Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 03 Dec 2016, 12:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2015, 11:15    Post subject:  DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015
Subject description: A DLNA server for Smart TVs & other DLNA renderers. - Cloud Printing Option.
 

DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015

On 16th November DLNA Werewolf64 Pup was released based on BarryK’s experimental Quirky Werewolf 64.
That Pup was a full install to USB stick with a 3 partition GPT layout.

This Pup is also spread across 3 partitions of a stick but uses an MBR layout and a more traditional “Puppy” approach.

The first partition (16MB – fat32) is the boot partition and supports booting from a “difficult” bios.
The second partition (7.4GB – f2fs) contains the main sfs, the driver sfs and a ready made save folder with 5.9GB of free space.
The third partition (7.4GB – f2fs) serves as the media “pool” and is automatically mounted at boot time. Two test videos are included
on this partition & there is 6.7GB of free space.

Given the above arrangement the Pup runs entirely in RAM once booted. The ready made save folder has allowed for the inclusion
of PupSaveConfig which has been set to “always ask” at the end of each session giving the option to save or not save.

The target device is a 32GB USB2 or USB3 stick but see the first item in the FAQ. - (A 16GB stick may be used if its true size is sufficient)

Thanks go to 666philb for his beta Tahr64-6.0.3.8 k 3.14.45 upon which this Pup is based. It was selected as it proved fit for this purpose and
performs extremely well with the latest version of Google Chrome.

Full sized screen shot here: (Press F11 to toggle into full screen then click on link)

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=0B_iVVJCd9q09LVAtcjZoTFpIT00

DLNA: (ReadyMedia a.k.a. minidlna – Version 1.1.5_x86_64)

The primary purpose of this Pup is to act as preconfigured self-contained DLNA server. No setup of that feature is required.
The idea is that having gone through the usual quicksetup & network settings DLNA should work OOTB. Icons for Quicksetup
and LAN configuration are provided on the desktop.

EDIT:23rd Jan 2016
N/B The Puppy firewall should not be enabled when running a DLNA server.

Just reboot, save your session and then head off to the TV to test whether or not it works with your particular make & model of TV.

The free space (6.7GB) on the third partition housing the “pool” or “Repository” may be insufficient for some people’s needs.
This implementation however has the ability to switch over to another media repository such as an external USB drive, USB stick or indeed any internal drive or partition.

A new approach to DLNA is featured in this Pup where the repository is set by means of a global environment variable that contains the UUID of the repository.
At the bottom of the Utility menu is a new option “Change DLNA Repository”. When selected it will first display the UUID of your current
repository which OOTB will be that of the third partition on the stick. It then displays a list of all available UUIDs and guides you through
the simple process of changing it.

Using the UUID of the partition or device means that there is no problem with ever changing USB device letters.

Latest versions of Google Chrome & Thunderbird:
Both are preconfigured for best performance and there is a utility to update Chrome. (See FAQ)

Voice Control: (Not of DLNA)
Something to play with! Please see the following post. (You must have normal Google voice search working before you use it)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101039

Where to obtain the image: (dlnatahr64.img.xz [839MB] & md5sum)
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B_iVVJCd9q09bjZkYnJxSXJXXzA&usp=sharing

Installation:
Using Windows: (This is the recommended method when available)

7-Zip should be used to decompress the image. It will decompress to 14.8GB so please ensure that you have at least that much free space available on an NTFS volume.
Use win32diskimager to place the image on the stick.
A detailed win32diskimager guide plus a link to it is to be found here:
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=765457#765457

Using Linux:
Extract the xz compressed image with UExtract first making sure that you have enough free space as it will expand to 14.8GB. Pet here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87864

Then use the following command to place the extracted image on the stick:

dd if=/root/Downloads/dlnatahr64.img of=/dev/sdx && sync

If the stick is seen as sdb1 you would target the device sdb. No special preparation of the stick is required. Anything on it will be wiped.

Final thoughts:
Sorry, I forgot to set one item in Google Chrome. When you first launch it go into setting/appearance and click on
“Use GTK+Theme”. The themes and menu borders will then snap into place.
image-3.png
 Description   Change DLNA Repository
 Filesize   224.56 KB
 Viewed   1499 Time(s)

image-3.png


_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Sat 23 Jan 2016, 17:03; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2015, 11:17    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Reserved for Additional info, tips & FAQ:

Q1. Can I use a 16 GB stick?

A1. Yes, but if and only if its true capacity is not a single byte less than 15854469120 bytes. To test the true capacity of any 16GB stick that you possess use the following command substituting the drive letter for x
# fdisk -l /dev/sdx
If it does not meet this requirement you must use a 32GB stick.

Q2. How do I update Chrome when a new release is issued?

