues otoshan highlights about that.

Having read the posts, I am curious about variety though, which is why I looked up its ppa yesterday (prior to Toni's comments about DEVX add-apt-repository command availability) for manual installation into sources.list. How does it compare to using 'nitrogen' in terms of functionality and resource usage? In other words, is it worth changing over to that in my own openbox set up (baring in my these outstanding conky/Chromium issues with using it)?

William

EDIT: on my own machine, on the whole, I do tend to stick with JWM/Rox pinboard combination, since it is enough for me, but conky is nice to display sometimes (especially when you can so easily toggle it on and off, and I like Fred's dogradio which has conky as a dependency)
github mcewanw

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#55 Post by saintless »

Hi otoshan.
otoshan wrote:When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
http://i.imgur.com/iqAJZ3y.png
Looks different on my system using the last openBox setup packages from Fred.
Click here for screenshot
And it is not full screen in both screenshots from you and me. Press F11 and chromium-browser will hide the taskbar.
Maybe something installed later in your system is the cause of the problem but I can't say what exactly.
Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
http://i.imgur.com/xCt2gDt.jpg
I don't think we can fix this. The only fix I can suggest is to setup conky to use color like in the screenshot here.
Edit: Would be great Toni if in RemasterDog has skip prompt or ask before copying for "Create module" and "Delete squash folder". I mean, these questions is need confirmation. In large operating system copying requires more time and until i saw that copying is complete passed unnecessary time.
I don't recommend such option. Both prompts are needed. In my opinion you can clean many files from chrome-browser and other programs inside $HOME/ and you can also remove the locale files you don't need.
You can easy edit /opt/bin/remaster-mint-cli script to do what you like or I can do it for you but it is better to do some more celaning in $HOME/ before remastering. In time you will get huge cache files from browsers and other programs included in your main module.

Toni

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#56 Post by saintless »

Hi William.
mcewanw wrote:Having read the posts, I am curious about variety though, which is why I looked up its ppa yesterday (prior to Toni's comments about DEVX add-apt-repository command availability) for manual installation into sources.list. How does it compare to using 'nitrogen' in terms of functionality and resource usage? In other words, is it worth changing over to that in my own openbox set up (baring in my these outstanding conky/Chromium issues with using it)?
Just quick tested yesterday but I can say variety has many options. Like check and download new wallpaper every few minutes and auto change wallpaper with time interval (even every few seconds). I guess using the option to auto-download new wallpapers will result in more resource usage.
But I'm only guessing because I don't know much about variety or nitrogen.

Edit: I forgot to add variety adds 124Mb to MintPup fresh install with all needed python dependencies.

Toni

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#57 Post by fredx181 »

Hi, otoshan
When Chromium is in fullscreen a part is under openbox taskbar.
Probably can be fixed;
From menu > Openbox > Tint2 panel > Edit config file
Find the line: strut_policy = none (under Panel autohide section)
and comment it out, (if it is not already) so becomes this:

Code: Select all

# strut_policy = none
Also i don't know is this bug from openbox or conky, but i want to report when wallpaper is changed for 4-5 seconds conky use background from previous wallpaper.
It can be because of variety, didn't test your setup.

When I change wallpaper from terminal, like this:

Code: Select all

mint ~ # hsetroot -fill /opt/docs/pictures/01.jpg
mint ~ # hsetroot -fill /opt/docs/pictures/04.jpg
mint ~ # hsetroot -fill /opt/docs/pictures/06.jpg
The background from conky changes also, also when I use nitrogen for changing wallpaper.
(menu > Set Wallpaper)

What you can try is to disable nitrogen in the autostart.sh script, it could conflict with variety:
Menu > Openbox > Autostart Config and comment out the nitogen line:

Code: Select all

# nitrogen --restore &
And logout and back in.

Nice that you are testing my openbox setup, btw!
These days I don't have time to make improvements, I will later.

Edit:
Btw, what I see from terminal output on your remasterdog screenshot looks really bad.
(broken pipe) I'm not sure you can trust the created remastered module, don't know what's wrong though, sorry.

Fred

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#58 Post by saintless »

fredx181 wrote:Edit:
Btw, what I see from terminal output on your remasterdog screenshot looks really bad.
(broken pipe) I'm not sure you can trust the created remastered module, don't know what's wrong though, sorry.
Good observation Fred, I didn't notice the messages. We could have the same problem in DebianDog. I will explain what is the problem in my opinion.

