Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Nov 2017, 01:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
YaPI (yet another Puppy Installer) install any Puppy iso
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 29 of 31 [461 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2016, 11:58    Post subject: Re: close yapi
Subject description: yapi-2016-03-25
 

L18L wrote:

and as zigbert wrote:
This Pmount is not a pet-package as we are now in the 'Cutting edge' section - not 'Additional software'.
this version is also not a pet. Cool

I disagree with the idea of not posting, as a pet-package, just because it is in the 'Cutting edge' section' of the forum.

AS we have already proven. Testing the final version, as a pet-package, also can find problems with the program.
A pet-package is also easier for people to use and help with testing.

In early stages of coding the program. I agree a pet-package is not the way to offer a program for testing and code tweaking. But when it looks like a good working program. Next step is to see how it works as a pet-package.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Tue 29 Mar 2016, 12:17    Post subject: Re: close yapi
Subject description: yapi-2016-03-25 bug fix
 

bigpup wrote:
Is this where you wanted YaPI to do the shutdown?
After hitting OK here?
see image below.

It goes back to select a drive.
It does the shutdown after you select another drive.


Yes.
Exactly there.
You found another bug.
Fix it by deleting line number 721 which is:
Code:
chooseDEVICE
. Feel free to create a pet. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2016, 17:23    Post subject: YaPI pet package with minor bug fixes
Subject description: Final release
 

YaPI pet package with minor bug fixes.
Final release.

Made pet package in Precise 5.7.1
It seems to be able to install in any Puppy series 5 or newer.
So, should work in a lot of Puppy versions.

Some older Puppies will not offer SuperFloppy install option or have the refresh button in the iso list. They have too old a xdialog and not the proper SuperFloppy support files.
Frugal and full installs should work.

The pet will put YaPI menu entry in Setup.
The menu entry may not work in very old Puppy series 5 versions. However, run yapi from the console should work.
yapi file is in /usr/sbin

All install options should work, in the latest Puppy versions, made with Woof-CE.
Options:
Frugal
Full
SuperFloppy
Right click on iso file and select "open with.... yapi"
yapi.pet
Description  YaPI 2016-03-25 final release
pet

 Download 
Filename  yapi.pet 
Filesize  12.18 KB 
Downloaded  198 Time(s) 

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Tue 19 Apr 2016, 23:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2016, 18:22    Post subject: Re: close yapi
Subject description: yapi-2016-03-25 bug fix
 

L18L wrote:
Feel free to create a pet. Very Happy

I did Very Happy Cool Laughing

This is not YaPI's problem, but is Tahrpup.
I am still trying to find the reason Tahrpup 6.0.5 (32 bit version) will not offer to do a SuperFloppy install.
It has something to do with the needed files for this code:
Code:
# test and make make isohybrid
 [ "$(test_isohybrid)" = "hybr" ] || { isohybrid ${chosenISO} 2>/dev/null ; sync ; } #160303

It works in these Puppies:
Slacko 6.3.0
Slacko64 6.3.0
Tahrpup64 6.0.5 (64 bit version)

They all seem to have their own versions of the isohybrid needed files.
I have tried using different isohybrid files in Tahrpup 6.0.5 (32bit). Well, the ones from Slacko 6.3.0.
No help.

Could usr/bin/mkhybrid be involved in this? Idea
If yes.
That is another mess of each version of Puppy having their own version of mkhybrid Idea

Anyone got any ideas? Question

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2016, 10:07    Post subject: Re: close yapi
Subject description: yapi-2016-03-25 bug fix
 

bigpup wrote:
I am still trying to find the reason Tahrpup 6.0.5 (32 bit version) will not offer to do a SuperFloppy install.
It has something to do with the needed files for this code:
Code:
# test and make make isohybrid
 [ "$(test_isohybrid)" = "hybr" ] || { isohybrid ${chosenISO} 2>/dev/null ; sync ; } #160303

