Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#826 Post by playdayz »

Some 4 hours before your post here, I reported on java already.
Thanks Beem. I was reading message sin order and jumped ahead to test. You and I got the same results.

Wuwei, I also read that. Nice to know it works. Did it test out OK?

aarf

#827 Post by aarf »

@playdayz
just a quick play at something i haven't any experience in gives.
first impression and maximized

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

ICONDIR="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons"

if [ ! -L /mnt/home ]; then

export firstrunwiz="
<window title=\"First Run Configuration\">

 <vbox>
 
  <text width-request=\"750\"><label>\"Welcome to Lucid Puppy 5.0.  The graphical desktop has been configured automatically.  Here are several tools that you can use to personalize your Puppy.  You can use the ones you want now, if any, and if you do not use them now, they are available for use later under Desktop and Setup in the Menu.\"</label></text> 
  <hbox>
    <button ok></button>
   </hbox> 
 
   <frame Locale>
   <hbox width-request=\"750\"> 
    <text><label>Run Locale to set language, currency and local settings</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-font.xpm</input>
     <action>exec chooselocale &</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Timezone>
   <hbox width-request=\"750\"> 
    <text><label>Run the Timezone Setter</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-clock.xpm</input>
     <action>exec timezone-set &</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Date and Time>
   <hbox width-request=\"750\"> 
    <text><label>Run the Date and Time Setter</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-clock.xpm</input>
     <action>exec set-time-for-puppy &</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Keyboard and Video Resolution> 
   <hbox width-request=\"750\"> 
    <text width-request=\"750\"><label>\"The Keyboard and Video Resolution Setter will allow you to choose a non-US keyboard and to select the preferred resolution for your screen display.  It will also allow you to select an alternate driver for Intel video chips.\"</label></text> 
   </hbox> 
    <hbox> 
    <text><label>Run the Keyboard and Video Resolution Setter</label></text> 
    <button> 
     <input file>$ICONDIR/prompt16.xpm</input> 
     <action>exec excon</action> 
    </button> 
   </hbox> 
  </frame> 
 <frame Simple Network Setup> 
   <hbox width-request=\"750\"> 
    <text width-request=\"750\"><label>\"Puppy has several tools to connect to the Internet but this is the easiest and it works in most situations.  If you do not know that you have an unusual connection, then it will probably work for you.  If it does not, then please click the connect icon to the left on the desktop when you are ready to connect.\"</label></text> 
   </hbox> 
   <hbox> 
    <text><label>Run the Simple Network Setup</label></text> 
    <button> 
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-telnet.xpm</input> 
     <action>exec sns</action> 
    </button> 
   </hbox> 
  </frame> 
 </vbox>  
</window>"
gtkdialog3 -p firstrunwiz -c

unset firstrunwiz

fi
Last edited by aarf on Tue 11 May 2010, 06:12, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wuwei
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 11:59
Location: formerly de; now in tranquility

#828 Post by wuwei »

playdayz wrote
Wuwei, I also read that. Nice to know it works. Did it test out OK?
Yes it does playdayz.

My approach worked with 363 in Puppy 432v3 and with 364 in Lupu 117. about:plugins shows java in both cases.
Tested it on screentoaster.com and any video I tried ran fine.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#829 Post by nooby »

I have to test tomorrow. I stood at same download time for a long long time so maybe very many was dl when I tried. I try to dl it at my local time morning when all of you are at sleep?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Tasgarth
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon 06 Oct 2008, 19:08
Location: France, Besancon
Contact:

#830 Post by Tasgarth »

Fresh frugal install of 117 with a new save file.
Several tests.(keyboard 'azerty', locale. Nvidia driver, Opera).

it's OK for me
Screenshots:
http://www.tasgarth.net/lupu117/lupu117.html

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#831 Post by playdayz »

My approach worked with 363 in Puppy 432v3 and with 364 in Lupu 117. about:plugins shows java in both cases.
For me also. Looks good. Thanks wuwei.

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#832 Post by mavrothal »

playdayz wrote:mavrothal, Would it be possible to send me the one that works please?
Get it from here http://www.sendspace.com/file/yab1om
md5sum 44e0568c3e1e6b8115917abb28f61c7a geode_drv.so.bz2
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

audacity install

#833 Post by don570 »