Otoshan,
I can reproduce the same broken pipe message but only sometimes and only from user account. Never from root account.
The good news is comparing the result with broken pipe message and without broken pipe message the working folder is the same in both cases.
Check in your remastered module if you can find:
/var/spool/mail link
/var/spool/plymouth folder
/var/lib/dpkg/info/zlib1g:i386.symbols file

If you have them there is no problem with the remastered module caused by remasterdog script broken pipe messages.

Now the reason for the problem in my opinion:
remasterdog and remastercow use /opt/bin/gsu-root script with ktsuss line. I think for some reason ktsuss doesn't work well all the time in MintPup (possible in DebianDog also). Maybe because of the progressbar without the latest fix from Fred included yet. Or maybe I did something wrong editing the script for MintPup. I don't know yet.

When you have time replace /opt/bin/gsu-root with the attached gsu-root in archive.
The change inside the script is from:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh 

if [ "`whoami`" != "root" ]; then 
ktsuss -u root "$@" 
else 
"$@" 
fi 
to.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh 

if [ "`whoami`" != "root" ]; then 
gsu "$@" 
else 
"$@" 
fi 
Or with the same result you can simply run remasterdog from terminal instead from menu typing:

Code: Select all

remasterdog
You don't need to type sudo. There will be prompt window to type user password instead root password.

if you don't get broken pipe messages anymore I will add this in fixes post and make new deb-package to fix /opt/bin/gsu script or menu files for remasterdog and remastercow.

And I recommend you to use "sudo /opt/bin/remaster-mint-cli" instead the GUI version till we have confirmation the fix works.

Toni
Attachments
gsu-root.tar.gz
Extract the archive in /opt/bin to replace old gsu-root
(177 Bytes) Downloaded 305 times

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#59 Post by saintless »

This post is mostly for me and Fred but anyone interested to help is welcome.

Using mintpup yad GUI installer as user started from menu entry will ask for root password (ktsuss -u root). It is the same in DebianDog.
Few days ago we found progress bar bug and it is connected with the problem (mintpup installer has the same bug as debdog-installer included in debdog iso).
Running from user account mintpup GUI installer from menu entry or using ktsuss results in broken pipe messages at the end of copying. But starting the script from terminal by typing remasterdog will use the gsu line included in the script and we have no more broken pipe messages:
Click here for screenshot
Using ktsuss with remasterdog two times results in different number broken pipe error lines as you can see in the screenshot above (and sometimes without broken pipe messages).
Typing remasterdog (using gsu line in the script) results with no broken pipe error messages.

Comparing the result from all three working folders shows using ktsuss cleans /var/log files but using gsu doesn't clean /var/log files (which was the first indication remasterdog has some problem for fixing):
Click here for screenshot

Removing the /var/log files from gsu started remasterdog and comparing the folder size shows only one file more in one of the ktsuss started remasterdog working folders:
Click here for screenshot

Because I think its is important to know why one file more is included in one of the working folders I did some searching and the extra file is broken symlink to /tmp socket file (which is normal since I use geany or dillo sometimes while remastering):
Click here for screenshot

In general I can say mintpup installer is safe to use from user account in any way but it is recommended to start it from terminal instead from menu entry till we have some solution for this issue.

Now what is the situation with DebianDog remasterdog script.
I made frugall install from latest DD-Wheezy-Jwm iso and tested remasterdog with ktsuss as user puppy without installing or upgrading any packages:
Click here for screenshot

Then upgraded the packages with latest fixes:
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/De ... 4_i386.deb
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/De ... 3_i386.deb
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/De ... 1_i386.deb
http://kazzascorner.com.au/saintless/De ... 3_i386.deb
Then tested latest fixed remasterdog with ktsuss -u root command from terminal:
Click here for screenshot
And from menu entry (which uses the same ktsuss command):
Click here for screenshot
The result is never ending broken pipe messages using user account and ktsuss to start latest remasterdog. I didn't wait more than few minutes but seems the old remsterdog works better using ktsuss from user account in DebianDog.

I don't know what to suggest at the moment but I think the progress bar mistery continue. Maybe we can use gsu instead ktsuss and this seems to resolve the problem but I'm not sure about that.

Suggestions and thoughts about this strange problem are welcome.
If I have to make suggestion now it is to use simple cli remastering scripts without progress bar and without background process.

Toni

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#60 Post by fredx181 »

Toni wrote:This post is mostly for me and Fred but anyone interested to help is welcome.

Using mintpup yad GUI installer as user started from menu entry will ask for root password (ktsuss -u root). It is the same in DebianDog.
Few days ago we found progress bar bug and it is connected with the problem (mintpup installer has the same bug as debdog-installer included in debdog iso). ..
......
Hopefully I'm right being optimistic, I can't see a real problem, see my answer in DebianDog thread :

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 928#859928

Fred

Post Reply