Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Sep 2017, 05:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge » Multi-session live-CD/DVD
Probing every start -solved
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
T42

Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 05 Sep 2015, 11:00    Post subject:  Probing every start -solved
Subject description: Runs good, just being fussy
 

This quote is from Kajaan on July 24 2010 with no reply. It is exactly my problem:
"Unfortunately that hasn't been the case for me with Puppy 5.0. I've saved everytime I shutdown, but still get the Puppy Video Wizard everytime I start up.
So I guess I would like to know "how to set and save only one screen resolution." I'm totally new to Linux so it'd be great if I can be spoon fed how to disable the Puppy Video Wizard and automatically choose Xorg for LCD with resolution 1024x768x24 on startup.
Also there's nothing wrong with my video settings choices as Puppy's worked fine everytime. Any help would be appreciated. Cheers! "

My system:Athlon LE-1620, GeForce 7600GS 128MB, K8m890E, 4GB memory
puppy Lucid 5 on a multisession dvd [no hard drive or usb drive]
I even tried the save icon on my desktop. Smile

Last edited by T42 on Sun 03 Jan 2016, 01:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 05 Sep 2015, 15:32    Post subject:  

Very Happy Welcome Mate!

Say, if the numbers haven't changed when the wizard opens, you could try removing the executable flag on /usr/sbin/xorgwizard.sh, provided this file is aboard your version. It's exists on 528.
Code:
chmod a-x /usr/sbin/xorgwizard.sh

Then save changes and see if she pops up on subsequent boots.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T42

Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2015, 01:18    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply. I'll try it tomorrow .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T42

Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2015, 10:41    Post subject:  

I opened a console and typed what you wrote and it did the job. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2015, 10:57    Post subject:  

Great! It's the opposite if you ever need it again.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 358
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Sep 2015, 22:52    Post subject:  

Well for what its worth I thought I would give my experience with this issue Very Happy

When saving the session at shutdown xorg would start normal on the next boot Wink
But when saving with the desktop save icon the next reboot would cause xorg not to start and complain about not shutting down right etc. "sorry cant remember exact words Embarassed "
or would I like to go to a command line Shocked

I assume this is what your describing ?

_________________
Anyone can build a fast processor. The trick is to build a fast system. (Seymour Cray) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2015, 08:09    Post subject:  

partsman wrote:
When saving the session at shutdown xorg would start normal on the next boot Wink
But when saving with the desktop save icon the next reboot would cause xorg not to start and complain about not shutting down right etc. "sorry cant remember exact words Embarassed "
or would I like to go to a command line Shocked

I assume this is because there is still the hidden .XLOADED file in /root or /etc when you save while X is running and the file gets included in the saved session, which on the next boot makes Puppy believe that it wasn't properly shut down. The solution would then be to delete .XLOADED before saving.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 358
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Sep 2015, 12:35    Post subject:  

mostly_lurking wrote:
I assume this is because there is still the hidden .XLOADED file in /root or /etc when you save while X is running and the file gets included in the saved session, which on the next boot makes Puppy believe that it wasn't properly shut down. The solution would then be to delete .XLOADED before saving.


Thanks mostly_lurking Very Happy
Thanks also to T42 for bringing this up Wink

In the past I really didn't worry much about it I just pressed enter and allowed puppy to go ahead and start X "Just got used to it" and I never had a problem Wink But it was always one of those things I always wonder about ! Wink

Always something new to learn in the land of puppy ! Very Happy
Thanks all ! Wink

_________________
Anyone can build a fast processor. The trick is to build a fast system. (Seymour Cray) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T42

Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2015, 14:34    Post subject:  

Well a lot has happened!
partsman: no it happens every time no matter how I save it.
BEWARE! Semme's answer caused problems.
Two days later I shutdown with saving and when I started up the verbose: stopped with a xorg read error. " please type xorgwizard"
Which did nothing. Then I typed the script Semme gave me and it must have done something as there were no error message.
Then I typed xorgwizard and xorgwizard.sh which gave me I needed permission. I searched google but found no way of giving myself permission on the bootup vebose.
. But I could go no further. I tried searching for a command line of exit or shutdown with save, but I found nothing on google.
I gave up that try and pulled the wall plug on the computer.
Started up again and used F2 and [lucky!] found pfix=ignore the last n updates.
So I told it to ignore the last two updates [burns] and Bobs your uncle it worked!
So I'm back to doing the probe thing every bootup. I learnt some more stuff about Puppy
but it takes hours of searching to solve any problem and days of searching if I am under high adrenalin because of a system failure. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2015, 17:26    Post subject:    

Opposite of "minus" equals >> chmod a+x /usr/sbin/xorgwizard.sh

Wink It's important to be thorough before flagging another members post.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 358
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Sep 2015, 12:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
My system:Athlon LE-1620, GeForce 7600GS 128MB, K8m890E, 4GB memory
puppy Lucid 5 on a multisession dvd

I am just wondering T42 ? Did you install a video driver for your video card ?
Maybe that may help ! NVidia drivers usually work well with puppy ! Wink

Or you may try a newer puppy like Tahrpup that the open source drivers would be newer and maybe better !
I cant blame you for wanting to stick with Lucid though ! But you may have to install a video driver if you do ! Wink

_________________
Anyone can build a fast processor. The trick is to build a fast system. (Seymour Cray) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T42

Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 16 Sep 2015, 01:53    Post subject:  

Nope I just ran puppy live and everything worked. Lan ,sound ,video.
Having to press enter for the probe on startup is no hardship. Smile
Same success with a IBM T42 laptop, except no probe prompt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T42

Joined: 02 Jun 2015
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2015, 11:26    Post subject:  

I found out what was going on. The Puppy box is fed into a KVM.
If the KVM is selected to Puppy when I start Puppy, it goes straight to the desktop.
If the KVM is selected to one of the other computers when I start Puppy
it goes to the probe first. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge » Multi-session live-CD/DVD
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1102s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]