I tested lupu 116(frugal install) on an IBM desktop for sound and
came up with the following observations:
I already knew that mhwaveedit worked so I concentrated on audacity.
First I ran retrovol from the terminal and set the capture volume.
The capture source was set to 'line'.
I installed Audacity-1.3.7b-dpup.pet . I got two terminal errors when
launching the app --> libiconv.so.2 and libjack.so.0 not installed.
I had available libiconv-1.13.pet so I installed. I didn't have a libjack
pet so I installed an official Ubuntu package
libjack0_0.118+svn3796-1ubuntu2_i386.deb
to my surprise audacity worked. I could record by clicking on source icon
and choosing 'line' or 'capture'
In the preferences under 'Recording device',Audacity listed the device
as (hw:0,0) whereas mhwaveedit had listed it as
only hw. This can important information to know when using the terminal
command 'arecord'
In the terminal I typed
arecord -d 60 -f cd -D hw:0,0 output1.wav
to record 60 seconds of sound and it worked!! and when I tried
arecord -d 60 -f cd output1.wav
it worked as well.
I tested Pschedule with an 'arecord -d 60 -f cd output1.wav' command
and it worked!!
I rebooted(with no puppy_save file)and tested audacity-STA-1.39b.pet
with exact same results. I uninstalled audacity with puppy manager but
this leaves libjack and libiconv (and perhaps other important
libraries) still installed. Next I downloaded from
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/lucid/i386 ... y/1.3.12-2
audacity_1.3.12-2_i386.deb
A list of dependencies is on this site as well. I installed audacity but I
got the expected terminal errors.
My solution was to download from official Ubuntu site and
install in the following order:
libwxgtk2.8-0_2.8.10.1-0ubuntu1_i386.deb
libwxbase2.8-0_2.8.10.1-0ubuntu1_i386.deb
libflac++6_1.2.1-2build2_i386.deb
libsoundtouch1c2_1.3.1-2_i386.deb
libvamp-hostsdk3_2.1-1_i386.deb
libtwolame0_0.3.12-1_i386.deb
I got the error
Expression 'stream->capture.pcm' failed
in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 3653
but audacity opened anyway and worked!! Congratulations!
I rebooted(with no puppy_save file) and installed Audacity-1.3.7b.pet
from the official puppy site and it was the simplest package
to install,only needing libflac++6_1.2.1-2build2_i386.deb
The conclusion: the problem with soundsource input has been solved!

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#834 Post by playdayz »

Great, don570. We will see to it. You started with the Audacity in Quickpet, am I right? Thanks.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Look how quick the brain trust got Java working in Firefox. I think it is important to look beyond the immediate goal, and so here is something I have been thinking about. Such a fine group of people has been working on Lucid Pup that if these people kept working, at a bit of a slower pace ;-) I think we could achieve some very interesting things. In particular I have been thinking that perhaps groups or individuals could take charge of different elements of Lucid Pup, say, a group working on multimedia playing--which is not currently a strong point I would not say. Another group working on glx/dri, compizz, and so forth, Maybe an individual--such as don570--on audacity). Individuals could adopt programs. Interest groups could focus on the larger elements of Lucid Pup. I think we could not only make everything work really well, but we would have some knowledge to feed back into the rest of the Puppy universe. If that makes sense please just keep it in mind while we focus on the endgame with LP 5.0. Thank you.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also, I was interested in OpenJDK and the Icedtea plugin which I came across researching java. Here it is, built out of the Ubuntu binaries. As I discovered, evidently Sun java is not in the Lucid repos, or at least the main repo. Here it is. It runs the java test at java.com. And it appears that it will run the screen recorder at screentoaster.com, but there is a conflict in Firefox with the Alt-s that screentoaster uses. BTW, the thing about screentoaster is to run the screen recorder to test java, not just watch the videos, right?

http://www.diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/O ... cedtea.pet

It downloads at 32MB and unpacks when installed to 84MB which is about 40MB less than Sun java. This is one of the reasons for Lucid pup btw; to be able to go from idea to pet in less than an hour.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Another thing I have been meaning to mention is the choice of repos that micko has built into Quickpet. Click File -> Preferences and change from ibiblio and you will probably get better speed.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
just a quick play at something i haven't any experience in
Story of my life aarf. Thanks for the work.

User avatar
flugwelpe
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri 15 May 2009, 15:14
Location: Vienna, Austria

#835 Post by flugwelpe »

lupu-117 (frugal) - fujitsu siemens p1510d
* NOT OK: Quickpet / Lucid Puppy Update (freezes screen; needed restart)
* not there: blkid (how do i find hd UUID then??)
* ok: setting german keyboard
* ok: copy from shell to geany
* ok: video, firefox
* ok: ppp modem
really like the first start/setup wizard

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

audacity install

#836 Post by don570 »

to Playdayz
I haven't used quickpet yet since I don't have an internet connection at home.
I was using old packages that I downloaded in the past couple of months.
For instance I thought Audacity-1.3.7b-dpup.pet would be a good choice
to begin with because I assumed it uses debian sources.
I probably downloaded it off the murga forum at some time
but it's apparently still available at
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/dis ... ackages-5/ .
The easiest way to install audacity was the last method that I mentioned.
Thanks for your work.
Last edited by don570 on Tue 11 May 2010, 16:46, edited 1 time in total.

dalderton
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun 22 Apr 2007, 08:33

#837 Post by dalderton »

I dont know if it is my machine but for the first time with any Puppy derivative it is not possible to get the Dvorak keyboard to work, and also the Browser download and Quickpet programs do not work.All I get is connection timeout popup. I can use my Dvorak keyboard as it is switchable from Dvorak to Querty but the Puppy setup has always worked on all of the Puppys but this.Strange!
Regards Dennis

peser71
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 11 May 2010, 03:33

dialup softmodem connection

#838 Post by peser71 »

Congratulations, playdayz!

