(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 Jan 2021, 06:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64 702 Final [7 Feb 2016] [CLOSED]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 21 [309 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3475
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 14:22    Post subject:  

@01micko - my sincerest thanks for rescuing 702 users Smile

First post updated with link to Mick's post.

_________________
Fatdog64 forum links: Latest version | Contributed packages | ISO builder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 152
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 22:16    Post subject:  

@01micko, thanks
successfully run Firefox 47 on my Fatdog701 after install your 3 files.
ff47.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  ff47.jpg 
Filesize  153.37 KB 
Downloaded  577 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 604
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2016, 03:07    Post subject:  

Just since i found a copy of Civilization VI in my drawer like a few days ago, I wanted to try it out under Fatdog/Wine...

At first glance it seemed to work, but after installation it all stopped.

Now of course playing windows games in Puppy is not a right nor a real support issue, but its a bit fun since i intend to bring it live using Wlanmaker in order to make a gameserver out of it(among other things and projects)

So I wonder... Are there others out there that plays either Civ 4, 5 or 6?

Just so we could hook up and maybe get it to work?

Never used Wine before and never played Civ neither, but its a intriguing idea to sort of find good games that can run as server and then combine it with Wlanmaker that works great under Fatdog.

If Linux is going to be the worlds favorite desktop in the next 25 years we better start kicking some MS-ass Smile

UPDATE... If someone, for educational purposes would like to give it a try, but aint got Civ, I got it and can lend it out for this educational project. That needs a PM...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1748

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 12:29    Post subject:  

Now running Firefox 46.0.1 on Fatdog 702 with 01micko's gtk3 packages. Still expect another update this month.

Firefox 47 is slated to go mainstream on June 7.

Not sure there is such a thing as a stable browser release anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 152
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Sat 07 May 2016, 09:26    Post subject:  

@Atle,

I loaded the following two sfs files and then can run my win32 programs successfully.

32bit-slacko6.sfs
wine-1.7.39-v2.1.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ktrls

Joined: 07 May 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 09 May 2016, 02:26    Post subject:  

Hi,

I don't know if anybody solved this issue.

I'm trying Fatdog64 702 with the goal to install on an old Asus A6000KMSeries notebook.

I'm not able to boot the distro with a USB drive because I receive a kernel panic message.
So I tried to use the same iso with virtualbox on an other PC but I receive the same message.

I attach a screenshot of the last test.

quirkian2new have suggeste to use a small initrd on boot, but I don't know how it works.

Can anybody help me?

Thanks in advance
Salvo
screen_20160507-223020.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.66 KB
 Viewed   1128 Time(s)

screen_20160507-223020.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Belham

Joined: 07 Jan 2016
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon 09 May 2016, 06:33    Post subject:  

ktrls wrote:
Hi,

I don't know if anybody solved this issue.

I'm trying Fatdog64 702 with the goal to install on an old Asus A6000KMSeries notebook.

I'm not able to boot the distro with a USB drive because I receive a kernel panic message.
So I tried to use the same iso with virtualbox on an other PC but I receive the same message.

I attach a screenshot of the last test.

quirkian2new have suggeste to use a small initrd on boot, but I don't know how it works.

Can anybody help me?

Thanks in advance
Salvo



Salvo [nice name Wink ],

I'm not the foremost expert here but I'll try to help you out here since I've remastered my Fatdogs (702 and now the 710 versions) to get a "small initrd" so it would boot quickly on my machines (instead of the 7-8 minute bootup times I was getting---and there would be an occassional "kernel-panic" too on my HP Netbook). Remastering to a "small initrd" removed all those problems and made Fatdog great fun to use & learn.

Ok, here goes (this is really easy, trust me):

1. Forget about installing to your hard drive for a minute. We'll come back to that, since you're having problems now

2. Make sure your computer/laptop can boot off either a CD/DVD (and/or a USB---but we'll focus here on CD/DVD_. Go into your BIOS, Google how to do that, it is also very easy, most all BIOS for the past 10 years let you also bootup from not only an internal HD, but also the CD/DVD (and/or USB).

3. Next, download the Fatdog64 ISO to your windows machine.

4. Use the Windows CD/DVD burning software (either Windows own program and/or a program you've installed) and burn the ISO image to the CD/DVD. Pay attention, you are NOT making a "data disk". You are choosing the program's option to "burn the ISO image".

5. After burning the ISO, remove the CD/DVD, and shutdown Windows completely.

6. Start the computer again, and immediately hit either F12 (or F5 or F7 or F10 on some BIOS systems) to enter the choice of what you want to boot first. You can learn which F button you need to hit by finding it out in yur BIOS and/or Googling your BIOS and reading about it.

