Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 17 Oct 2017, 06:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
DebianDog64 - 64 bit DebianDog-Jessie
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 33 of 35 [519 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 Next
Author Message
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2514
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 04 Aug 2017, 07:34    Post subject:  

Hi trister,

There is no locales.squashfs, I might make it later in time, but if you want to make yourself, here's how I always do:

First reinstall, but download only, all installed packages, will take some time...
Code:
#Download all installed packages.
for pkg in `dpkg --get-selections | awk '{print $1}' | egrep -v '(mysql|mythtv)'` ; do apt-get -y --force-yes install --reinstall $pkg -d ; done


Then (better) copy from /var/cache/apt/archives/ all deb files to a location with lots of free space (create empty folder there first and paste in there)
Say you copied to folder named "allinstalled", open terminal in there, and:
Code:
# Extract the deb packages.
for arg in *.deb ; do
dpkg -x "$arg" .
done


Ok, wait a while and you see the filesystem hierarchy (of almost all software installed)
Create again new empty folder say "locales" (from which the locales.squashfs will be made from)
In terminal from that dir. 'locales'
Code:
mkdir -p usr/share

Then go back to the filesystem hierarchy, open usr/share and copy the locale folder to your new created 'locales'/usr/share folder, so you get 'locales'/usr/share/locale with all the locale content inside.
Then from parent dir. of 'locales' :
Code:
mksquashfs locales locales-stretch.squashfs


Hope it's clear enough

P.S. It's OK for me to post here about Stretch, as long as it's clear that it's about Stretch

EDIT: For the conky problem, it might help if you edit ~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh and move this block of code to the bottom (and put maybe some sleep time before it e.g. sleep 3):
Code:
if [ -f /mnt/live/tmp/modules ]; then
conky -c ~/.conkyrc-port &
else
conky -c ~/.conkyrc-live &
fi

If that doesn't help, some experimenting with the order of commands in autostart.sh might do

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 06:09    Post subject: StretchDog64-2017-07-04.iso with modifieinited1.gz  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi trister,

There is no locales.squashfs, I might make it later in time, but if you want to make yourself, here's how I always do:

EDIT: For the conky problem, it might help if you edit ~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh and move this block of code to the bottom (and put maybe some sleep time before it e.g. sleep 3):
Code:
if [ -f /mnt/live/tmp/modules ]; then
conky -c ~/.conkyrc-port &
else
conky -c ~/.conkyrc-live &
fi

If that doesn't help, some experimenting with the order of commands in autostart.sh might do

Fred


1. About the locale. I will try the TrinityDogStretch Locale squashfs and whenI get back to my PCs with the big ext2 drives and big RAM I will try your solution.
2. Coky problem was not solved . I've tried many other tutorials from the itnernet (using ROX desktop) . If I toggle once conky then the transparency problem is fixed so , I will try a script that toggles conky twice during start to workarround this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2017, 06:24    Post subject:  

a general question:

Is there a reason why the 64bit versions use PCfileman and the 32bit Thunar file manager?

The first program I put in every distro is DoubleCommander ( doublecmd-0.7.8.gtk2.x86_64_v02.squashfs https://1fichier.com/?woc8zcrb16) .PCFileman has a dual window option but DoubleCmd is far better.
I am a Norton Commander / Total Commander fan. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1301
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2017, 07:24    Post subject:  

Hi trister !
Regarding Double Commander . Thanks for good tip . Very Happy

Downloaded portable version from :
https://sourceforge.net/p/doublecmd/wiki/Download/
https://sourceforge.net/projects/doublecmd/files/DC%20for%20Linux%2032%20bit/Double%20Commander%200.7.8%20beta/doublecmd-0.7.8.gtk2.i386.tar.xz/download

Is there any possibility to mount Partitions with DC ?

Quite interesting ! Cheers !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2017, 08:11    Post subject:  

backi wrote:

...
Is there any possibility to mount Partitions with DC ?

