Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Sep 2017, 17:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Exfat drivers installed, still can not read exfat drives?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
haywirepc

Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 01:22    Post subject:  Exfat drivers installed, still can not read exfat drives?  

I installed the exfat drivers. Plug a thumb drive in... All windows systems read this 64gb exfat formatted thumb drive fine...

Puppy sees it and places it on the desktop, but try and open and I get this:

Error mounting volume sdb1: Script exited with exitcode 1
Output:
Usage: /sbin/mount.exfat [-d] [-o options] [-v] <device> <dir>
FUSE exfat 1.0.1

Any one know how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 06:36    Post subject:  

Does it work with either JWM or Openbox?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12642
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 10:00    Post subject:  

I bought an exFAT drive once that Puppy didn't see. I reformatted it to NTFS and now it works fine in both Puppy and Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 684

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 10:09    Post subject:  

I have an exfat drive it works in Fatdog.
I only installed packages that gparted showed needed for filesystem support from gslapt package manager.
But don't know in other pups.

I don't have that drive now to test, will get it back from friend in 2-3 days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10813
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 15:55    Post subject:  

Hello haywirepc

Very interesting problem. There's a partial solution on this Ubuntu forum.
Something like this, to actually fill in the blanks in the error message that you quoted.
Code:
mkdir /mnt/usbdrive
mount -t exfat /dev/sdd1 usbdrive

I never used an exfat drive but it looks as though it's behaving very much like an ntfs
drive on Linux. You can easily mount such drives in Linux through the ntfs-3g utility.

You probably need to associate the particular usb stick in exfat format with a script and
icon, so every time you click on the icon, the script is run and the stick is mounted.

You probably could populate an fstab entry to do that with < mount -a >. That said,
mounting usb sticks through fstab can be tricky, because usb sticks are not always
plugged in.

If you tell me the name of the exfat utility that you could use, I'll research it and
can probably provide you with a script for you to test. Also I'll need the
/mnt/sdd-something name of your usb stick.

Anyone with dev capacity should have a go at it too. I'm sure we'll find a good
and simple solution if we put our heads together. Puppy needs such a utility.

BFN.

~~~~~~~~~
PS. About populating the fstab, you may want to try this.
    -- Check that your current fstab has only four lines: otherwise the script won't work.

    -- Also mount all your drives manually or otherwise before running this script. I ask because
    __ the script will pick up ntfs drives as well as our own Linux ext? ones. Once
    __ we have an exfat detector script in place, the exfat format should appear in the
    __ fstab list (maybe with a minor change in the script).

    -- You don't need to make a back-up, the first four lines remain untouched by the script.

    -- Finally, you'll need to install replaceit before you run this script. I have a pet archive of
    __ it here.
Once your fstab is populated by this script, you'll only need to type < mount -a > in a
terminal to mount all your partitions. Very handy.

Sorry for the comments in French only in the script, but the screen messages should
appear in English on a non-French Puppy. If you need a translation of the comments,
just holler?
Code:
#/bin/sh
# /root/my-applications/Systeme/Create-fstab.sh
# musher0, 14 et 21 déc. 2013; rév. le 8 mars 2014.
# Dépendance : replaceit
#### set -xe
# variables
# pour vérifier le nombre de lignes dans fstab.
a="`wc -l /etc/fstab | cut -d' ' -f1`"
# echo $a # débogage
RPLC="replaceit --input=/etc/fstab"
LIGN=" ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~"
if [ $a -lt 7 ];then
# Si fstab compte moins de 7 lignes, c'est celui par défaut. Donc...
   echo
   echo "$LIGN"
   echo "         fstab..."
   if [ "${LANG:0:2}" = "fr" ];then
      echo "         ne contient pas la liste des partitions sur le(s) disque(s) dur(s)."
      echo "         Nous allons le faire maintenant."
      else
         echo "         is not listing the partitions on the hard drive(s)."
         echo "         We will do so now."
   fi
   echo
# Alors on le remplit avec les descriptions des partitions en place
   echo >> /etc/fstab
# DD
   cat /proc/mounts | awk '$2 ~ /sd/ { print $0 }' | sort >> /etc/fstab
   echo >> /etc/fstab
# et CD/DVD.
   cat /proc/mounts | awk '$2 ~ /sr/ { print $0 }' | sort >> /etc/fstab
   echo >> /etc/fstab
   [ "`grep fuseblk /etc/fstab`" ] && $RPLC fuseblk ntfs-3g
   $RPLC "0 0" "1 1" "+ext"
   echo
   echo "$LIGN"
   echo "         fstab..."
   if [ "${LANG:0:2}" = "fr" ];then
      echo "         contient maintenant la liste de vos partitions."
      echo "          Opération réussie !"
      else
         echo "        now has a proper list of your partitions."
         echo "        Operation successful!"
   fi
   echo
# Sinon, on avertit l'utilisateur.
   else
      echo
      echo "$LIGN"
      echo "         fstab..."
      if [ "${LANG:0:2}" = "fr" ];then
         echo "         est déjà peuplé."
         else
            echo "         is already populated."
      fi
      echo
fi # set +xe

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 19:53    Post subject:  

Prove the issue exists or doesn't by testing from a live boot.

If the problem persists, it would be OK to point the finger @ Xfce.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10813
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 20:22    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Prove the issue exists or doesn't by testing from a live boot.

If the problem persists, it would be OK to point the finger @ Xfce.
Hi Semme.

Who is this post directed to? Please be a little more precise?

TIA

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10813
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 20:24    Post subject:  

@haywirepc

Important detail: which Puppy are you using for this?

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 22:01    Post subject:  

Musher, you mean it's not obvious I'm hassling Very HappyWink our OP?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jayson

Joined: 02 May 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 05 May 2017, 15:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/usbdrive
mount -t exfat /dev/sdd1 usbdrive

You probably need to associate the particular usb stick in exfat format with a script and
icon, so every time you click on the icon, the script is run and the stick is mounted.

This really helped in Tahrpup 6.0.5. I used exfat-fuse 1.whatever and dropped this in console
since the exfat drive is the 3rd device.
Quote:
mkdir /mnt/usbdrive
sbin/mount.exfat /dev/sdc1 /mnt/usbdrive

Then browse to the usbdrive folder and voilà. Files everywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0510s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]