Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 10 Feb 2016, 03:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Wireless stopped working in Precise 571
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
mleschishin

Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2016, 16:24    Post subject:  Wireless stopped working in Precise 571  

Hello:

I'm hoping that there are a couple of Puppy Linux experts out there that can help me resolve my wireless network connection.

I have been using Puppy for a number of years on an older Dell laptop with very few problems, upgrading to newer versions along the way. I currently have version 5.7.1 Precise Puppy installed. This is a full hard drive installation - Puppy is installed on its own partition.

A couple of weeks ago while I was surfing the internet, my wireless connection pooped out. I have always had a reliable connection, so this problem came as a surprise. I attempted to reconnect using all three wireless connection utilities that are available (SNS, Network Wizard, Frisbee), but no luck. I am receiving an error “Unable to establish WPA connection” with the details stating “Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory”.

This is what I have done so far in my attempts to fix this problem:

- I have run a file check using e2fsck as I figured that a file became corrupted. Yes, there were a number of errors that were corrected, but still unable to connect and I receive the same error message.

- This Puppy is on a dual boot machine and I am able to establish a wireless connection using Windows. I have also booted up the laptop using the live Puppy CD and am able to connect wirelessly easily. So it doesn't appear to be a hardware issue.

I have been trying to narrow down which files could be causing the problems, but this is a bit beyond my expertise. There appear to be wpa_supplicant.conf files at a few locations, but not I am uncertain which ones are key. Should I consider copying some files from the CD and replace the ones that are on the hard drive? Is there something else I should look at or try to debug this situation? I have searched around the internet looking for a solution, but haven't found a solution yet, short of completely re-installing the OS, which I would prefer to avoid.

I am providing a copy of the wpa_supplicant.log file (thru frisbee) that is being generated by this error in the hopes that it can provide some clues:


Quote:
Initializing interface 'wlan0' conf '/etc/frisbee/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A' bridge 'N/A'
Configuration file '/etc/frisbee/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/frisbee/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/frisbee/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
update_config=1
Line 11: removed CCMP from group cipher list since it was not allowed for pairwise cipher
Priority group 1
id=0 ssid='dlink_20'
WEXT: cfg80211-based driver detected
SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=22 WE(source)=21 enc_capa=0xf
capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf flags 0x0
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=1, operstate=5
Own MAC address: 00:1c:bf:4b:1a:87
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=4 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
Driver did not support SIOCSIWENCODEEXT
wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=5 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
Driver did not support SIOCSIWENCODEEXT
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
RSN: flushing PMKID list in the driver
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
WPS: UUID based on MAC address - hexdump(len=16): a7 80 c8 56 db c6 56 74 93 38 f6 ee a0 a7 84 fa
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
Added interface wlan0
Daemonize..
Removing interface wlan0
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
State: DISCONNECTED -> DISCONNECTED
wpa_driver_wext_set_operstate: operstate 0->0 (DORMANT)
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=-1, operstate=5
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
EAPOL: Supplicant port status: Unauthorized
wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
Cancelling scan request
Cancelling authentication timeout
netlink: Operstate: linkmode=0, operstate=6


and here is the SNS wireless log:

Quote:
Information about this interface:
Interface: wlan0 Driver: iwl3945 Bus: pci MacAddress: 00:1C:BF:4B:1A:87
Description: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG/BG Network Connection driver

STEP1a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP1b: iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 14:D6:4D:33:B4:F6
Channel:2
Frequency:2.417 GHz (Channel 2)
Quality=46/70 Signal level=-64 dBm
Encryption key:on
ESSID:"dlink_20"
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Mode:Master
Extra:tsf=000001e7f30c7a99
Extra: Last beacon: 63ms ago
IE: Unknown: 0008646C696E6B5F3230
IE: Unknown: 010882848B968C129824
IE: Unknown: 030102
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown: 2A0100
IE: Unknown: 3204B048606C
IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101820003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F00
IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010000FF7F
IE: Unknown: DD0A00037F04010000004000
IE: Unknown: DD9E0050F204104A0001101044000102103B000103104700100000000000001000000014D64D33B4F610210006442D4C696E6B1023000D442D4C696E6B20526F75746572102400074449522D363135104200046E6F6E651054000800060050F204000110110016442D4C696E6B2053797374656D73204449522D363135100800020086103C000103104900140024E26002000101600000020001600100020001

STEP1c: ifconfig wlan0 down
STEP2: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig wlan0 channel 2
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; Device or resource busy.
STEP4: iwconfig wlan0 essid "dlink_20"
STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP5b: wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c"/etc/simple_network_setup/wpa_supplicant.conf-dlink_20-00:1C:BF:4B:1A:87"
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
daemon: No such device
Running: wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:"dlink_20"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off


STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP5b: wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c"/etc/simple_network_setup/wpa_supplicant.conf-dlink_20-00:1C:BF:4B:1A:87"
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
daemon: No such device
Running: wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:"dlink_20"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off


STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP5b: wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c"/etc/simple_network_setup/wpa_supplicant.conf-dlink_20-00:1C:BF:4B:1A:87"
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
daemon: No such device
Running: wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:"dlink_20"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off


