Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 23:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
BJF

Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 01:57    Post subject:  

ETP, I have a non-booting thumbdrive version of Tahr64 that I am seeking advice on please.
The server is a Dell GL520, P4, with 2Gb RAM, and the BIOS set-up screen reports that it is 64 bit using EM64T technology.
I made up a 32Gb thumb drive following the Linux instructions and all went as described. It has partitions, the files I was told to expect, and I believe it to be The Real Deal. The server is set to boot from usb first and the front ports are active. But with the thumb drive plugged it the post screen drops on boot to black with the white cursor top left and nothing more. No drive or processor activity. Remove the thumb drive and it boots back to its LXPrecise Retro install.
Do I have an especially difficult BIOS that the distro can't resolve, or is there a way to modify something in /boot or elsewhere to make it go? Any tests to apply? Anything at all?

Thanks.
BJ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 02:26    Post subject:  

Hello @BJF. Sometimes this, too, has happened to me. In the past it turned out to be a bad USB burn.

But, before doing the following paragraph, have you tried the stick in another PC that you might have?

This has worked for me on occasion,too.
In such cases, I used GPARTED to delete all of the devices partitions, and changed the devices format to GPT, followed by creating the total stick as a FAT32 partition BEFORE restarting the stick creation process.

If this does not help, post back.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1117
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 03:41    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Good Morning Sylvander,

The issue is definitely with the TV as it has now failed to display videos with 2 DLNA Pups.
Let us concentrate on the TV. Whilst so doing please avoid making any further changes to the Pup or
adding anything extra so that we are dealing with a known quantity.
TV:
1. If you have any devices plugged into the TV such as USB sticks, drives or gizmos can you power off the TV, remove them and try again?

2. Is the ethernet lead from your powerline device plugged directly into your TV or does it route via some other device?

3. On the TV there should be a NETWORK INFORMATION option. Does that show that you are definitely
using ethernet rather than wireless and if so have you on the TV turned wireless off?

4. In a previous post you mentioned an old DLNA experiment that on the TV had left a media server called "puppypc:root" showing. The menu where that showed should have an option to delete all media servers (Including ETPs DLNA) and the ability to then refresh them so that only mine appears.
I suggest you try that then reboot the TV again.

5. Running out of ideas now. Smile You cannot be alone in experiencing this problem so the Sony TV forums for
your particular model may have the answer.

6. How are firmware updates done on your model? (i.e. Over the airwaves or by some other means)

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Mon 25 Jan 2016, 04:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 03:45    Post subject:  

@Sylvander, is your Sony a GoogleTV or simply a smartTV? Sony makes both versions of their TVs?
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1117
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 03:56    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Hi BJF,

gcmartin's suggestion to try the stick on another PC is sensible as it will validate the build if it boots.

You could also try booting with the stick plugged into a port on the rear of the server.

Has that server ever booted before from any OS placed on a stick? If so which OS?

If when you boot you are not even seeing Syslinux 4.04 load the bios or USB bus/controller is not happy.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 13:15    Post subject:  

@ETP

1. "...please avoid making any further changes to the Pup or
adding anything extra so that we are dealing with a known quantity.
"
I've already installed Xfe from the PPM; Do you want me to uninstall it?
By-the-way, the menus in Palemoon aren't working, and this Puppy doesn't auto-connect to the internet.
[Each time I get to the desktop, I must tell it to connect using the previously saved profile].

2. "If you have any devices plugged into the TV such as USB sticks, drives or gizmos can you power off the TV, remove them and try again?"
I have connected:
Google Chromecast dongle [to HDMI, with USB power from TV]
Virgin box [to HDMI]
I powered-off, disconnected these, and powered-on.
The TV is still unable to see any PC->DLNA Tahr64 video files.

3. "On the TV there should be a NETWORK INFORMATION option. Does that show that you are definitely
using ethernet rather than wireless
"
Went to: "Home->Settings->Network->Network setup->View network status->Check connection->Connection method" where it says:
Connection method = wired
Cable connection = OK
IP address setting = auto
...IP address = ***.***.*.***
...Subnet mask = ***.***.***.*
...Fault gateway = ***.***.*.*
...Primary DNS = ***.***.*.*
...Secondary DNS = *.*.*.*
MAC address = **:**:**:**:**:**
Proxy server = not used
[I replaced numbers with **'s just in case. do you need these?]

4. "have you on the TV turned wireless off?"
a. I believe it is set to "Auto", and it is saying that no wireless device is connected, and therefore I cannot re-configure it.
I guess it is automatically "not enabled" if there is no wireless dongle connected.
It has been a long time [years] since I last connected the TV wirelessly; the Powerline Adapters are much more reliable.
b. Wired connection is set to "Auto" also, and I CAN change that if I choose.
I could instead choose "Custom", but haven't.

5. "In a previous post you mentioned an old DLNA experiment that on the TV had left a media server called "puppypc:root" showing.
The menu where that showed should have an option to delete all media servers (Including ETPs DLNA) and the ability to then refresh them so that only mine appears.
I suggest you try that then reboot the TV again.
"
Oh dear, do I really need to do that?
There are a number of these of varying usefulness.
If I eliminate all but yours, how easy difficult would it be to set them up once again?