Sorry, this code is faulty.
- The function test_hybrid needs an argument.(= ${chosenISO})
- Without argument the result of this function can never become "hybr"
- Thus isohybrid is always launched
- If it is not on the system (executable ELF) then the iso never gets converted
- Does no harm if it is already a hybrid iso
- Does no harm if it is not a hybrid iso.
- Not being installed as Superfloppy does no harm.
Cool Just my humble opinion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2016, 15:33    Post subject:  

Any input on this maybe offered as a replacement for the Puppy Universal Installer?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2017, 17:57    Post subject:  

@bigpup
Yapi did not work out for me when installing to USB flash drive, so I put it aside with the intent to return. I am back. Again it did not work, but I won't give any details as it was run from my hybrid tahr-6.0.2~6.0.5. I'll run it from another puppy and report if unsuccessful.

However, since you were very involv4d in the dialogs for YaPi, I am directing these comments about the texts in the dialog boxes to you for rewrite and clarification.

The dialogbox shown in Yapi_scrn-1 is confusing with 'this' and 'any'
Simply, the 2 options to install from are:
    the puppy now running
    any puppy.iso, wherever it is stored.

see the suggested changes in red.

Yapi_scrn_2
I don't understand what is being stated in the first sentence.
But foolishly, I am going to take a stab at restructuring the sentence and ask you to insert your understanding at the appropriate place (...). [I can't rewrite what I don't understand]. Wink

In the last sentence beginning with 'Or use a USB stick', the use of 'or' suggests it is an alternative. What is the stick an alternative to? A hard drive?
And, 'completely formatted' is redundant; I don't think we can partially format a drive.

Yapi normally creates a FAT32 formatted partition. If you want to ...., then create at least one Linux formatted partition. If you use a USB stick, it will be reformatted (so also a hard drive).
yapi_scr_1.png
 Description   yapi dialog-box #1
 Filesize   17.33 KB
 Viewed   186 Time(s)

yapi_scr_1.png

yapi_scr_2.png
 Description   Yapi dialogbox #2
 Filesize   9.73 KB
 Viewed   189 Time(s)

yapi_scr_2.png


_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2017, 18:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
The dialogbox shown in Yapi_scrn-1 is confusing with 'this' and 'any'
Simply, the 2 options to install from are:

the puppy now running
any puppy.iso, wherever it is stored.

The first statement line changes to match the Puppy version you are running Yapi in.
It actually states the Puppy version name.
This makes sure you understand what version of Puppy you are choosing to install.
So, I am not going to change that.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2017, 19:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
Yapi_scrn_2
I don't understand what is being stated in the first sentence.
But foolishly, I am going to take a stab at restructuring the sentence and ask you to insert your understanding at the appropriate place (...). [I can't rewrite what I don't understand]. Wink

In the last sentence beginning with 'Or use a USB stick', the use of 'or' suggests it is an alternative. What is the stick an alternative to? A hard drive?
And, 'completely formatted' is redundant; I don't think we can partially format a drive.

I can see your confusion.

I will work on that one.

Thanks for input!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2548
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Aug 2017, 20:21    Post subject: iso-installer ... just an example
Subject description: requires hybrid iso ..
 

Great idea... Easy way to install different ISOs,

Here is an example of my take on it:

NOTE this is not used, tested or intended to be complete!!
It is just an example.


USE AT YOUR OWN RISK

Modify as you need, the drive selection probably needs updating ...

It uses only the dd method, you need a BLANK drive to use!!

It does no safety checks on your drive, it DOES NOT confirm before install

This is just 'in theory'.. You would be the first to actually test and use it, I don't have any spare USBs to test..

If your house blows up don't blame me...