STEP5a: ifconfig wlan0 up
STEP5b: wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c"/etc/simple_network_setup/wpa_supplicant.conf-dlink_20-00:1C:BF:4B:1A:87"
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
daemon: No such device
Running: wpa_cli -i wlan0 status
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig wlan0':
wlan0 IEEE 802.11abg ESSID:"dlink_20"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off



*********************************************************
LAST 10 LINES of /var/log/messages:
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: eth0: renew in 302400 seconds, rebind in 529200 seconds
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: eth0: adding IP address 192.168.0.108/24
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: eth0: adding route to 192.168.0.0/24
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: eth0: adding default route via 192.168.0.1
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: eth0: writing lease `/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth0.lease'
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: eth0: executing `/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason BOUND
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21674]: forking to background
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.info dhcpcd[21674]: forked to background, child pid 21819
Jan 17 14:15:32 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21819]: eth0: sending ARP announce (1 of 2), next in 2.00 seconds
Jan 17 14:15:34 puppypc3474 daemon.debug dhcpcd[21819]: eth0: sending ARP announce (2 of 2)



Any suggestions / help anyone can provide would be MUCH appreciated!

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2016, 19:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
I have run a file check using e2fsck as I figured that a file became corrupted. Yes, there were a number of errors that were corrected

Run this several times to make sure it did correct everything.
Get two results saying no errors found.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mleschishin

Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2016, 22:00    Post subject:  

OK - I've run e2fsck a few times and it indicates everything is clean.

Tried connecting wireless and still get the same results.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3873
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 01:45    Post subject:  

Try changing your wireless channel...my post.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2214291

How is it in Windows?

Your wireless light is on in Puppy??? Right!

Supply Dell specs...see if it is a software switch.. >> press F2

or hardware....switch on the side.

I have even turned off laptops, pulled out the battery,
held down the >> Pqwer On >> button for at least 30 seconds
and wifi is back.

I do not jest.

""""

Connecting by Lan...is the speed down.

These are ADSL problems....but interference is the issue.

Speakers, boilers, bad laptop batteries, Piano organ batteries, streetlamps, dimmable lights.

I haven't been seen near where you live have I??
Magnetic Personality and Aura of Awfulness issues.....

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1707668

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2462437#r10

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2267769#r12

Someone posted here about strolling around using an old radio
and hearing the static to determine Wireless problems.

I have seen the same on Whirlpool.

" " The AC adapter could be turned on with no problem, but as soon as
it was plugged into the laptop, the internet connection on the other end
of the house would die instantly. checked with another AC adapter and
no problem. and also keep in mind, that laptop isnt even connected to
my adsl connection at all. crazy hey!"

aalan and drekkus are the ones to check out in the Whirlie posts.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 04:51    Post subject:  

You could try replacing these directories and the files in them with the ones from the Precise 5.7.1.sfs file on the CD.
/etc/frisbee
/etc/network-wizard

This will delete any saved profiles and maybe get it back to a fresh clean beginning.
You will have to do the network setup again.

I suggest use the network wizard to setup.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mleschishin

Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 02:42    Post subject:  

OK, Bigpup, I replaced the files as you suggested and still no joy. I am still unable to connect, with the output of 'wpa-cli -i wlan status' still showing me “Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory”.

I am not sure if this helps, but when I use Frisbee to generate Diagnostics, pressing the 'Control WPA Functions' button pops up a console indicating the wpa_cli "could not connect to wpa_supplicant"

Any other ideas / suggestions?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 03:23    Post subject:  

Lets see exactly what happens in Network Wizard.

Network Wizard wireless connection steps.

1. Select Network Wizard
2. Select wlan0 (your network card may have a different description)
3. Select Wireless in the Configure wireless network box.
4. Select Scan and your ESSID should come up. If you want more information on it you can hover your pointer over it and it will tell you; channel number, signal strength, MAC
5. Select your ESSID and OK
6. Give a name to your profile
7. Most people use WPA/TKIP - select it.
8. A box will open for you to write the WPA password. It is called a Shared Key. Enter the password.
9. Leave the other boxes as they are. Rarely do these need adjustment.
9. Select Save
10. Select Use This Profile
11. A box will appear showing Puppy trying to connect
12. A box will come up “REPORT ON TEST 0f wlan0CONNECTION”
13. Select Auto DHCP in the Configure interface box and it will go through a handshake routine. and declare itself successful
14. Select done

If something does not work.
What step?
You do what?
You see what?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mleschishin

Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 12:28    Post subject:  

Bigpup:

The error shows up following Step 11. Instead of receiving the Box you describe at Step 12, I get a box stating "Unable to establish WPA connection" which contains two buttons "OK" and "Details". Selecting "Details" opens up a new box showing:

connection info:
"Access Point: Not Associated"

Output of of 'wpa-cli -i wlan status'
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory


I'm not sure if this is of any help, but I've been looking around the internet for solutions and found this page:

http://ebixio.com/blog/2011/09/15/how-to-make-wpa_cli-talk-to-wpa_supplicant-in-ubuntu/

I've typed 'wpa_cli' into a console and the output indicates
"Could not connect to wpa_supplicant - re-trying"

It seems for some reason a control socket is not being created at /var/run/wpa_supplicant, which wpa_cli is looking for (according to what I can gather from what I have gleaned from the internet elsewhere).