A2. A preset bookmark in Chrome leads to details of the latest releases. To upgrade, first use PPM to uninstall the existing version. Having done that, select “Get Latest Chrome Version” from the Internet sub-menu and follow the prompts.
Wait for the "dog" to give you the O/K before launching the new version!

Q3. What type of stick was this built this on?

A3. A 16GB SanDisk Ultra USB3 stick.

Q4. I added more files to the third partition on the stick but they do not show up on the TV?

A4. If you add or remove files from the repository you may need to reboot the Pup to initiate a fresh scan of the contents.

Q5. No video thumbnails show up on my TV?

A5. Generally only available in larger more sophisticated DLNA servers than minidlna. Even then special xml profiles may be required for particular makes and models of TV. Be satisfied if you just get high quality video/pictures.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1348
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2015, 11:53    Post subject:  

mirrored here: http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_DLNA_Tahr64_Pup

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6731
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2015, 18:43    Post subject: PUPPY for home media enjoyment  

Downloaded from the Google link at a phenomenal 4MB/sec, today.

Be aware, that the writing to USB process is VERY slow in populating the media. So, in a terminal window, you will wait, and wait, and wait some more until you get the indication it is finished. To write my USB stick it wrote at 2.5MB/sec taking almost 2 hours.
Code:
... bytes (16 GB) copied, 6462.57 s, 2.5 MB/s

I have media on a NAS. By mounting the NAS, then adding a link to the filesystem on the 3rd partition of the USB; for example
Code:
# mkdir /mnt/3rd-partition-on-USB/NAS-media   # makes a folder on USB stick
# mount -o sec=ntlm,password=woofwoof,username=root   //path-to/MyNAS   /mnt/3rd-partition-on-USB/NAS-media
I can see and play the media from the NAS on my smartTV (DLNA), my smartPhone, and a visitor's tablet via this DLNA-TahrPUP.

Very very nice production of this for home multimedia use. Allows for media enjoyment throughout the house. It makes for a great addition to our homes. THANKS MUCHLY for this GREAT idea in Puppy usage. Idea

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6731
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2015, 22:42    Post subject: Issues on Pristine boot  

Couple of issues
  • My eth0 IP assignment is 192.168.1.3/24 upon arrival at desktop. This is NOT accurate and does not match my subnet. Could you have left some remnants of a static IP?

    Further, when clicking the LAN taskbar icon the pop-up reporter ONLY shows the lo feature while "ip addr" in a terminal shows both lo and eth0 features which is what is expected.

  • The keyboard and other localisations will probably be overlooked by any user not knowledgeable of Puppy. This happened today when I gave the stick for someone to test. You may want to consider FirstRUN as an opener as it will resolve some local needs for users.

  • Using FirstRUN and setting the hostname to "LivingRoom", when one goes to setup SAMBA, it has an incorrect name presented in the SSM.

  • When using the JWM config to set the bottom taskbar to hide, a message occurs that it was not carried out.
These are preliminary finds on a Pristine use of the USB stick.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 06:05    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Hi ally,

Thanks once again. You move like the wind. Smile

Hi gcmartin,

Thanks for your feedback. dd is deathly slow and takes twice as long as win32diskimager but that of
course is not an option for everyone. In addition the image is large at 16GB & 4 times larger than
what I normally use. With win32diskimager & a USB3 stick the time taken reduces dramatically.

Your symlink technique to mounted existing NAS is a great idea and adds to this Pup's versatility.

There do seem to be some issues with network connections in Pups created with recent versions of
WoofCE. You are correct that I did leave in this Pup, as is my habit, a static IP but in theory the
profile for the mac address of my ethernet card should have been ignored.

Much seems to depend on what route is taken to set up the connection. (Lan Icon on desktop (Puppy Network Wizard), right click
on status tray icon or the "Internet Connection Wizard" which gives access to SNS/Frisbee & Dougal's Network Wizard.

My own preference when a problem arises is to go for "Dougal's Network Wizard" which never seems to fail.

If a stick is moved between boxes or is passed to someone else the "Quickset" & "Lan" icons must be revisited.
Given that a stick is likely to be moved, the concept of "First Run" does not apply and it would be annoying to have
it pop up at every boot.

With regard to SSM that looks like a bug in SSM as it is pulling the items displayed from different places.
In the field I would suggest just matching the hostname.

With this version of JWM (vgit - 1263) you need to use radky's included "JWMDesk Manager" to enable autohide.

In conclusion this Pup is a specialist Pup intended to run as a DLNA server. It is based on a beta so there will be some
issues that I did not resolve although I did fix a few.
VLC, Chrome, Palemoon, Thunderbird, Sylpheed, SimpleScreenRecorder plus most of the utilities seem sound.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6731
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2015, 11:48    Post subject:  

Hello @ETP. I understand all of your replies.