Quite interesting ! Cheers !


Mounting drives + activating squashfs files is the main reason I open PCmanFM.
As far as I know Double Commander does not has build in mounting functionality for drives.

Maybe if you add as a custom Action or associate drive folder with a custom script (when you right click on a folder inside DoubleCommander File pane). I don't have the linux knowledge to help you more with this -but I suspect that it souldn't be much difficult.

Double commander has many stuff build in and saves me a LOT of time for may file related jobs (compare,search, mass rename, batch copy/move, FTP transfer , view/edit files , combine/split/compress/decompress files and many more)

Btw, if I double click on a squashfs file it mounts it in the same way that PCManFM would mount it with double click.
Also, the .squashfs I posted in my previous post is the amd64 portable version with a .desktop file

(edit)
It seems DoubleCommander is supposed to HAVE mounting capabilities https://doublecmd.github.io/doc/en/help.html (check 3.3. Drives button bar). For some reason I can't see unmounted drives.
(/edit)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1301
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2017, 11:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
it seems DoubleCommander is supposed to HAVE mounting capabilities https://doublecmd.github.io/doc/en/help.html (check 3.3. Drives button bar). For some reason I can't see unmounted drives.


Not really. Clicking mounting drives does not what it should do .
But not a big deal .

Regards !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2017, 13:27    Post subject: Couldn't find matching GLX visual  

Wonder if this rings a bell:

Getting an error/failure on Debian Dog Linux, many different versions such as DebianDog64 Jessie, StretchDog64:

Code:
Couldn't find matching GLX visual


Program is game emulator mednafen, should only require SDL 1.2, which appears to be there.
Installs and works fine in all full Linux distros, all current Puppy Linux and Dpup alpha, with various versions of program based on particular distro.

Installs fine but fails when executed in all Debain Dog Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2017, 13:55    Post subject: Re: Couldn't find matching GLX visual  

jd7654 wrote:
Wonder if this rings a bell:

Getting an error/failure on Debian Dog Linux, many different versions such as DebianDog64 Jessie, StretchDog64:

Code:
Couldn't find matching GLX visual


Program is game emulator mednafen, should only require SDL 1.2, which appears to be there.
Installs and works fine in all full Linux distros, all current Puppy Linux and Dpup alpha, with various versions of program based on particular distro.

Installs fine but fails when executed in all Debain Dog Linux.


Have you installed mesa dri lib yet? I don't have it in front of me, but the name has lib mesa dri in it. Install that and mesa_utils. Reboot or restart x. In a terminal type glxgears to see if it works. Then try your program again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2017, 14:29    Post subject: Re: Couldn't find matching GLX visual  

dancytron wrote:
Have you installed mesa dri lib yet? I don't have it in front of me, but the name has lib mesa dri in it. Install that and mesa_utils. Reboot or restart x. In a terminal type glxgears to see if it works. Then try your program again.


Aha! Figured someone knew what that was.

That's what DD was missing. Installed libgl1-mesa-dri and that fixed it.
Whoa, that's a chunk of space. No wonder the DD size was so small. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2017, 14:39    Post subject: Re: Couldn't find matching GLX visual  

jd7654 wrote:
dancytron wrote:
Have you installed mesa dri lib yet? I don't have it in front of me, but the name has lib mesa dri in it. Install that and mesa_utils. Reboot or restart x. In a terminal type glxgears to see if it works. Then try your program again.


Aha! Figured someone knew what that was.

That's what DD was missing. Installed libgl1-mesa-dri and that fixed it.
Whoa, that's a chunk of space. No wonder the DD size was so small. Wink


Yes, Debian Dog doesn't have a lot of things by default that Puppy has. Mesa dri, office programs, and cups are big ones. Puppy has done a lot of work to be so small and still include those things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11623
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2017, 15:03    Post subject:  

moved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat 19 Aug 2017, 16:00    Post subject: StretchDog64 PS1 question  

Question about PS1 command prompt:

In DebianDog64 jessie I set the command prompt in /etc/profile.d/git_bash_prompt.sh

and it works ok (loaded ok from inside file /etc/profile)

In StretchDog64 I noticed that /etc/profile is ignored ( I even commented out the line that seem to load bash.bashrc ) and my script for setting custom PS1 do not load.

