Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Jul 2017, 18:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
woof-CE needs you
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 57 of 67 [1005 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, ..., 65, 66, 67 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:45    Post subject:  

Hi gang.

If we're going to put The Dpup Stretch 7 through its paces, perhaps we
could ask Flash to create a separate thread for it starting when Billtoo offers
the download URL for it (+/- the middle of page 54 above):
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=944973&sort=lastpost#944973

Just a thought.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:59    Post subject:  

@OscarTalks:

xcalc is ok here. (Please see attached pic.)
But SFR's Take-a-Shot is giving me a hard time, freezing everything! Sad

BFN.
xcalcOkHere.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.89 KB
 Viewed   633 Time(s)

xcalcOkHere.jpg


_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 14:52    Post subject:  

Some improvement on notecase with a fresh compilation on DpupStretch
of the gdk-pixbuf library

https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code=XZa8kqZsverc4FhgTJX9bFbgio3kVs0Hvgy
(I've got the NLS and DOC pets too if needed.)

With this new gdk-pixbuf-2.36.5 library, notecase is still jammed for most
writing operations, but it stopped shooting Mb's of error messages to
xerrs.log.

As to trying to recompile notecase, I get what's in the attached pic.
I think this is a job for a more experienced person.

IHTH. BFN.
notecase-make-failure.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.69 KB
 Viewed   609 Time(s)

notecase-make-failure.jpg


_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 805

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 15:34    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
@OscarTalks:

xcalc is ok here. (Please see attached pic.)
But SFR's Take-a-Shot is giving me a hard time, freezing everything! Sad

BFN.



Hi Musher/Oscar and all,

Xcalc works fine for me too.

Also, I just dragged Take A Shot into /usr/sbin/, made a .desktop file along with new camera.svg in pixmaps, and it works great. In fact, it's what I've been using when I post pics of the dpup-stretch. On my end, are you guys seeing anything funny going on with PPM? First thing I noticed, is everything that is listed (after updating the repos lists) is that PPM says all of it is "already installed"? but it's not, still PPM says this. Also weird, as a test I downloaded something from PPM, installed it, and soon as it installed, jwmrc-tray resets itself (losing all the modifications I had done to it for freemapapplet, blinky, xload and firewall. I am am forced to open the .backup of .jwmrc-tray and re-copy it to the the main .jwmrc-tray.

Also, I am seeing a few Menu things not working, like HTOP. but I figure it is just simple .desktop error entries like Oscar saw in one of them, so I haven't gotten around to them yet. But this PPM to install to jwmrc-tray re-setting is weird stuff....I can't stop it if the PPM is involved.

I compiled one thing today, redshift, to get the version that is from Github (and that Fred uses in the DebianDogs). Redshift compiled well and works. Thus I'll try to compile some increasingly more dependency-tied stuff over the next few days. I'm not sure whether to stick with firewall_ng + Peasy Firewall Monitor versus doing what Oscar did with Netmon...as things stand, I have full active internet connection & settings & live monitoring in the jwmrc-tray (as shown in the pics on the previous page of this thread).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 16:45    Post subject:  

Hi belham2.

Of course you could NOT use jwm Shocked , and try wmx, pekwm, icewm
or even echinus? (Now where's that tongue-in-cheek icon?!) Laughing Cool
Ha! No jwm on a Puppy: dream on, musher0 !!! Twisted Evil

But seriously:
it's weird that some apps within Dpup Stretch-7 work fine on some rigs
and not on others. I wonder what causes that?

In the same line of thought, could you or someone try running notecase
on your machine? It'll probably work like a charm, too, just to spite me !!! Twisted Evil

I'd like to get to the bottom of this bug ASAP. It's sort of crucial that we
get notecase running ok, because it's the default app our editor
Smokey01 uses for the PupLin newsletter.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3139
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 17:15    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:

In the same line of thought, could you or someone try running notecase
on your machine? It'll probably work like a charm, too, just to spite me !!! Twisted Evil

I'd like to get to the bottom of this bug ASAP. It's sort of crucial that we
get notecase running ok, because it's the default app our editor
Smokey01 uses for the PupLin newsletter.



Works here.

Also got pcmanfm to work by installing libfm_qt3_0.11.2-1 along with the other qt dependecies that show on the PPM screen when you search for pcmanfm.

Got htop working by editing the .desktop file to have "lxterminal -e htop"

Having fun anyways Smile
NoteCase.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.01 KB
 Viewed   564 Time(s)

NoteCase.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 17:28    Post subject:  

Hi Billtoo.