Hope this helps
FirstRUN is very important in a number of ways. Initially, working with @Shinobar, he resolved the problem of hostname, LAN, and Puppy's slightly different structure such that ALL hostname system fields were set proper when the OK button is clicked. @Barry took the work of @Shinobar and adapted it for use in WOOF, In it he worked, as well, to insure that all hostname fields in the system would be set properly when his version of FirstRUN completed on the user desktop. Recently @01Micko reported an addition to FirstRUN for WOOFCE builders. What is occurring now, in DLNA-TahrPUP64 is that since FirstRUN is avoided, its service to insure proper system field settings for hostname everywhere in the system is missed, and, of course, when it is run it is after the fact where all system fields are not matching.

You might want to consider, again, FirstRUN as an opening stanza for your PUP. I think it should resolve couple of issues/problem shown. It can be useful in many ways for your mission, I think. But, of course, other ways can be useful as well should you choose to avoid it for a beginning pristine system boot.

Just, so that you are aware, DLNA-TahrPUP's USB stick had NEVER been booted on any system at all before I hastily (trying to show its beauty to a dinner visitor) gave it to someone expecting a very smooth boot and run. I had expected a similar experience in comparison of the other PUP DLNA created. So, in doing so, I hit the remnants of the LAN problem which must be redefined so that it runs. This use to be an OOTB experience before this test.

Hope this is helpful as you craft this useful idea. It is a wonderful idea and capable of attracting many different users with various skills to the distro.

Again, I applaud this concept with the features you provide us.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6731
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 28 Nov 2015, 05:22    Post subject:  

I found one other issue. I really like the GetJAVA addition as it is one I need and use. But, it is not working. Can I provide something to help in its diagnosis?

Suggest and I will provide.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 28 Nov 2015, 07:12    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015
Subject description: GetJAVA
 

Hi gc,

The getjava script was written by JAMESBOND then subsequently modified for tahr64 by either him or 666philb.
"Not working" is a tad too vague. Do you mean:

Java failed to download?

The creation of the sfs failed?

The sfs was created but fails to load?

All of the above were OK but some test Java app failed to run? If so can you provide its name and a link to it?

It also occurs to me that any issue may have been resolved in tahrpup64 6.0.3.9 beta.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charbaby66

Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat 28 Nov 2015, 14:26    Post subject:  

ETP, my friend Smile Greetings from chilly Canada Smile

Gave this a test run on the Dell D820. Even though I thought I had the room on my NTFS (15+Gb free) no go from W7 twice! as not enough space to decompress.. went back to linux, and saved the file to an ext2 drive.. and installed to 64gb flash drive no problem, That's one big file though.

I prefer using linux over M$ to do the install. Patience is all, And Win isn't THAT much faster anyway.

Once installed, everything booted/ran well (what little I tried), but wbar covers mid-left icons. Issues connecting wifi with frisbee (scan greyed out) and barry's (associated but would not connect) got on with dougal's.
No issue in any other tahr (or slacko64/fatpup )based pup

Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection [8086:4229] (rev 61)• Kernel Driver: iwl4965

Popcorntime site back up (was down last week) worked great!

Was looking for a DLNA pup for linux-challenged brother, I would say
this is not noob-friendly enough for him to setup or get around in. Mainly
wanted to bug report issues on my box. Nice how you did all the hard partitioning work via image,. Did not use my leftover space on the 64g
flash yet but likely will make another storage partition.

Thanks for all you do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 28 Nov 2015, 15:20    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015
Subject description: Issues:
 

Hi charbaby66,
It is good to hear from you again & thanks for testing.

Icons issue:
OOTB everything is configured for 1080p so you need to shrink things down a bit.

1. In JWMDesk Manager select the "Screen font" tab and reduce it from 102 to 96 then restart X.

2. Select the "screwdriver & wrench" icon on Wbar and on the "effects" tab reduce the icon size from 54 to 48.
Also reduce the icon distance from 20 to 18 then click on reload. You might still have to move a couple of icons.

Connection issue:
I have to hold my hands up & confess that I should have paid more attention to that but was locked onto DLNA.
Dougal's utility usually gets you out of trouble but the general behaviour is less than ideal.
If running a DLNA server it should really be on a box with a wired connection to the wireless router to avoid doubling up
on your use of wireless bandwidth. (Assuming that your TV has a wireless rather than an ethernet connection to your LAN)
3. I did throw PT into the pot but do not expect it to be there for more than a couple of weeks which is why I never mentioned
it in the OP. There is also the question of its legality which varies by location.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Sat 23 Jan 2016, 06:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Dec 2015, 12:37    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

DLNA Tahr64 - Google Cloud Printing using Cups Cloud Print.