The only way of changing globlally PS1 is by directly changing /etc/bash.bashrc .

For some reason ROXterm and the other terminals command prompt is loaded by bash.bashrc
The prompt changes if I run the script manually in Stretch (./etc/profile.d/git_bash_prompt.sh) so it is not an incompability issue of my script.

I expected the same behaviour in both Jessie and Stretch.

Thanks again for that great Distro Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2514
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 20 Aug 2017, 05:22    Post subject: Re: StretchDog64 PS1 question  

trister wrote:
Question about PS1 command prompt:

In DebianDog64 jessie I set the command prompt in /etc/profile.d/git_bash_prompt.sh

and it works ok (loaded ok from inside file /etc/profile)

In StretchDog64 I noticed that /etc/profile is ignored ( I even commented out the line that seem to load bash.bashrc ) and my script for setting custom PS1 do not load.

The only way of changing globlally PS1 is by directly changing /etc/bash.bashrc .

For some reason ROXterm and the other terminals command prompt is loaded by bash.bashrc
The prompt changes if I run the script manually in Stretch (./etc/profile.d/git_bash_prompt.sh) so it is not an incompability issue of my script.

I expected the same behaviour in both Jessie and Stretch.

Thanks again for that great Distro Smile


Yes, I tested with some script to export PS1 from /etc/profile.d and indeed doesn't show color prompt.
However when I tested other script with another command it worked (so executing from /etc/profile.d works)
No idea how to really solve this, possible workaround:
Add a line in ~/.bashrc that sources your script e.g.:
Code:
. /path/to/git_bash_prompt.sh

I tested with similar script (export PS1=....), and worked

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun 20 Aug 2017, 18:17    Post subject: StretchDog64 command prompt problem PS1  

Just a note :
I put another script in /etc/profile.d with the following lines:

test_profile_d_startup.sh:
Code:
export CURSOR01="\u@\h:\w \[$ORANGE\]\$(vcprompt -f '[%n:%b%u%m] ')\[$RESET\]\$ "
export PS2="PS2set test "
export PS1="PS1set test "


After rebooting ONLY CURSOR01 variable was visible with the "env" command.

Then if I manually run :
Code:
. /etc/profile.d/test_profile_d_startup.sh

then PS1, PS2, CURSOR01 are created ok

so, my thought is that for some reason only PS1,PS2.. can't be changed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trister

Joined: 01 Mar 2015
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 15:03    Post subject: StretchDog64-2017-07-04.iso v02 with modified initrd  

StretchDog and DebianDog Jessie are based based on Debian Live.
Do you mean this Debian Live : https://www.debian.org/CD/live/ ?[/quote]


Also, for testing booable ISOs I have created this :
qemu28_all_v03a_170829_qemu_test_iso.sh.squashfs : https://1fichier.com/?fgwj5p5jbz
If you type eg :
Code:
qemu_test_iso.sh /sda1/mydiskimage.iso

it will launch a virtual machine that runs the ISO you have specified. I used this option a LOT in windows (dragging and dropping to xboot) to test bootable ISO and I was missing something that simple in linux.

Again my custom StretchDog64 packages: https://1fichier.com/dir/hw5uWJMs
DebianDog64 Jessie Custom packages : https://1fichier.com/dir/yrNVkOXR
DebianDog64 Jessie using apt2sfs : https://1fichier.com/dir/NdXhPAXZ

Custom packages are made by extracting .DEB files adding some libraries and maybe menu entries and then creating a .SQUASHFS from them.
As I said before these are packages that are made for my system and I hope that other people might find them useful also. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 33 of 35 [519 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0658s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]