I think you are doing a good job. Start up sounds great, is better and faster than Puppy431.

Unfortunately I could not connect using my softmodem Conexant. It is detected by Puppy431 livecd,but not by lupu116. I don't know what can be wrong: wvdial, driver or something else.

Please, try to find a solution because I am afraid that the same problem is happenning with lupu117. However, if the bug was already corrected tell me, please.
Thank you and good luck!

User avatar
wuwei
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 11:59
Location: formerly de; now in tranquility

#839 Post by wuwei »

Playdayz wrote
BTW, the thing about screentoaster is to run the screen recorder to test java, not just watch the videos, right?
Yep, confirmed. FF364 with Java installed as described before works with the screentoaster recorder.

Thumbs up... :idea:

For a simple test if Java is successfully installed, run

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/JavaRuntimeEnvironment

Test1 and Test2 further down the page
Last edited by wuwei on Tue 11 May 2010, 15:15, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#840 Post by James C »

I've been using Iced Tea on my Mepis install for quite a while and it appears to work well.Whatever direction you choose is fine. :)
Overall, 117 is running fine....Quickpet works correctly, update shows none available, no crashes or explosions. :lol:

User avatar
wuwei
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 11:59
Location: formerly de; now in tranquility

#841 Post by wuwei »

If I understand this correctly

http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/linux-amd64 ... va-icedtea

then Iced Tea seems to be for 64 bit systems only. I may be wrong, but when you go to the 32-bit pages

http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/linux.html#Java

there is no mention of Iced Tea.

Will do some tests later in the day.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#842 Post by Lobster »

117 test

Straight into desktop - yeah! :)
Run simple network setup - yeah baby - one click of my mouse
and I have a working Puppy
Click 2 on browse and MY choice of browser 8)

Ran setup to install firewall - 3 clicks and I am secure
(ran Puppy for at least a year with no firewall
- not even in the router - now I have router plus Puppy firewall
+ Linux)

Next . . . Quickpet
2 of the most popular accelerated drivers - ATI and Nvidia
OK gonna try radeonhd - done

Ran the Quickpet updater . . . I am bang up to date
- cutting edge you might say . . .

is xlock - working? Seems to be - just about to try it
it now works

Next step - see following thread
OK have Firefox with java and able to run screentoaster . . .

Next will go in search of Kino
that should be harder
- so far - Too easy :D

We are Puppy
We have biscuits
Last edited by Lobster on Tue 11 May 2010, 07:36, edited 3 times in total.
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#843 Post by 01micko »

Hello

Try this firefox http://dpup.org/01Micko/lupu/firefox-3.6.3-Lucid.pet

and this is coolpup's java http://dpup.org/01Micko/lupu/jre-1.6.0.20.pet

They work 8)

Cheers

you may need wget to grab a large file from dpup.org

New links (old ones are still live ) thanks to smokey01

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/lucid/f ... -Lucid.pet 10,5M

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/lucid/jre-1.6.0.20.pet 36M
Last edited by 01micko on Tue 11 May 2010, 12:06, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#844 Post by 01micko »

Possible fix (work around) for bad drive icons after an SFS is loaded and when an SFS is unloaded. NOTE: this does not fix the other sfs icon problem :(

At the top of /root/.xinitrc

Code: Select all

. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
. /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG

if [ -f /root/.jwm/jwm_colors ];then #v3.96
. /root/.jwm/jwm_colors
fi

[ -x /usr/sbin/fixicons ] && fixicons #icon fix for lupu by 01micko

if [ "$LASTUNIONRECORD" != "$PREVUNIONRECORD" ];then  #sfs fix?
echo "ICONWIPE" >/tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
fi

#v4.01 BK daemon to handle kernel uevents...
/sbin/clean_desk_icons #v4.02 tidy up drive icons first.
/sbin/pup_event_frontend_d & #v403
The new entries are ...

Code: Select all

. /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG
AND

Code: Select all

if [ "$LASTUNIONRECORD" != "$PREVUNIONRECORD" ];then  #sfs fix?
echo "ICONWIPE" >/tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
fi
I tested about 5 times loading and unloading an SFS or two. Also tried no change.

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
wuwei
Posts: 800
Joined: Sat 15 Sep 2007, 11:59
Location: formerly de; now in tranquility

#845 Post by wuwei »

On page 54 darwinevOlved wrote
Only minor irritation is that icons that I'd deleted from the desktop reappeared - I think after I added an sfs to the startup.
This happens in practically all the Puppies when you add, change or delete a SFS. Solution:

Make a copy of /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin in the same directory and after your desktop is messed up again, override the original with the copy, naming it PuppyPin again. Restart X and you'll have your old desktop setup back.

Post Reply