Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 17:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Wifi-beta dot pup released for testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 00:07    Post subject:  

Hey bladehunter, Thank you for the wifi dot pup!

It is working great with my RT2500 chipset.

I took me a long time to try it because I never realized that it was the ndiswrapper and because I barely use this computer with puppy.


Quote:
Not for sometime.....forever, as with the iso's


Why is that? did your ISP decided to cut your bandwidth? or you just felt that your work wasn't appreciated . I for one appreciate your wifi dotPup.

It is allowing me to experiment with puppy installed to HDD. (I normally boot liveCD on a laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 02:24    Post subject:  

reallynewby, it is not clear if you are connected to the Internet when using Puppy. If you are, can you do the following, please?
Plug in the PCMCIA card.
In Puppy, open a console window using rxvt (Start>Run>Rxvt....)
in the console window, enter :
Quote:
lspci


This should give you a listing including the PCMCIA card. Mark the listing (click and drag). That will put it onto the clipboard.

Post a reply in this thread and paste your listing into it.

That should enable us to identify the nature of the adapter as a first step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5246
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 03:16    Post subject:  

reallynewby,
The wifi-1.0.4-beta-2 package will probably work for you, but this seems overkill when the airo and airo_cs drivers are standard module options in modern 2.4 kernels.
I just checked Barry's kernel config for 2.4.29 - CONFIG_AIRO=m and CONFIG_AIRO_CS=m are there ... but the modules are strangely absent from Puppy. Perhaps these modules were "trimmed" out?

I have the modules in Vector Linux. Email me if you want them - they're only 60KB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reallynewby

Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 16 Sep 2005, 07:15    Post subject:  

BlackAdder,
Sorry that my post was unclear. I am unable to use Puppy for wireless access - the cisco card does not seem to be recognized in Puppy (but it does work on the same laptop while running Ubuntu). I get a high pitch and a low pitch beep when the system boots or when I remove and reinstall the card.

Here is the output when I type lspci:

lspci
0:0.0 10b9:1541 (rev 04)
0:1.0 10b9:5243 (rev 04)
0:7.0 10b9:1533 (rev 0a)
0:9.0 125d:1969 (rev 02)
0:10.0 104c:ac1e
0:15.0 11c1:0441 (rev 01)
0:16.0 10b9:5229 (rev 20)
0:17.0 10b9:7101 (rev 09)
0:20.0 10b9:5237 (rev 03)
1:0.0 10024c42 (rev dc)

Thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sat 17 Sep 2005, 23:49    Post subject:  

reallynewby,
Sorry it took a while to get back to you, but my attention was elsewhere. Cannot see the wireless adapter in the listing. In the words of the old Peggy Lee song "Is that all there is?". It is possible that lspci is not seeing your adapter.
Tempestuous has generously offered driver modules. You could take up his offer, but if you want to persist with the wifi beta_2.pup, could you please enter:
Quote:
cardctl ident

(with the card plugged in, of course) and post the result back on this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reallynewby

Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 00:45    Post subject:  

BlackAdder,
Thanks for getting back to me. Cardctl ident returns the following:

product info: "Cisco Systems", "350 Series Wireless LAN Adaptor?
manfid: 0x015f, 0x000a
function: 6 (network)

I would gladly try the drivers offered by Tempestuous but I would need basic instruction on how to use them.

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5246
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 09:05    Post subject:  

Download this tarball and copy it to your /root directory, which is persistent if you use a pupfile.
Open an xterminal and run these commands -

## uncompress the tarball from the uppermost directory
cd /
tar -xvf /root/aironet.tar
## map the new modules
depmod
## load the driver
modprobe airo_cs
## if no error messages, this should create a network interface, eth0
## can check this by running ifconfig -a
## now set up the wireless network
iwconfig eth0 essid MY_ESSID key 1234567890 mode Managed
## for automatic IP
dhcpcd -t 20 -h puppypc -d eth0
## or for static IP
## modify /etc/resolv.conf to include your nameservers
ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.xx broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.0.1 eth0 # or whatever your router's IP is

Happy surfing.
aironet.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  aironet.tar 
Filesize  70 KB 
Downloaded  315 Time(s) 

Last edited by tempestuous on Sun 18 Sep 2005, 09:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 09:17    Post subject:  

Tempestuous,
Thanks...I'll try this. You say "download these 2 modules" - where do I get the modules?[/quote]
Back to top
reallynewby

Joined: 15 Sep 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 11:04    Post subject:  

Tempestuous-

I downloaded the file and copied it to /root and uncompressed and I can see the 2 resulting files.
When I modprobe airo_cs I get the message "Can't locate module airo_cs"

Clearly I am doing something wrong.

My lack of Linux experience is really showing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5246
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Sep 2005, 11:20    Post subject:  

You must uncompress from the uppermost directory (/) ... I think you missed the "cd /" step.
And don't forget "depmod".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0641s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]