Yes but try writing anything in notecase: that's when it went weird. Also are
you sure you don't have 50 megs of error messages in /tmp/xerrs.log due
to notecase?

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)

Last edited by musher0 on Mon 27 Feb 2017, 17:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3139
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 17:42    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hi Billtoo.

Yes but try writing anything in notecase: that's when it went weird. Also are
you sure you don't have 50 megs of error messages in /tmp/xerrs.org due
to notecase?

BFN.


I see that it's not working properly here either, sorry.
xerrs.log.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   75.08 KB
 Viewed   551 Time(s)

xerrs.log.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6502coder


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 364
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 17:46    Post subject:  

As I mentioned previously on the Puppy newsletter thread, Notecase 1.9.8 does not work correctly on my Xenial-based LXLE system, even though it worked fine on the earlier Precise-based LXLE system. It installs and runs, but it's unusable. Surely a case of outdated libraries.

Simply compiling against newer libs doesn't always work. If the API has changed, e.g. if function names have changed, or their arguments have changed, then nothing short of revising the old source code is going to fix the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1554
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 19:33    Post subject:  

I have got the firewall running in Stretch 7.0.0 and also the firewallstatus tray icon which is in the 01micko petbuilds.

There are some iptables dependency libs missing. I began tracking these down by running firewallsatus from terminal, but it is just a case of plucking them out of the .debs and installing them in /usr lib.

I did also have to make a symlink.
A script is looking for the iptables binary in /usr/sbin but in fact it is in /sbin and is already a symlink to xtables-multi
Seems it is full-path specific so after I created the symlink from /sbin to /usr/sbin it all worked.

My tray now has clock (with minixcal), xload, firewallstatus, netmon_wce, freememapplet and retrovol. Will probably add pmcputemp as well.
stretch-tray.jpg
 Description   Getting there with the tray stuff in Stretch
 Filesize   9.59 KB
 Viewed   513 Time(s)

stretch-tray.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11190
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 20:49    Post subject:  

Ok Guys I made a new thread for us to work on Debian Stretch Ascii http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=945334#945334
feel free to continue there with fixes, issues problems etc.

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 805

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 07:26    Post subject: What would cause this?  

Hi all,

Did a woof-CE build last night, using Xenialpup64 with the latest "big" kernel. Selected the standard choices when presented with questions/options, and, afterward, when the ISO was done, frugally installed it. Booting up, I was greeted with the pic below. All icons/launching of them works within the Menus. But anything on the desktop and/or inside any opened Rox window, is dead----all files, formats, pics, etc, you just receive an error message trying to click on them of either the file format is not recognized, or the location does not exist. Heck, even the "Backgrounds", at least with the defaults that are in there, ROX says they do not exist, yet it puts a red triangle/exclamation mark on them all (and everything else too). I've tried, in a ROX window, going into ROX, Options, Types, and making sure the Theme is set to "ROX', but no luck.

In attempt to learn how something like this happened (I've done many builds over the past few months, of various types, and this is the 1st time I've ever seen this happen)...so in an attempt to learn, what is missing and what went wrong that would cause this? Is it a ROX MIME problem, PuppyPin, or nothing to do with ROX???? I can't figure out how everything, icons, clicking on them & they actually work, is "ok" in the MENU. But in ROX and on the DESKTOP, all is completely kaput. (ROX is fully installed, and the logs have no mention of anything, so I'm not sure where to look--Google and searching the forum didn't yield much of anything that worked to solve this problem).

Thanks!
new-default-xenialpup64-build-gone-haywire.png
 Description   
 Filesize   67.5 KB
 Viewed   221 Time(s)

new-default-xenialpup64-build-gone-haywire.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 09:34    Post subject:  

Proper gdk is missing, probably.
_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 805

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 11:18    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Proper gdk is missing, probably.


Thank you, Musher! Wink I put "gdk" into my google-murga search and it led me to the thread with the answer by rcrscn51 on what was/is going on:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107378

Yes, it was gdk, and I just needed to open a terminal and type in 'gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache' command, run it, create a savefile so the changes gdk-pixbuf-query changes made to cache were saved, and rebooted. And all wask fixed upon the reboot. Now I have a somewhat limited understanding of gdk-pixbuf and cache.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10527
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 13:42    Post subject:  

Glad to have been of help, belham2.

IMO, the Superior Power at woof-CE who forgot this basic item needs proper
punishment!!! Twisted Evil

Water drop? Flogging? Laughing
Nah. How about we ask the CIA for more original suggestions? Wink

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 57 of 67 [1005 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, ..., 65, 66, 67 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0682s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]