(Enables printing to a Google Cloud Printer from any Linux application capable of printing)

This post is for anyone who has access to one of the following:

    Access to a shared Cloud Printer.
    Their own dedicated Google Ready Cloud Printer.
    A classic printer attached to a PC running Windows which has been setup for Google Cloud printing.

Windows is not required for the first two options.

How to set it up:

1. Make sure that you have the cups service running.

2. Download the 4 deb packages from the following folder and then click upon each in turn to install them.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_iVVJCd9q09VGhrNkpPTUVSakE

3. Open a terminal, run the following command and follow the instructions.
Code:
root# /usr/share/cloudprint-cups/setupcloudprint.py


The process will look like this:

    Name for this user account ( eg something@gmail.com )?
    Open this URL, grant access to CUPS Cloud Print,then provide the code displayed :

    https://accounts.google.com/o/oauth2/auth?scope=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.googleapis.com%2Fauth%2Fcloudprint&redirect_uri=urn%3Aietf%3Awg%3Aoauth%3A2.0%3Aoob&response_type
    =code&client_id=843805314553.apps.googleusercontent.com&access_type=offline

    Code from Google: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    You currently have these accounts configured:
    xxxxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com
    Add more accounts (Y/N)? n
    Add all Google Cloud Print printers from xxxxxxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com to CUPS (Y/N)? y
    Use a prefix for names of created printers (Y/N)? n
    Added Save_to_Google_Drive
    Added Brother_HL-2030_series
    Added 2 new printers to CUPS
    root#

Final thoughts:
Google Cloud Print Help Center
https://support.google.com/cloudprint/?hl=en#topic=4456286

Details of core deb file
https://www.niftiestsoftware.com/cups-cloud-print/

Link for viewing & managing your printers, shares, jobs and queues. (Tip: Bookmark this link in your browser)
https://www.google.com/cloudprint/#jobs

Some screen prints are attached. The jobs queued will print out when I next turn on my printer and boot into XP.
It is not necessary to launch or log into Chrome. The printers used can be at home, work or anywhere on this planet.
view_of_printers.png
 Description   
 Filesize   74.45 KB
 Viewed   1083 Time(s)

view_of_printers.png

view_of_jobs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   154.96 KB
 Viewed   1099 Time(s)

view_of_jobs.png

view_of_cups_after_running_command.png
 Description   Just for info. The Google Link is used for management not Cups.
 Filesize   113.45 KB
 Viewed   1078 Time(s)

view_of_cups_after_running_command.png


_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4214
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 16:40    Post subject:  

@ETP
I'm typing this from Slacko-5.7.0-pae.

1. Installed DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015 to my 32GB Flash Drive and it boots to the desktop just fine. Very Happy
BUT...

2. It appears to not connect to the internet! Sad
How should I tell?
a. Both web-browsers fail to connect.
b. When I hover the cursor over the network icon at bottom right it says "Active interfaces: eth0" and gives details.
c. When I right-click on the network icon and choose "Setup networking", it displays only eth0, and displays a driver being used [atl1c, Atheros communications, AR8152, v2.0 Fast Ethernet][same as is being used here in Slacko], but says down below that a driver has not been loaded and I need to choose a module to load [as is said here in Slacko that obviously does connect].
Does that mean this warning is meaningless?
The "Load module" button displays a long list of stuff that's meaningless to me.
I've no idea whether I aught or which to choose.
d. I then click the eth0 button, then test eth0, and it reports success "able to find a live network", so I click "Auto DHCP", and it reports success "configuration of eth0 successful", I click "yes" to save the configuration, then "Done" to exit.
e. The above normally works for me, but not here apparently.

3. How to get connected?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 908
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 17:13    Post subject:  

Hi Sylvander,

You are not having the best of days. The force is not with you or your house may be on a ley line. Smile Smile

Start by trying the "Lan" icon on the desktop. If no joy there use the
"Internet Connection Wizard" on the setup menu. On that use the bottom option - Dougal".

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4214
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 21:39    Post subject:  

@ETP

1. SUCCESS! Very Happy
Now connected to the internet.
Web-browsers working OK.
It was "Simple Network Setup" [SNS] that succeeded where "Network Wizard" failed.
Magic!

2. This Puppy is NICE.
Has all kinds desirable goodies.
And looks good too.
a. The "save" icon works as it aught, and so does the "Save or not save" choice at shutdown/reboot [except I'd rather "not save" was the default].
b. I notice "Menu->Puppy Event Manager->Save Session" includes an "Ask at shutdown..." tick-box that isn't ticked and yet "Ask" is pre-chosen and in effect.
Wouldn't it be logical to have a tick already in that box.
I might have unwisely ticked it, and then what?

3. Now to test my TV with this.
OUCH!
Same as werewolf64...
The photos display, but not the videos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0767s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]