Page 3 of 6

Posted: Wed 16 May 2012, 11:13
by jaydee
battleshooter, appreciate the feedback.

its the openbox that comes as the default wm in lupu, specs say
openbox 3.4.11 , repo has it as openbox_3.4.10-1 .
the xdgmenu that also shows up in repo composes the start menu so it shouldnt (probably?) be necessary.

Tracking down the transparency command sounds like a tall order for my skillset, but i ll certainly give it a go. Also attached my conkyrc file, in case any specific setting in it contributes to the effect (also added a preview pic, to keep the punters passing through happy).

like yourself, i have nothing against feh, i just looked through its files, and it seems feh was designed for a completely different reason and function; it seems a bit too much for what we want it for (although still a great working fix).

thanks again for the effort.

Posted: Thu 17 May 2012, 10:00
by battleshooter
Well that's got to be the weirdest thing ever. I tried fiddling around with the conkyrc file for the "Cherries" theme in OpenBox but wasn't able to achieve any transparency. Then I tried your compact lua theme (it's a nice take on the original by the way :)) and true enough it was black and then eventually went transparent. I'll have to look more into this tomorrow, maybe copy the settings from the compact lua conkyrc and try to work them with another theme.

Posted: Thu 17 May 2012, 19:02
by jaydee
its weird, right ?!

I was going back and forth on all the startup scripts and got lost, so i went back to the conkyrc file, commenting out rules and it seems that the rule that allows this is

Code: Select all

 own_window_type override 
(none of the other options exhibits this).
According to the conky configuration page, Override windows are not under the control of the window manager, meaning no wm decorations or rules apply.
So we might not be getting transparency per se (none of the argb/opacity values work), but just that the base window (border, label,) isn't drawn;why the background lags is right now beyond me. To get variable transparency in openbox, i think we probably need a compositor like xcompmgr, as per urukrama's guide.

This could very well be a weird glitch/coincidence that made me jump into a convenient conclusion.

Posted: Mon 21 May 2012, 04:33
by alwaysalonee

Code: Select all

own_window_type override
this is a magic code for transparency :shock:
in greenlua conky rc file i put that line and it begin to give transparency :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :

Posted: Mon 21 May 2012, 08:53
by battleshooter
I haven't had time to really process your post jaydee, I'll be busy most this week, but just thought to post to let you know I haven't forgotten about OpenBox and Conky.
alwaysalonee wrote:this is a magic code for transparency
Haha, that made me laugh :)

Posted: Mon 21 May 2012, 14:50
by `f00
..enable wand gestures (pesky brooms with pails ;)

This may be ot for this particular conky (use the old 161 myself since 181 gave me multiple pids in htop), but pseudotrans needs always a bg set before conky starts - however you set it. Sometimes the wm does it like enlightenment, afterstep, startfluxbox or if flux/blackbox/? does it in the style when changing that; other wms I do the bg-set as the first line for each wm, then wbar, then conky (with sleep-delay as desired) in a ~/Startup/script. As noted conky 'catches up' after awhile (sooner or later, depending). If a rox pinboard is used, that can be yet another background (if roxpin has been set up as an on-demand item) or the initial method :|

On some of my pups, openbox likes a normal or desktop rather than override - otherwise windows may open under the layer conky is on. Enlightenment has different needs as well (akin to xfce as I recall, but with a few differences of course)

Depending on your 'clutter' preferences, more control can be exerted (like iconizing to the task/client list or..) with the 'skip' parameters - wms and pagers allowing. Funny, I used to use this to hide desktop icons under conky

Posted: Mon 21 May 2012, 16:40
by alwaysalonee
here's a trick for noobs by a noob
create a script name it yoconky and paste code

Code: Select all

conky -c /root/.conky/greenlua/conkyrc
set_wallpaper /root/imgs/cool.jpg
you will need to change paths to files tho :P
additionally i put this script in bin folder and in tint2 in clock setting on right click i give it as command so i just have to right click on clock to get some things done easily :)

Posted: Tue 29 May 2012, 21:31
by Colonel Panic
This looks good. I might give it a try next weekend when hopefully I'll have some spare time. Thanks for the thread and info.

Cheers,

CP .

OB Transparency

Posted: Thu 31 May 2012, 13:49
by scott2907
Hi Guys
This is a great thread and I got conky in and working no bother.
I'm having trouble with my lua rings tho -

Code: Select all

conky: llua_do_call: function conky_clock_rings execution failed:attempt to call a nil value
Also, my /usr/local/apps/Wallpaper directory doesn't exist. Instead I have an executable there of the same name that is nathan's wallpaper switcher.
No hidden files either. So I can't put my transparency setting in there as you describe.

Thanks for any help here.
*Intel something-or-other, 1GB, Openbox, wbar, slacko.*
Tom

Re: OB Transparency

Posted: Thu 31 May 2012, 15:44
by battleshooter
scott2907 wrote:Hi Guys

This is a great thread and I got conky in and working no bother.
I'm having trouble with my lua rings tho -

Code: Select all

conky: llua_do_call: function conky_clock_rings execution failed:attempt to call a nil value
That's weird, I thought I edited the code to remove that error. It basically comes up if you don't have the things installed that are being displayed in the rings.

Stick this I suppose at the top of the clock_rings.lua file after all the red comments and I think it should fix your problem.

Code: Select all

if value == nil then value = 0 end
pct = value/pt['max']
scott2907 wrote: Also, my /usr/local/apps/Wallpaper directory doesn't exist. Instead I have an executable there of the same name that is nathan's wallpaper switcher.
No hidden files either. So I can't put my transparency setting in there as you describe.
Haha, actually that executable is the folder. If you click on the folder while holding shift, it should open normally as a folder. :)
scott2907 wrote: slacko
Do the pets I uploaded in this thread work on Slacko? :shock: Or are you using a Conky pet for Slacko?

Re: OB Transparency

Posted: Thu 31 May 2012, 19:04
by scott2907
Thanks for the answer I'll give it a go.
battleshooter wrote: Do the pets I uploaded in this thread work on Slacko? :shock: Or are you using a Conky pet for Slacko?
yup they seem to! At least your Conky pet did, I still don't have LUA working, but I'm sure that's user error.

and regarding the wallpaper icon- That's just weird!!!

Posted: Tue 14 Aug 2012, 15:08
by koulaxizis
Nice post my friend! I finally managed to set up conky as i like! Thank you! :)

conky troubles

Posted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 16:33
by Haut_Dawg
Hi! I'm fooling around with conky this morning. I have done step 1 and step 2. I seem to be missing something. Here's my screeny. Thank for any help.
Cheers!
Haut_Dawg

Posted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 17:02
by James C
One of my current Conky configs......

Posted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 07:48
by nilsonmorales
I like my conky+lua
thank you batleshooter
ImageImage

Posted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 16:16
by nilsonmorales
in bargraph works too
ImageImage

Posted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 21:55
by recobayu
nilson, that's very impressive! :D
how to make like yours?
gradient n what font do you use?
thanks

Posted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 09:48
by nilsonmorales
I guess you already have running conky lua and conky switcher
send screenshots
regards

Posted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 10:26
by solo
Does anyone still have a link to a repository containing the conky-1.8.1.pet that works?

I can't find one anywhere.

Posted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 10:44
by ally