6. "...You cannot be alone in experiencing this problem..."
This problem has been happening since I got the TV.
"Solutions" I found so far:
a. Chromecast dongle:
This allows me to "Cast" stuff [videos streamed from the web, and files held locally on the PC->storage devices] to the TV.
b. The small multimedia player [that accepts sd/mmc and USB storage] connected to the TV HDMI input, that plays any file type invented up to the time of its manufacture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 13:35    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
@Sylvander, is your Sony a GoogleTV or simply a smartTV? Sony makes both versions of their TVs?

See:
Sony Bravia KDL-32EX503
Technical Specifications
Showing:
"DLNAYES
DLNA RendererPhoto (jpeg)/Music(LPCM/MP3)/Video(MPEG2/AVCHD)
DLNA ClientPhoto (jpeg)/Music(LPCM/MP3)/Video(MPEG2/AVCHD)
"
I believe this is a "Smart TV", not a "GoogleTV".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1117
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 15:04    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Hi Sylvander,

Thanks for your detailed replies which give a fuller picture.
I am currently posting from one of my copies of DLNA Tahr64 Pup and have no problems with Palemoon menus or automatic
Internet connection. Given that the installation of Xfe has caused problems with both of the DLNA Pups that you have
tried, I can only conclude that it is incompatible with the later kernels upon which these Pups are based or with Rox Filer.

That fact is valuable to know and a number of issues have come to light as a result of your posts which have highlighted omissions
in my instructions which have now been rectified. Thanks for that. It cannot be said that we have not tried. Smile

Given that your TV has been problematic from the outset together with the fact that you have 2 existing working solutions I
propose that we do not push our luck any further. In other words just reconnect your Chromecast & Player and make no changes to
your working TV setup.

There will be older TVs that DLNA simply will not work with as the DLNA specification continues to evolve.
If you agree, I suggest that we abandon your valiant attempt to get a DLNA Pup working with your particular set.

At the end of the original post in the DLNA Quirky Werewolf thread I wrote:
Quote:
Setup:
The idea is that having gone through the usual quicksetup & network settings DLNA should work OOTB.
Just reboot then head off to the TV. If the DLNA does not work with your TV you will need to look elsewhere.


You have already done that with your two solutions.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 16:30    Post subject: Re: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

ETP wrote:
I suggest that we abandon your valiant attempt to get a DLNA Pup working with your particular set.

OK. Very Happy
It was very worth the effort.
I LIKE DLNA Tahr64 Pup regardless of the unsuccessful outcome in this particular aspect.

p.s.
Palemoon menus are working...haven't so far run Xfe.
Still needed to manually start Networking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2016, 12:47    Post subject: Re: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Sylvander wrote:
Still needed to manually start Networking.

So how do I get this to automatically connect at startup?
As of now, I'm forced to right-click on the networking icon at bottom right, then choose "Setup networking", SNS runs displaying a saved profile, then click "Connect now". Sad
Only then does it connect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1117
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2016, 13:07    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Hi Sylvander,
Please follow the advice I gave in this post:
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=874480#874480

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2016, 17:51    Post subject:  

Did you mean...
"Much seems to depend on what route is taken to set up the connection. (Lan Icon on desktop (Puppy Network Wizard), right click
on status tray icon or the "Internet Connection Wizard" which gives access to SNS/Frisbee & Dougal's Network Wizard.
My own preference when a problem arises is to go for "Dougal's Network Wizard" which never seems to fail.
"?
I've tried them ALL [except Frisbee].
Seemed to me they were just different routes leading to the same place/choices.
The "Classic" Network Wizard failed to connect...
Or at least "appeared" to connect, but then the web-browsers reported failure.
SNS was the one that successfully connected [web-browsers succeeding], but then it doesn't auto-connect at boot-time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1117
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2016, 18:05    Post subject: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

Hi Sylvander,
Try the "Lan" icon on the desktop which launches "Dougal"
Edit:
Once you have established & tested the connection click on the desktop "save icon"

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jan 2016, 04:21    Post subject: Re: DLNA Tahr64 Pup – released 26th Nov 2015  

ETP wrote:
Try the "Lan" icon on the desktop which launches "Dougal"
...Once you have established & tested the connection click on the desktop "save icon"

Done.
That fixed it. Very Happy
Strange that it did the trick, because I'm sure I did those steps previously. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BJF

Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 263
Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jan 2016, 17:20    Post subject:  

All: My adventures with the thumb install have absorbed quite a bit of spare time since last we chatted. Unfortunately as yet without success.
I have tried all the permutations of usb sockets on the server, and tried plugging it into my Significant Other's 64Bit lappy, all to no avail. The server is as we speak still trying to write the OS to the stick after 3 hours of activity. This is the second attempt. On the server machine the install never completes, on my old laptop it does, after about an hour. The first, as the previous 5 attempts using my laptop, registers an Unknown format single partition via GParted instead of the expected ones. Each trip has been after a successful reformat with a working ext2 or ext3 or NTFS system followed by a format to FAT32. It will accept and return files as one might expect a portable drive should following any of this. Just won't install Tahr! I'm beginning to believe that the thumb has gone feral in some way. The .img has been recreated and the operations repeated, but not since that first episode where the thumb contained the expected stuff but wouldn't boot has it registered other than the Unknown single-partition format on an install attempt. Time for a new thumb or.....
We are going away on holiday for this next week and will not be testing further until return. But if anyone has any ideas they are welcomed.

Thank you for your patience,
BJ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.3966s ][ Queries: 12 (0.2502s) ][ GZIP on ]