Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 24 Sep 2017, 10:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
woof-CE needs you
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 60 of 74 [1096 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 72, 73, 74 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 02:23    Post subject: Re: 4.9.6.6  

sszindian wrote:
sszindian wrote:
Oh by the way, did you ever get a google earth working in the 14.2 Slacko 64? Been driving me nuts

Billtoo wrote:
No, I just tried a couple, had to settle for Google Maps.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maybe mic will correct that at some point... Myself, I use google earth a lot in the research I do (along with flash earth and mapper-2.0 but only google earth lets you 'tilt' the terrain, which for me is a must.)

Anyway, thanks for all your insight!!!

>>>---Indian------>


Well indian you will be glad to know I have just tested and am uploading google-earth-pro-7.1.8.3036 (32 and 64 bit versions). I'll post links here when upload is complete. Should work in other recent pups too, although I used the rpm version rather than the deb.

Later..

here they are

32 bit sfs http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/google-earth-pro-7.1.8.3036_i386.sfs

64 bit sfs http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko6414/google-earth-pro-7.1.8.3036_x86_64.sfs

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 11:46    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

I saw more changes have been done in woof-CE so I did a fresh install and a new
build that uses the 4.9.24 kernel:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc18827 Kernel: 4.9.24-x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.6
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial:
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 Bios: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 134x44 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (8.7% used)
Info: Processes: 191 Uptime: 1:14 Memory: 435.5/7984.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0
#

It's working well so far,
Thanks

I will try out the new Google-Earth SFS shortly, the 32 bit version works in Dpup Stretch 700a1.

EDIT: The 64bit version works well here.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.05 KB
 Viewed   760 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 725
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 18:58    Post subject: 4.9.6.4  

@ Billtoo...

Thanks for those sfs's of google earth... I tried the 64bit version in Slacko-64-6.9.6.4... It works fine however, slooow starting, After you finally get to a location (typed in) at approx one-frame every 15 seconds, it works OK panning-around... as soon as you try a function - tilt etc., it goes back in snail-mode. I have exactly this same problem on PCLinuxOS... it too has a google earth .rpm installed. In time I might try those sfs's in some other os's and see what happens.

I have google chrome browser also in this Slacko and went for the NEW google earth installed in the chrome browser.... slow also plus not a good experience either! I believe they will get it right eventually but working right in Slacko for my ole dual-core... hard to say.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 19:08    Post subject: Re: 4.9.6.4  

sszindian wrote:
@ Billtoo...

Thanks for those sfs's of google earth... I tried the 64bit version in Slacko-64-6.9.6.4... It works fine however, slooow starting, After you finally get to a location (typed in) at approx one-frame every 15 seconds, it works OK panning-around... as soon as you try a function - tilt etc., it goes back in snail-mode. I have exactly this same problem on PCLinuxOS... it too has a google earth .rpm installed. In time I might try those sfs's in some other os's and see what happens.

I have google chrome browser also in this Slacko and went for the NEW google earth installed in the chrome browser.... slow also plus not a good experience either! I believe they will get it right eventually but working right in Slacko for my ole dual-core... hard to say.

>>>---Indian------>


hi,

Thank 01micko not me, they came from him.

Your graphics would need to have hardware acceleration for Google-Earth to work properly, at least that's what I've found in the past.

EDIT:

If your pc has intel graphics you could exit to the prompt and run xorgwizard, then specify intel,then the proper screen resolution,then 24 for the bit depth.
xwin to get back to the desktop.

Intel graphics defaults to modesetting so changing it to the intel driver may fix Google-Earth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 725
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 21:34    Post subject: 6.9.6.4  

@Billtoo

Yes, tried resetting the graphics driver etc., etc., etc., 'same as it was before!'

I'm done testing on Slacko64 for now... other than the google earth thing, it's a very nice program and seemed reliable for all the basics... I have other programs that do a good job with the google earth I need in both 32 and 64 bit so its really not an issue for me.

Take care Bill!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 22:05    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

I did another build, this one uses the 4.4.63 kernel:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc16590 Kernel: 4.4.63 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.6
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: p7-1246s serial:
Mobo: Foxconn model: 2ADA v: 1.00 Bios: AMI v: 7.12 date: 06/07/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-3550 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3301 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 144x50 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (1.4% used)
Info: Processes: 181 Uptime: 1:00 Memory: 391.9/11973.6MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0
#

The proprietary Nvidia driver is installed.