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# install a puppy iso to a disk device
# just an example, not a real app

set -a

go(){
   # check if ISO file
   [ "`file "$ISO_FILE" | grep 'CD-ROM filesystem'`" = '' ] && Xdialog --msgbox "Choose a valid ISO file.." 0 0 && exit 1
   
   
   # make sure file exists
   [ ! -f "$ISO_FILE" ] && Xdialog --msgbox "File does not exist" 0 0 && echo 1
   
   # make Hybrid ISO if needed
   [ "`file "$ISO_FILE" | grep 'bootable'`" = '' ] && echo "Converting to Hybrid ISO..." && isohybrid "$ISO_FILE"
   
   # error if not a hybrid ISO
   [ $? -eq 1 ] && Xdialog --msgbox "Error, cannot make '$ISO_FILE' into a Hybrid ISO" 0 0 && exit 1
   
   # unmount the chosen device before we install to it!
   umount "/dev/$DEVICE" 2>/dev/null
   
   # exit if we didn't unmount ok
   [ $? -eq 1 ] && Xdialog --msgbox "Error. Check device '$DEVICE' exists and is NOT mounted." 0 0 && exit 1
   
   # flag
   done=false
   
   echo "Installing '$ISO_FILE' to '$DEVICE ... '"
   
   # do the install and mark $done as true, then sync
   dd bs=4M if="$ISO_FILE" of="/dev/$DEVICE" && done=true && sync
   
   # print final message
   if [ "$done" = true ];then
      Xdialog --msgbox "Success: Installed `basename "$ISO_FILE"` to /dev/$DEVICE" 0 0
   else
      Xdialog --msgbox "Error: `basename "$ISO_FILE"` not installed! Something went wrong!" 0 0
      exit 1
   fi

}
export -f go

# get list of devices to install to
make_device_list (){
   for x in `ls -1 /dev/ | grep -E '^sd|^hd' | grep [0-9] | tr '\n' ' ' `
    do
      DEVICES_LIST="$DEVICES_LIST<item>$x</item>"
   done
   DEVICES_LIST="<list><variable>DEVICE</variable>
$DEVICES_LIST
</list>"
}
export -f make_device_list

make_device_list

gui='
<window title="ISO Installer">
<vbox>
   <frame>
      <text><label>"Choose the ISO to install"</label></text>
      <hbox>
        <entry accept="filename">
         <label>Select an ISO file</label>
         <variable>ISO_FILE</variable>
        </entry>
        <button>
         <input file stock="gtk-open"></input>
         <variable>BROWSE_ISO</variable>
         <action type="fileselect">ISO_FILE</action>
        </button>
      </hbox>
   </frame>
   <frame>
      <text><label>"Choose the device to install to"</label></text>
      <hbox>
        '$DEVICES_LIST'
      </hbox>
   </frame>
   <frame>
      <button>
        <label>"GO"</label>
        <input file stock="gtk-ok"></input>
        <variable>GO</variable>
        <action>go $ISO_FILE $DEVICE</action>
      </button>
   </frame>
</vbox>
</window>'

gtkdialog -s <<< "$gui" 2>/dev/null
iso_installer.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.26 KB
 Viewed   176 Time(s)

iso_installer.png


_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Thu 24 Aug 2017, 11:00    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
The first statement line changes to match the Puppy version you are running Yapi in.
<snip>
So, I am not going to change that.

my original post used: from the puppy now running. You want to show the name of the o/s running. That name must be held in a variable, so just restructure to from puppy [var] now running.

What was bothersome was 'this" and 'any' followed by a space then text which made the dialogbox look amateurish. 'this' is a yapi command parameter; I can't see the need for it in the GUI. That said, change or not is up to you. Smile

BFN

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Thu 24 Aug 2017, 12:38    Post subject:  

@bigpup
I think this is the right place for this report, rather than elsewhere.

As stated in an earlier post, yapi running with tahr_6.0.2~6.0.5 failed. It failed on a second trial.

Using a 'cobbled' tahr-6.0.6, I launched yapi from Menu>Setup. Since I am running from tahr-6.0.6 and installing a tahr-6.0.6, at the third screen, I selected the first option,( i.e. installing from a running puppy) and clicked OK. It failed. A dialogbox advised that it was searching then a subsequent box displayed "Usage of Xdialog" script.