7. Before choosing to boot from the 'CD/DVD rom drive", open your CD rom and put in your burned ISO CD/DVD.

8. Click the boot option "CD/DVD drive" and let your computer start up.

9. You'll be in Fatdog64 after a few minutes. This is a Live-CD (or DVD) session, and we are going to make the remastered ISO from it and save it to a USB thumbdrive (or another CD/DVD).

10. After Fatdog64 has booted, click on "Menu", then "Setup", then "Fatdog Control Panel", then the tab "Utilities". Notice right there on the first line in this tab is the "FATDOG REMASTERED LIVE-CD shortcut.

Click it, and from there just follow the directions as it will ask you as you go through what you want to do. One of the clickable option boxes that comes up asks you whether you want to keep the normal "humungous" initrd or if you want the "small" initrd option.

As a hint, pay attention doing this remastering like when it first opens, it is going to ask you to point to the "vmlinuz" option (hint---it is right there in your CD, just click--staying inside the remastering program & using its search abiliites---until you find it (it is easy to find). Highlight it so the remastering program knows to use it.

Then go all the way through the remastering program, clicking the "small initrd" choice---and here's another big hint. The remastering program will popup a box near the end (before it begins starting) that says if you want to modify anything before continuing, I am opening a window for you to do so. You need to click into the "Boot" folder, and then open the "syslinux.cfg" file. You are going to add something to line 23:

It says this: append rootfstype=ramfs

You need to add this to that line:

basesfs=local:/boot/fd64.sfs

So line 23 when finished should look like this:

append rootfstype=ramfs basesfs=local:/boot/fd64.sfs

If you do not do this now, your CD/DVD may not boot (it has something specifically to do with remastering a Fatdog64 and choosing "small initrd" option; it doesn't apply to other remastering when you use the normal "humungous" iniitrd option (which may, or may not, be causing your kernel panics).


Once the remastered ISO is finished (the program will tell you and popup boxes saying such, you are then--staying in the current Fatdog & using its pBurn program---going to burn this Remastered ISO to another CD/DVD. The remastering popup program will actually ask if you want to do this, which you do.

After that is finished, you know what to do. Take this new remastered ISO CD/DVD out, and I recommend grabbing an USB thumbdrive and saving your new remastered ISO to it (no need to reformat it or anything, just save the remastered ISO to it).



Everything else is a cakewalk from there. Put the new remastered CD/DVD in your computer, see if it will boot up. If it does, then go into the same process as above (into the "Fatdog Control Panel", and this time you are going to choose "Fatdog64 Installer" (it's right beside the Fatdog64 Remaster Live-CD" you just used above).

Then install Fatdog64 to your partition on your hard drive, and from there everything is easily solved (this is where Google is your friend if you are confused on this---there are tons of writeups for this, and they should all apply since you'll have a working remastered ISO of Fatdog64 (knock-on-wood Wink )


Please know that there are many ways to skin the cat on installing Fatdog64, i.e we could install through USB or, if we wanted, we could just copy files from a working directory of Fatdog and transfer them to the partition on your HD. The way I write above is the long way, but the key thing here is to ensure that a remastered ISO actually does bootup on your system (and doesn't suffer another kernel-panic, like you are getting now which a small initrd might solve, or it might not solve). If a remastered ISO with a small initrd doesn't boot up, then I honestly do not how to help you any further.

Good luck!

P.S. Forgive any spelling and/or grammar errors, am banging this out on the keyboard past lunchtime when I shouldn't be ;-0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
csshin

Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Wed 11 May 2016, 03:43    Post subject: editing wpa_suplicant.conf disabled wifi
Subject description: editing wpa_suplicant.conf made wifi unavailable for ever
 

I have to access our university wifi which used an wpa2-enterprise-peap encryption. I searched and got to the conclusion that I need something like the following in the wpa_suplicant.conf
:

network={
ssid="XXXpeap"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
eap=peap
anonymous_identity="my identity"
identity="my Identity"
password="my Password"
phase2-auth=mschapv2
ca_cert="no cert"
priority=2
}

The wpa_gui of Fatdog cannot generate this automatically. I tried to mannually edited the wpa_supplicant.conf to add a new entry for network description. However, once edited, the wpa_gui can no longer work and just said cannot get the status of wpa_suplicant.

Could anybody help to point me in how to add the necessary netwark description without breaking the networking capability?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5524
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 11 May 2016, 14:55    Post subject:  

If you read my experiences with fatdog arm and a home wifi network
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106573&search_id=786366711

I didn't have to have a wpa_supplicant.conf
I just used network-setup.sh

I filled in three boxes ---> SSID,security,password

...but then I needed to know the address of the server , the Share and its password (if any is needed).
I used mount-FULL -t cifs

How a university runs wifi is beyond my understanding Laughing
______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 152
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Sat 14 May 2016, 02:38    Post subject:
Subject description: lightfirefox gtk2
 

For those who want a slim copy of Firefox46, here is another choice :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/lightfirefox/files/46/

I have unpacked the 64bit rpm and run successfully on Fatdog702. Feel very satisfied with its speed. Worth giving it a try.
Screenshot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.jpg 
Filesize  130.71 KB 
Downloaded  573 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 247

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2016, 17:14    Post subject: Latest Flash-plugin & removal of red update bar in Seamonkey  

Hi to all interested in these findings.