With this kernel "intel_pstate=disable" is not required on the kernel
line of the menu.lst file, the Cpu Frequency Scaling Tool defaults to Ondemand.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   89 KB
 Viewed   689 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2017, 10:20    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

April 25th: fresh woof-CE install,new build:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc20833 Kernel: 4.4.63 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.6
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: p7-1246s serial:
Mobo: Foxconn model: 2ADA v: 1.00 Bios: AMI v: 7.12 date: 06/07/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-3550 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3301 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 123x43 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (1.5% used)
Info: Processes: 184 Uptime: 1:15 Memory: 376.7/11973.6MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko64 Puppy, version 6.9.6.6

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1920x1080
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: nvidia

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
Loaded modules: dbe dri2 fb glx kbd mouse ramdac wfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1920x1080 pixels (707x392 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#

Next release getting closer?
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   82.01 KB
 Viewed   621 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 10:40    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

I did a new build from a newly installed woof-CE

#
# uname -ra
Linux puppypc28368 4.4.64-x86_64 #1 SMP Thu Apr 27 19:25:42 EDT 2017 x86_64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
#
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko64 Puppy, version 6.9.6.6

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1920x1080
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: nvidia

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
Loaded modules: dbe dri2 fb glx kbd mouse ramdac wfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1920x1080 pixels (707x392 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#

It's working well so far,
Thanks
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.63 KB
 Viewed   505 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1233

PostPosted: Sun 30 Apr 2017, 10:05    Post subject:  

@Billtoo: Does your mplayer and gnome-mplayer work in your latest build? I think mplayer needs to be recompiled to match the new libblurary and libvpx pets 01micko uploaded recently, or something like that. Maybe I'll try building it again later today.
Screenshot.png
 Description   slacko 14.2 32-bit
 Filesize   25.84 KB
 Viewed   437 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 30 Apr 2017, 10:22    Post subject:  

Sailor Enceladus wrote:
@Billtoo: Does your mplayer and gnome-mplayer work in your latest build? I think mplayer needs to be recompiled to match the new libblurary and libvpx pets 01micko uploaded recently, or something like that. Maybe I'll try building it again later today.


I removed the built-in Mplayer then downloaded and compiled the Subversion snapshot.
I couldn't get Smplayer and Smtube to work properly until I did that, Smplayer would crash with a "Something went wrong error".
I haven't tried gnome mplayer.
I think the ffmpeg codecs that come with the Subversion snapshot fixed it.

EDIT: GnomeMplayer is working now (plays old vlcrecordings etc), didn't try it before compiling the new one.
GnomeMP.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   34.69 KB
 Viewed   413 Time(s)

GnomeMP.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 01 May 2017, 02:38    Post subject:  

yeah sorry about MPlayer... my main box the hard drive is fried so just getting set up on my external drive for now.

I will stick with 1.3 because making a build script is rather difficult using the snapshot with uploading the source elsewhere.

VLC in PPM might work (will in 64, forgot if I updated 32 Embarassed - edit, just checked my 32 box and VLC 32 bit should be fine Smile ). Requires the QT libraries in the updated sfs_manager (or the deps should downoad thru PPM).

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 01 May 2017, 09:46    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

I did a new 32bit build last night.

Apart from the Mplayer problem it seems to be working okay.

Thanks
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37 KB
 Viewed   302 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 01 May 2017, 20:44    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

I did a tahrpup64-6.0.6 build:

root# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc6428 Kernel: 3.16.43 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 Distro: tahrpup64 6.0.6
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial:
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 version: 1.00 Bios: American Megatrends version: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) clocked at 800.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
X.org: 1.15.1 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: vesa) tty size: 205x56 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (6.9% used)
Info: Processes: 147 Uptime: 2:04 Memory: 325.5/7985.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17
root#

I updated PPM and added firefox-53 + kdegames, also installed the
kodi-17.1.pet posted in the multimedia thread by forum member Lassar.

It's working okay so far.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.21 KB
 Viewed   255 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3200
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 03 May 2017, 09:43    Post subject: woof-CE needs you  

I did a new woof-CE install + a new Slacko64 build:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc4817 Kernel: 3.16.43 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.7
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial:
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 Bios: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 144x42 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1008.2GB (7.9% used)
Info: Processes: 152 Uptime: 1:26 Memory: 357.6/7985.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0
#

The mplayer problem is fixed.
The network wizard is gone, I used SNS to setup my wired connection.

I added all the usual applications, Vlc works well with Smtube.

Looking good so far,
Thanks.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.94 KB
 Viewed   163 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 2861
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 04 May 2017, 10:09    Post subject: Re: woof-CE needs you  

Billtoo wrote:
The network wizard is gone

see: Github
Net-wiz is now in rootfs-packages
and needs to be activated by a line in /support/rootfs-packages.conf
i.e. network_wizard="true"
+ net_setup should be disabled in DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-*
i.e. no|net_setup||exe

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 60 of 74 [1096 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 72, 73, 74 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0736s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]