Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Nov 2017, 17:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
netmon_wce - network tray monitor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 6 [77 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2015, 06:40    Post subject:  

New version is out, pets included. See main post

New features as described in the past couple of posts are added (not multiple interfaces - too much trouble). I didn't go with dhcpcd directly however, the patch is updated and that does deal with dhcpcd directly.


-------


@mikeb

Here is one line for your slax installs, and may even install with installpkg, even though it doesn't produce a legit slackware package -

Code:
sh patch_me.sh yes please && make && sh package non-pup


See the 'package' script for more details.

See the extras dir for hints on getting the tx and rx stats saving at shutdown. That is basically what is in puppy's rc.shutdown script and has been for several years (circa 2010).

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2015, 16:58    Post subject:  

Well much appreciated...

its not just a slax thing as me pups and related stuff tend to have less puppyisms to make them more generic anyway.

Plus puppyisms vary somewhat as you well know so I aim for the 'work for anything' approach when possible.

Well will be testing out if I can drag myself away from this rather nice escape we are at up a river where the world cannot find us though the mosquitoes seem to find us regardless... Smile

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jul 2015, 17:48    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
its not just a slax thing as me pups and related stuff tend to have less puppyisms to make them more generic anyway.


Sure. I don't like puppyisms myself, especially hard coding to /root Twisted Evil

BTW, I think I forgot to switch dhcpcd -k (from --release). You should be able to edit the patch ok - but no guarantees.

Thanks for your testing and suggestions - been a valuable contrib. Smile

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 15:05    Post subject:  

Been adrift for a while....

after the -k fix built cleanly and working happily... seems like a winner Smile

cheers

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jul 2015, 17:39    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Been adrift for a while....


Good for you Smile

mikeb wrote:
after the -k fix built cleanly and working happily... seems like a winner Smile

cheers

mike


Good. I'll probably edit the source at some point and bring out a more or less 'final' version, pending any bug reports. I'm pretty happy with it. Been running on my lappy ever since the last mention and ram/cpu is consistent so no evidence of any leakage.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 766
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jul 2015, 05:19    Post subject:  

Kicks butt, Mick! Noobish me fussing around lately, I've discovered the default network_tray in many/most (all?) Pups is one of the - if not *THE* - primary cause of Puppy's tendency towards somewhat high idle CPU use. That's always kinda' bugged me.

Quick test of your netmon_wce on this old Pentium D Optiplex GX620 running Tahrpup 6.0.2 clearly shows idle CPU use dropping from %4-6 to %1-2... flippin' great!! Finally, that issue seems fixed (here, at least). Polling enabled, too. Love the signal strength meter also.

Fantastic update! Cool

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jul 2015, 08:12    Post subject:  

Good to hear Bob Smile

Now if we can snag a few more reports I'll ensure it becomes the default in future woof-CE based puppies.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jul 2015, 19:32    Post subject:  

Minor update to version 2.6

See main post

Code:

20150727 netmon_wce-2.6
-----------------------
bugfix - gettext - remove '\n' char from translations for clarity
 -@line 221
 -@line 258
 -@line 313
 -@line 330
bugfix - fix compile warning -Wformat @line 139 (seen in tahrpup)
add .pot file to 'package'
===============================================================================


NOTE: a .pot file is included in the pet.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 794

PostPosted: Sun 13 Sep 2015, 03:27    Post subject:  

The old behaviour of Barry's network monitor is to also show network input and output.
I might be barking up the wrong tree here, but should there also be:
internet_connect_input.svg and internet_connect_output.svg in addition to internet_connect_both.svg?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 13 Sep 2015, 04:36    Post subject:  

Smithy wrote:
The old behaviour of Barry's network monitor is to also show network input and output.
I might be barking up the wrong tree here, but should there also be:
internet_connect_input.svg and internet_connect_output.svg in addition to internet_connect_both.svg?


TBH, I didn't want the icon to be too "loud" so that's why it's a bit toned down. BK's original had 5 icons, this one has 4.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 13 Sep 2015, 04:36    Post subject:  

Well that was a weird forum glitch. Definitely only clicked 'submit' once. Ignore this post.
_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1127
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 16 Sep 2015, 05:01    Post subject:  

Works great in both X-slacko and X-tahr. Dropped CPU usage at idle by 2%, thanks for this.
_________________
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Wed 16 Sep 2015, 06:44    Post subject:  

01micko; OK continuing on from the other thread .here
Quote:
I find that your finding is very strange. The design is that as soon as your connection drops the IP address the disconnected icon should appear. This has been tested several times.


What happens in precise 5.7.1 is that If I connect to my modem by WiFi and then I go and turn the Modem off netmon_wce shows that the connection is still good and in my case with full bars.

Perhaps its different with eth0 or others but that is the result I get with wlan0 using a Realtech adaptor running module 8192cu which is the proprietary driver compiled for kernel 3.9.

When the modem is switched off the computer does not drop the connection and probing shows an IP and a RF connection so maybe its to do with the adaptor and driver?

Give me a little time on this and I will go back over things to be sure I have it right.

Last edited by april on Wed 16 Sep 2015, 07:26; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 16 Sep 2015, 06:49    Post subject:  

No worries rg66

-------

Thanks april for the report. I don't have that adapter but I do have a few. I won't go to the length of installing precise just yet but if a reasonable outcome isn't achieved I will do that if nothing else works.

What connection manager are you using? (SNS, Frisbee, or other)

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Wed 16 Sep 2015, 07:11    Post subject:  

SNS and I just reran it to confirm .Attached screenshot is with the modem switched off as explained above.
netmon_wceModemOff.png
 Description   
 Filesize   184.18 KB
 Viewed   142 Time(s)

netmon_wceModemOff.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 [77 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0592s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]