Page 4 of 5

Battery life

Posted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 13:40
by jogreer
Hi.

I can't confirm the increased battery life, but I sent a message to Zwane (programmer of the p4clockmod module) asking for a revert to the old setting when it worked. Let's wait for his reply and I'll post it here.

In WinXP the lower throttle decreased the fan noise level because the temperature went down, and that's good enough for me.

Yes I just tested powersave and it worked, though it is really slow.

I can confirm increased battery life from 1hr 20min on performance to 1hr 50min on ondemand when using it in Windows XP.

Now I have found a hack that doesn't require a new compilation of kernel:

cd /lib/modules/2.6.xx.x/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq
cp p4-clockmod.ko p4-clockmod.ko.backup
hexdump -Cv p4-clockmod.ko.backup > p4-clockmod.ko.hex
geany p4-clockmod.ko.hex
Hit search for "81 96 98" and change the "81" to "80".
Now save and exit geany
hexdump -R p4-clockmod.ko.hex > p4-clockmod.ko
Reboot computer

This did the trick for me!

I also added these lines to /root/Startup/start_cpu_freq to make the behaviour of ondemand more responsive (switches up on >20% load and checks load every 0,1 secs):
echo 1000000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/sampling_rate
echo 20 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ondemand/up_threshold

Good luck!

How to disable CPU frequency scaling tool

Posted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 13:54
by akash_rawal
Respected trio,

How to disable CPU frequency scaling tool?
I am using lucid puppy 511 with CPU frequency scaling tool 1.3-1 installed and enabled by default and that is slowing down my computer. I cannot find any option to disable it. I have also tried deleting /root/Startup/start_cpu_freq file but the tool still doesn't release its control over the CPU ( The first screen does show that CPU frequency scaling is disabled but HardInfo shows CPU speed as 1600MHz instead of normal 2533MHz in puppy 430 ).

My computer doesn't have any CPU overheating problem.

Posted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 18:34
by jogreer
Add this to a script in /root/Startup/:
bash -c "echo performance > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor"
bash -c "echo performance > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/cpufreq/scaling_governor"

Posted: Tue 29 Mar 2011, 04:45
by akash_rawal
jogreer wrote: Add this to a script in /root/Startup/...
That pushes up frequency till 2400MHz, but I discovered a better solution.
Go to Menu>System>BootManager. Then click "Choose which system services to run at startup:", then uncheck "start_cpu_freq" checkbox, click OK button, then reboot.
This pushes up frequency back to normal, 2533MHz.

Posted: Sun 20 Nov 2011, 12:49
by nooby
I feel so embarrassed. I really need to learn this but it seems my
brain are no on par. I have no idea what to do with the info in the thread.

I have a Asus EeePC 900 with a Celeron M353 most likely.
Not sure how I can find out. Asus changed their mobos very often
and have obscure ways to tell the buyer what is on them.
It gets hotter and hotter and the fan is on the whole time and fail
to lower the tem it goes up and up so I need scaling or something like that.

Posted: Thu 05 Jan 2012, 17:53
by Karl Godt

Code: Select all

#echo "`cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies`" > /tmp/freq_tmp_max
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies |tr -s ' '|tr ' ' '\n'|sort -gr >/tmp/freq_tmp_max

> /tmp/freq_max
for i in `cat /tmp/freq_tmp_max`
do
echo "$i " | awk '{print "<item>"$1"</item>"}' >> /tmp/freq_max
done

#echo "`cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies`" > /tmp/freq_tmp_min
sort -g /tmp/freq_tmp_max >/tmp/freq_tmp_min

#> /tmp/freq_min1
#for i in `cat /tmp/freq_tmp_min`
#do
#echo "$i " >> /tmp/freq_min1
#done
#sort -n "/tmp/freq_min1" >  /tmp/freq_min2

> /tmp/freq_min
for i in `cat /tmp/freq_tmp_min`
do
echo "$i " | awk '{print "<item>"$1"</item>"}' >> /tmp/freq_min
done

#echo "/tmp/freq_min" >  /tmp/freq_min
I have simplified the code of cpu_freq_1 script as above , to show the max as max and not min as the max in the max line of the gui at first popup .