(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Sep 2020, 08:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
I'm back -- and at high speed!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2016, 08:35    Post subject:  

Virgin Broadband in Central Scotland; forgotten how fast it aught to be.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.06 KB
 Viewed   638 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2016, 10:34    Post subject:  

Deep exasperated SIGHHHhhhhhhh! Sad (from the wilds of deepest Gloucestershire).
Happy New Year!
Broad-damned - speed test -01-01-2016 x697.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.3 KB
 Viewed   636 Time(s)

Broad-damned - speed test -01-01-2016 x697.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 862
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2016, 19:00    Post subject: migrate?  

Fossil, perhaps you should follow my grandmother's example & migrate - from Coaley in 1920 - to Oz 40 degree C summers!
No wait - perhaps you can migrate to another ISP. (I get 9.5 DL & 0.8 UL with TPG in Oz).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fossil


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2016, 21:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
Fossil, perhaps you should follow my grandmother's example & migrate - from Coaley in 1920 - to Oz 40 degree C summers!
No wait - perhaps you can migrate to another ISP. (I get 9.5 DL & 0.8 UL with TPG in Oz).
@ozsouth. I'll start walking! Changing my ISP won't do any good. The whole area is the same; old post-war phone lines; no incentive for BT to upgrade the outlying villages, so the country's ISP's all have to route through this deplorable network. Please don't get me started on 3G/4G wireless - the coverage of which is equally bad - one area good, a mile away, useless. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3725

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2016, 21:54    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Virgin Broadband in Central Scotland; forgotten how fast it aught to be.

We could go for a faster option but we still have some old 10/100 network wiring/devices connected to the lan, and I believe the net slows to the slowest device. Not much use having the potential to receive (download) at >100Mbs when the hardware doesn't support it and becomes the bottleneck (limited to 100Mbs).
a.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   57.67 KB
 Viewed   521 Time(s)

a.jpg


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2016, 07:23    Post subject:  

Hi, Geoff.

BT here in King's Lynn. I'm sure the figures are embroidered, though; we're still out in 'the sticks', here.....so we're not getting the sort of figures inner-city dwellers enjoy. Still, it's reasonable!

We've got fibre as far as the street cabinet, 150 yds away; but then ye old -fashioned copper cable from there to here! Creates its own bottleneck, I'm afraid.....

(see below)


Mike. Wink
Broadband test.png
 Description   I think it's a fairy story...!
 Filesize   39.94 KB
 Viewed   468 Time(s)

Broadband test.png


_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3725

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jan 2016, 07:58    Post subject:  

I don't publish the IP that tests show either ... but why is that 'policy/practice'? When every web site you visit gets to see what that IP is, together with what browser and operating system/version you're running?
_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2379
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2016, 20:50    Post subject:  

Things are getting a little more consistent now, download speed is not so erratic, hopefully they have sorted the problems.
nbn-2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   26.13 KB
 Viewed   425 Time(s)

nbn-2.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4499
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2016, 00:31    Post subject:  

Many unhappy Optus users still on Whirlpool.

Just looked again.
Anyway I hope your speed stablilises.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji

Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 2288

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2016, 03:33    Post subject:  

land line desktop

Code:
 speedtest_cli.py
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Testing from Windstream Communications (75.xx.xx.xx)...
Selecting best server based on latency...
Hosted by T-Mobile (Dallas, TX) [79.26 km]: 39.951 ms
Testing download speed........................................
Download: 3.04 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed..................................................
Upload: 0.48 Mbit/s


My previous was wireless laptop

Code:
speedtest_cli.py
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Testing from Windstream Communications (174.do dah do dah)...
Selecting best server based on latency...
Hosted by T-Mobile (Dallas, TX) [116.59 km]: 71.023 ms
Testing download speed........................................
Download: 3.02 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed..................................................
Upload: 0.64 Mbit/s


Kinda weird on how wireless was faster than landline. But not by much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2016, 11:07    Post subject:  

I am now at 100 Mbps with cable. I was at 15 Mbps with ADSL2+.
Why don't you use adsl or cable ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji

Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 2288

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2016, 13:15    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
I am now at 100 Mbps with cable. I was at 15 Mbps with ADSL2+.
Why don't you use adsl or cable ?


Location does not provide this yet. Maybe the oil boom will provide later on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4499
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 01:37    Post subject:  

Geoffrey:

Any results?

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2379
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 04:48    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Geoffrey:

Any results?

Chris.


Phoned Optus today, I'm having problems still with congestion getting 10928 kbps, paying for 50000 kbps.

The internet TV box is playing up, screen flash's black and get the occasional freeze, picture quality is poor, not even SD.

I'm sure this was designed more for portable devices, on a large screen TV it looks like crap, more like a 240p youtube clip.

If it don't improve I'll be downgrading my plan.

Had a Telstra tech out front of the house the other day fixing the neighbors line, he's still on ADSL.

The tech tells me the ADSL connections are having problems with the high speed VADSL being in the same cable
and the NBN company that bought the old copper network won't be replacing the 50 year old lines.

I can only describe it as a debacle.

Liken it to upgrading a William Otis 1839 steam shovel with a nuclear reactor.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4499
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 14:31    Post subject:  

See my List of TPG Whirlpool posts.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=882555#882555

Also aalan posts here:

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2487381&p=2

You should really join Whirlpool because there are some that really know their stuff....like aalan.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1104s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]