Configure Wireless HP Compaq Mini 700

Rich J

Configure Wireless HP Compaq Mini 700

#1 Post by Rich J »

Hi Everyone! I'm brand new to Puppy so please bear with me!

Specs are:
HP Compaq Mini 700
2 x Intel Atom N270 1.60GHz
1026 MB RAM
Puppy Linux 2.6.33.2 (i686)
Network controller Broadcom BCM4312 802.11 b/g LP-PHY (Rev01)
ISP Virgin Media

I'm trying to set up wireless on the above but with no success so far. Network Manager reports wlan0 is found and will connect to my router briefly, but drop out. Then, when I check Network Config/Wireless again, it says 'no wireless extensions detected'.

I had similar issues with this network card in another distro (Peppermint 5) and was advised to download and install this -

firmware-b43-lpphy-installer

which I assume would correct the issue in Puppy also as it is network card specific and not distro?

My problem is - Peppermint (and other distros) use apt-get to download and install other software via console - Puppy does not. Extensive searching on this site (and others) hasn't come up with a solution. Nor does searching in PPM.

Question: Is it possible to download and install other software via console? If yes, what are the commands one needs to invoke the action?

If no, how do I get this software on to the Mini? (I have downloaded it via a browser and run the installer which reports it IS installed but says 'note, this package does not have a menu entry' thus is not found in Network Manager/Load module.

The network card is functional as it worked fine in Peppermint and is detected by Puppy. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated as the Mini is ideal for use when travelling (especially abroad) due to its small size, but without wireless......... :(

Comment: I'm very impressed with Puppy - it's small footprint seems ideally suited to Netbooks and the speed at which it loads is amazing. Looking forward to working with it very much!

Thanks in advance

Rich

cthisbear

#2 Post by cthisbear »