Probing every start -solved

Discuss anything specific to using Puppy on a multi-session disk
T42

Probing every start -solved

#1 Post by T42 »

This quote is from Kajaan on July 24 2010 with no reply. It is exactly my problem:
"Unfortunately that hasn't been the case for me with Puppy 5.0. I've saved everytime I shutdown, but still get the Puppy Video Wizard everytime I start up.
So I guess I would like to know "how to set and save only one screen resolution." I'm totally new to Linux so it'd be great if I can be spoon fed how to disable the Puppy Video Wizard and automatically choose Xorg for LCD with resolution 1024x768x24 on startup.
Also there's nothing wrong with my video settings choices as Puppy's worked fine everytime. Any help would be appreciated. Cheers! "

My system:Athlon LE-1620, GeForce 7600GS 128MB, K8m890E, 4GB memory
puppy Lucid 5 on a multisession dvd [no hard drive or usb drive]
I even tried the save icon on my desktop. :)
Last edited by T42 on Sun 03 Jan 2016, 05:40, edited 1 time in total.

Semme

#2 Post by Semme »

:D Welcome Mate!

Say, if the numbers haven't changed when the wizard opens, you could try removing the executable flag on /usr/sbin/xorgwizard.sh, provided this file is aboard your version. It's exists on 528.

Code: Select all

chmod a-x /usr/sbin/xorgwizard.sh
Then save changes and see if she pops up on subsequent boots.
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

T42

#3 Post by T42 »

Thanks for the reply. I'll try it tomorrow .

T42

#4 Post by T42 »

I opened a console and typed what you wrote and it did the job. Thank you.

Semme

#5 Post by Semme »

Great! It's the opposite if you ever need it again.
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

partsman

#6 Post by partsman »

Well for what its worth I thought I would give my experience with this issue :D