I launched yapi again from Menu>Setup. This time I selected the second option: From a puppy.iso wherever it is located. Yapi reported (a) searching for isos on mounted storage (b) please wait (c) Xdialog help - Usage for Xdialog. On my closing "Usage for Xdialog", a new dialog box advised - Chosen ISO not found ... Another failure!
Chosen ISO ???? I did not choose any ISO. A dialogbox for inserting the name of an ISO or for selection was never presented.
No iso was found. Ridiculous! A search with pfind-6.3 for *.iso returned 29 instances.

There are 2 things I noted as possible reasons for the failures:
    * The iso name in storage is tahr-6.0.6-uefi.iso and is possibly different from the running tahr-6.0.6.
    * The ISO is on my Windows drive and located 5 levels deep.


After 4 mistrials with the GUI, I tried the command line.
Code:
root# cd "/mnt/sda1/Documents and Settings/user/My Documents/Downloads/PUPPIES/tahr-6.0.6/"
root# yapi tahr-6.0.6-uefi.iso sdc1


I got an error because I used sdc1 (probably should have been sdc)
Ultimately, tahr-6.0.6 was successfully installed. A single FAT32 partition.

Yapi literally forces one to use Grub4Dos. I don't usually use it as my bootloader, but in the interest of getting the installation done ASAP, i followed the program.

Summary
Yapi (GUI) failed to find any of 29 ISOs on my system. This may be due to either a defective/ineffective search function or its inability to search sufficient levels deep.
Yapi (CLI) successfully installed tahr-6.0.6 to a flash drive. The drive had one formatted FAT32 partition.
Yapi uses the Grub4Dos bootloader exclusively. The YaPI instructions advise that you will have to install a bootloader, but tells only how to use Grub4Dos. Syslinux is completely ignored.

It works! I much prefer the finished product than that produced by isobooter. However, the graphics need some polish to make it look more professional.

screenie of the installed tahr-6.0.6-uefi enclosed.
tahr-6.0.6_installed.png
 Description   the root of flash drive & tahr-6.0.6uefi directory
 Filesize   47.3 KB
 Viewed   93 Time(s)

tahr-6.0.6_installed.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Aug 2017, 12:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
* The ISO is on my Windows drive and located 5 levels deep.

Searching Windows folders has been an issue.
Slow and all the layers of folders in Windows.

In fact, when searching Windows locations. Yapi will seem to stop working, because it can take so long.

Exactly where are your iso's?
Quote:
/sda1/Documents and Settings/user/My Documents/Downloads/PUPPIES/tahr-6.0.6/

That is a lot of layers to search.

Quote:
A dialogbox advised that it was searching then a subsequent box displayed "Usage of Xdialog" script.

More details please.
Not understanding this "Usage of Xdialog" script.
Quote:
Using a 'cobbled' tahr-6.0.6

So, this is not an official version of Tahr-6.0.6?
That could be a problem.
Also, not totally sure Tahr 6.0.6 is totally bug free, yet.

Why only Grub4dos boot loader?
Way not.
It works.
Offers other boot options in menu.
Can boot more than one installed Puppy on the same storage device.

Superfloppy is for a single Puppy on a single USB flash drive.
Only that Puppy will be on drive.
Basically a live Puppy install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Thu 24 Aug 2017, 14:04; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Aug 2017, 13:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
After 4 mistrials with the GUI, I tried the command line.
Code:
root# cd "/mnt/sda1/Documents and Settings/user/My Documents/Downloads/PUPPIES/tahr-6.0.6/"
root# yapi tahr-6.0.6-uefi.iso sdc1

You basically went directly to the iso.

Yapi can do that from the file manager.
Navigate to the iso.
Right click on it.
Select run with..... or send to.......
Select yapi.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9523
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Aug 2017, 14:08    Post subject:  

Let me add.

L18L did all the coding on Yapi and only he understands totally what he did.

Any good coder want to tweak it??

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 29 of 31 [461 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0931s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0250s) ][ GZIP on ]