I hope the above provides clues for a possible solution?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 04:46    Post subject:  

Yes that helps.

Quote:
I have run a file check using e2fsck as I figured that a file became corrupted. Yes, there were a number of errors that were corrected

This indicates that probably some files got corrupted and the e2fsck did not correct the problem.

This being a full install of Precise 5.7.1 you have only two choices.
1. Figure out what files are bad and replace them.
2. Do a fresh full install.

The good files are in the Precise sfs file on the Precise live CD.

You can do a Pfind search for wpa to find all the files.

I think the ones you may need to replace would be the main ones for wpa.

Maybe replace the wpa files in /usr/sbin Idea
Screenshot(2).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.94 KB
 Viewed   114 Time(s)

Screenshot(2).jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1108
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 09:50    Post subject:  

Hi, mleschishin.

Not to be-labour the point (and please don't take this the wrong way), but it does show that full installs, although in some ways more stable than frugals, are a lot harder to repair when things go wrong.

If it should come to a re-install, it might be worth considering a frugal install of Precise. I've never used anything but frugal Puppy installs.....and they're extremely easy to put right when things go south.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mleschishin

Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 12:41    Post subject:  

Bigpup,

I will try replacing the wpa files to see if this corrects the problem. I will search around to see where they area all located. Any idea which file is responsible for creating the socket file under /var/run/wpa_supplicant? Is it one of the wpa files, or does the wpa_supplicant file invoke some other process (perhaps from another system file) for creating the socket? I believe this is where the problem lies, i.e., no socket being created. BTW, I have read elsewhere on this forum someone suggesting to another user with a file corruption problem that I might get away with doing an 'upgrade' as opposed to a full re-install.


Mike:

No worries. I hear you and no offence taken. If I end up doing a full re-install, I will reformat the partition to ext4 file system. It is now formatted ext2, which I understand is more prone to file corruption issues.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1108
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 13:10    Post subject:  

Hi again, mleschishin.

Yes, you're right about ext2. However, many of us tend to use ext3, rather than ext4; this works fine for either full or frugal installs. It also works fine for a flash drive install, although ext2 tends to be recommended for these, as it results in fewer 'write' cycles to the flash media. Ext3 & 4 are 'journalled' file-systems; the journalling, although making it easier to recover files'n'stuff ( in the event that you may need to do so), does result in somewhat more 'writes'; this is what wears flash media out.....not the 'read' cycles.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 174
Location: Altair IV

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 14:47    Post subject:  

mleschishin wrote:
Bigpup,

I will try replacing the wpa files to see if this corrects the problem. I will search around to see where they area all located. Any idea which file is responsible for creating the socket file under /var/run/wpa_supplicant? Is it one of the wpa files, or does the wpa_supplicant file invoke some other process (perhaps from another system file) for creating the socket? I believe this is where the problem lies, i.e., no socket being created. BTW, I have read elsewhere on this forum someone suggesting to another user with a file corruption problem that I might get away with doing an 'upgrade' as opposed to a full re-install.
Mark


Hi mleschishin,
I also use pup 5.7.1 on a full install Smile
Using gnewpet, I extracted the wpa_supplicant package from my precise 5.7.1, it is available here. It is a .pet file. I am posting this message from the system that
I extracted the package from, connecting to wireless using frisbee on my old dell laptop.

Worth a try if you are getting ready to reinstall everything.
It is not the retro 5.7.1, just the regular precise 5.7.1 version.

Edit: Or you can just use the gnewpet package, install it to a freshly booted CD of precise 5.7.1 and extract your own .pet Wink
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 04:35    Post subject:  

Maybe replace the wpa files in /usr/sbin Idea

Quote:
I might get away with doing an 'upgrade' as opposed to a full re-install.

That is running the Puppy Universal Installer from the Live Precise 5.7.1 CD.
Choosing to install to the same location as the full install.
Selecting full install.
Selecting upgrade not wipe.
It is suppose to just rewrite the install and leave any added stuff still there.
However, no guarantee it will not just delete and reinstall back to a fresh clean full install.

However, if you have to try this.
You would be better off changing to a ext 3 format and start over fresh.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 174
Location: Altair IV

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 12:35    Post subject:  

[quote="bigpup"
However, no guarantee it will not just delete and reinstall back to a fresh clean full install.
[/quote]
-------------------------------
Hi bigpup,

Having been in a similar situation as mleschishin, the "upgrade" install has only replaced the original puppy install files and not touched anything else, not even
program configurations. Just wondering what could go wrong and make the upgrade install delete everything (a corrupted partition , etc.)?

FWIW, I documented the upgrade install here, if there is any chance of the upgrade install deleting/wiping the drive I would like to add it to that post, thanks!

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1428s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0154s) ][ GZIP on ]