Following 702Final iso download and clean install to usb flashdrive,
the marked insecure flash-plugin
11.2.202.569-x86_64-1.txz
in Seamonkey 2.39,

can be replaced by the latest available
11.2.202.621-x86_64-1gv.txz
from this website url:

https://pkgs.org/slackware-14.0/salix-x86_64/flash-plugin-11.2.202.621-x86_64-1gv.txz.html

After clicking to install, it works perfectly.

------------------------------------------------

Assuming you wish to keep the native Seamonkey 2.39,
the intrusive red warning update bar can be removed
by these following actions:

Enter about:config into the url address bar & enter.
Press the blue "I promise etc" button.

Scroll down the displayed list to edit this first line:
app.update.auto then right click to toggle true to false.

Scroll a little further down to edit this second line:
app.update.enabled then right click to toggle false to true.

Re-launch Seamonkey to check that the red bar has gone.

Best regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1748

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2016, 13:38    Post subject: Firefox 46.0.1 and downloads  

I'm posting this with Google-Chrome. Even after installing the 01micko gtk3 packages and updating flash player manually I got into a bind when I tried to download a file with Firefox 46.01, which caused a browser crash.

The obvious problem was that it was trying to put things in ~Downloads rather than ~spot/Downloads. Tried to edit the filename, but it would not allow this. The preferred user action is to use the browse button, but this also causes a crash by trying to access things in the ~ directory.

Following this the damn browser keeps trying to open ~ and recover, causing another crash which prevents me from getting to a point where I can change the Downloads directory, a real Catch-22.

At first I thought this was due to hostile activity from a particular site, but I managed to recreate the problem on a new installation.

While I can do everything with Google Chrome, I still like to run Firefox with NoScript to tell what all that scripting is doing, and possibly control it. (I have the feeling that retaining any control is becoming a losing battle.)

Is there a simple, obvious fix that I'm missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2016, 15:57    Post subject: Re: Firefox 46.0.1 and downloads  

prehistoric wrote:

The obvious problem was that it was trying to put things in ~Downloads rather than ~spot/Downloads. ...
Is there a simple, obvious fix that I'm missing?

I don't know if the following is "obvious". Hopefully you'll find something that can help you...
I guess you mean ~/Downloads. ~Downloads (without a slash) is the home directory of user 'Downloads', which doesn't exist. ~spot/Downloads is the Downloads folder of user 'spot'. which exists. In 702 and 710 root's Downloads folder is a symbolic link to spot's Downloads. So if Firefox is trying to put files in ~/Downloads (with a slash) they should end-up in ~/spot/Downloads without issues. There Fatdog64 automatically sets file ownership to user spot. If you're running firefox as user spot (run-as-spot firefox), the browser read/write folder access is limited to where user spot has permissions, which usually is spot's home folder. If you're running firefox as user root folder access has no limitations. One thing that you could try is changing the default Download folder path in the about:config page (I think that's what it's called). Write "about:config" in the address bar, press Enter and say OK to the warning prompt. There should be a search field in that page. Search for "download" and if you get a result that looks like it's the download path that you need to fix do it. Sorry that my instructions are so approximate but I don't have firefox available here to double-check them.

_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1748

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2016, 17:32    Post subject:  

@step

I have been assuming that the folder which appears as "Downloads" in the box on the settings page is actually "~/Downloads" since I would not have access to anyone else's home directory. I would like to change this to "~/spot/Downloads", to see if this makes any difference.

However, my first problem at present is that I can't even get Firefox to come up long enough to do anything before it crashes. This behavior only started when I tried to download a file, which caused a crash, then tried to use the browse option on the settings page to select a different Download directory, which also caused a crash.

My first thought was that something hostile had hit me, but now I'm convinced this is simply a bug I don't step on unless I try to download things.

At this point I'm pretty thoroughly disgusted with trying to keep Firefox and Flash player working.

We are moving toward a future in which anyone using the Internet must choose between being a wholly-owned subsidiary of: M$, Google or Apple.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 152
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2016, 09:46    Post subject:
Subject description: can't connect android phone
 

does anyone know how to connect android phone to Fatdog702 via usb port ?

I have some photos on android phone but failed to connect /transfer to PC running FD702.

BTW, I have replaced the old kernel with kernel 4.4.3

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 21 [309 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 6.7045s ][ Queries: 12 (6.2587s) ][ GZIP on ]