Puppy is good for experimenting

Promote Puppy !
eric52

Puppy is good for experimenting

#1 Post by eric52 »

I'm no expert. I RTFM later. Puppy has a large following and a lot of documentation, so I will never RTFM - not all of it. However, Puppy has a unique advantage - you can burn it on optical disks with persistence, and working on that platform, you can simply reboot without saving and all the mistakes you just made vanish, leaving the way clear to make lots more. With Puppy, you run at root, which means you can do anything, and you can remaster easily to make your successes permanent. All of these features mean you can act like an expert without knowing what you are doing, and the negative consequences are minimal. Even in the worst case, you lose a very cheap disk and some time. Just burn the latest ISO and try again. Puppy is an experimenters' dream OS. It doesn't hurt to learn from the mistakes of others, but with Puppy it doesn't really hurt to learn from your own mistakes, if you stay on disks. I really recommend that you use disks while learning and enjoy the freedom of your own bleeding edge. If you don't discover the answer quickly, then you can spend time on instructions... or not.
Today only. Anger not. Worry not. Be grateful working karma. Be kind.

unicorn316386

#2 Post by unicorn316386 »

Completely agree. I haven't used CD/DVD for around 10 years as most 12.1" or smaller laptops don't even include them, so I experiment with Flash sticks and grub4dos entries on HDD (very easy to add more and more puppies to play around with).

Sylvander

#3 Post by Sylvander »

1. In general, I boot [almost] all of my Puppies from CD-RW disks...
Then...

2. I make a pupsave in a suitably named folder, on a partition, on an internal HDD...
But...

3. I then make the necessary changes in each Puppy that allows, and most do, so that:
a. There is a "Save..." icon on the desktop, even if the pupsave is on an internal HDD.